Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Metro Golf Social night out - any interest?

• 14-10-2014 11:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭

So we had our first social night out this year on Captains Prize day in Kilkenny. I don't think that anyone could disagree, the night was a great bit of banter and gave us all an opportunity to bond over a few shots. I always take to many shots when it comes to golf, but isn't it funny that we were all happy to take extra shots in the pub :)

So what about a night of golf? This place looks pretty cool, and is definitely something out of the ordinary and right up our street.

I propose this night open to anyone on the golf forum who would like to join us and not just for existing golf society members. But just maybe we can get our grips on you and drag you along to a few of our outings in 2015. Come along and maybe you will realise how weird and golf crazy we all are.

I guess with the geographical nature of our society it meant a few couldn't stay over in Kilkenny, so yis missed all the fun guys :D Maybe a night like this will give some of you the opportunity to find out what you missed.

I suppose with said geographical nature, it also means that a night out like this might not really work either, but I heard someone mention something, so I figured I'd throw it out there and see what the response is like. If the response is good, maybe we could look at arranging something towards the end of November, before the silly season kicks off in December.

Lets provisionally work on Saturday 22nd November... how does this work for people?

Are you interested in a night out at Metro golf? 6 votes

Yes, count me in
    0%
    No
    100%
    Seve OBcharlieIRLballykFixdePitchmarkDr.RieuxNorfolk Enchants_ 6 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

No
    I'd be in depending on the date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,518 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

cant make it, but it looks a great idea. Would love to go another time in 2015 if it was a success for ye ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

No
    Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    I'd be in depending on the date.

I have suggested towards end of November and was looking for feedback to see if there was any interest first I guess.

Taking your comment on board, I suppose if we pick a date then it gives us something to feed off...so how about

Saturday November 22nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

No
    Seve OB wrote: »
    I have suggested towards end of November and was looking for feedback to see if there was any interest first I guess.

Taking your comment on board, I suppose if we pick a date then it gives us something to feed off...so how about

Saturday November 22nd

I'm in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭ballyk

No
    I'm on for it. I've been in to Metro Golf and it's good craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

Looks good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Sean_pop

Seve OB wrote: »
    So we had our first social night out this year on Captains Prize day in Kilkenny. I don't think that anyone could disagree, the night was a great bit of banter and gave us all an opportunity to bond over a few shots. I always take to many shots when it comes to golf, but isn't it funny that we were all happy to take extra shots in the pub :)

So what about a night of golf? This place looks pretty cool, and is definitely something out of the ordinary and right up our street.

I propose this night open to anyone on the golf forum who would like to join us and not just for existing golf society members. But just maybe we can get our grips on you and drag you along to a few of our outings in 2015. Come along and maybe you will realise how weird and golf crazy we all are.

I guess with the geographical nature of our society it meant a few couldn't stay over in Kilkenny, so yis missed all the fun guys :D Maybe a night like this will give some of you the opportunity to find out what you missed.

I suppose with said geographical nature, it also means that a night out like this might not really work either, but I heard someone mention something, so I figured I'd throw it out there and see what the response is like. If the response is good, maybe we could look at arranging something towards the end of November, before the silly season kicks off in December.

Lets provisionally work on Saturday 22nd November... how does this work for people?

I would not be available for the metro Golf get together.

I would certainly be interested in playing some of your Golf society outing as a guest next year. Can you keep me posted on this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

I'm just round the corner so I'll say in provisionally until I confirm with the other half. :)

No
    guys it looks like i wont be around, gonna be a busy run up to chrimbo for me i think, so work away without me if anyone is interested in organising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

I'd be up for this anytime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,176 ✭✭✭blackwhite

I'd said yes, but I'm after getting my grubby paws on rugby tickets so won't be available on the 22nd

No
    if somebody wants to take over the reins and organise this, i'd be happy to lend a hand.

as i said, most likely i won't be able to make it, the wife has a night out planned for a gang of us! Any other weekend is already full, but on the unlikely chance that plans change i would love to pop along. sure i might be able to sneak over for a little bit when she aint looking ;)