Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heifer sucking any cow that will stand for her.

• 10-10-2014 4:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭

Have a year and a half heifer that I had intended to keep and bull next year. Had her in a field with a few cows and calves and she is sucking a cow any half chance she gets. I know I could put a yoke on her nose as a short term solution but if I thought she was going to stay at it as a cow herself I'd be as well pleased to sell her. Anyone had one like her before and what do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Flap asap. Get her in calf. Once she calves that will end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Have a year and a half heifer that I had intended to keep and bull next year. Had her in a field with a few cows and calves and she is sucking a cow any half chance she gets. I know I could put a yoke on her nose as a short term solution but if I thought she was going to stay at it as a cow herself I'd be as well pleased to sell her. Anyone had one like her before and what do ye think?

Very hard to break the habbit at that age as far as I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,356 ✭✭✭tanko

Flap asap. Get her in calf. Once she calves that will end.

+1 on this. I have two replacement yearling heifers here with nose spikes because they were at that carry on. Have often seen it before, I wouldn't let it stop you keeping her as a replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,482 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

The spike anti sucking device is crap. There are other ones that are kind of spring loaded with no spikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,594 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

whelan2 wrote: »
    The spike anti sucking device is crap. There are other ones that are kind of spring loaded with no spikes

I have a heap of them here, used to stick them on for a week before I wean calves. I don't mind putting it on short term but don't see them as a long term solution. She's as cute as a fox the way she sneaks in behind cows when their own calf is sucking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭porter shark

Put d yolk on her and bull away. Often did that and didn't need t put it on d year after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Place I'm working has a plastic spiked anti sucking device on the nose of a cow. Obviously working if she's still in the herd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭skoger

I'm going against everyone else in this thread but I'd get rid of her. There was one here a few years ago who we put in calf but she kept on sucking anything she could get at. With the anti sucking devices she just twisted her head and worked away. We had the calves on twice a day sucking and you could see some of the cows looked empty when you'd let the calves in in the morning. Ended up putting the cow and calf into an old loose shed on their own for the rest of the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭manjou

What i do is all heifers that are going to be bulled i put a springloaded flap with no spikes in their noses when they go to grass in spring as yearlings and leave them in till they eventually fall out themselves stops them getting the habit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Bellview

Had similar issue with suckler. Put a spike on her. No issue this year thankfully if issue persists...... Factory