Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

poachers on my lease.

• 09-10-2014 9:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭

Arrived at my lease this morning to find this inside the forestry gate, really sick of this sh%t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭underthetumb

attachmentphoto.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Glenbulldog

Terrible to see ,would a trail cam be an option?

Had one swiped from there last year, pain in the hole

I hope some of the lads here can help you out with some better ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭thetl

Yes really starting to get a pain in my nuts myself with poaching it has even crossed my mind to pack it in all together ,but why let the scumbags win I will catch them eventually where are you hunting

I'd agree with u don't pack it in sooner or later you'll meet the f***ers ,I'm in wexford myself no deer for me here but torment too come nov 1st......

Don't worry, I will catch up with them, it's rife up there. Sliabh bloom, outside clonaslee. Every 2nd fella seems to shoot deer up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭thetl

Don't worry, I will catch up with them, it's rife up there. Sliabh bloom, outside clonaslee. Every 2nd fella seems to shoot deer up there

Yes near clonaslee myself absaloute joke will pm you my number if you can rind me thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭emcor

same problem too - even if you meet the c**ts what can you do.
    Guards are a joke - legal route too costly and takes too long for result
    reckon report them to revenue is best route; an audit would soften them for a while !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

I'd be very careful If you do run into them. Some cnuts out there and carrying a firearm aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 213 ✭✭270WIN

I'd be very careful If you do run into them. Some cnuts out there and carrying a firearm aswell.

I gave up deer stalking two years ago due to fkin poachers hunting my patch morning noon and night. i eventually met them and had a rifle pointed at me...needless to say i went home and sold my rifle and never went stalking again...not worth it anymore...everyone has deer rifles now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

270WIN wrote: »
    I gave up deer stalking two years ago due to fkin poachers hunting my patch morning noon and night. i eventually met them and had a rifle pointed at me...needless to say i went home and sold my rifle and never went stalking again...not worth it anymore...everyone has deer rifles now

Exactly my point. Pity you had to give it up just because of these scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

There is a group of lads up there that go shooting that have the place turned into Vietnam the way they light up the place.

Sick of the way poaching has messed up the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blackpearl

when they have to walk home after a day of poaching they usually don't come back [if you no what I mean]

Went up to my lease for an evening shot to discover the gate completly chopped off, not with a hacksaw either. Tyre tracks all through the lease and not a deer in sight. Thinking of handing back the lease, not worthwhile the hassle, coillte dont seem too bothered. .à

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭stef22

This is really sad but as it was said before do not give up.
    Coillte won't care as they want the deer gone ...
    The guards to be fair are busy with other more pressing problems but that will change the day somebody get hurts.
    The forest ranger can't do much either. I was told ( can't confirm if true ) that Rangers are not insured after 5:30 pm so even if they wanted to go after poachers that would be crazy.
    As to try and stop them yourself , you are the one who will end-up in trouble.

it looks like Beirut some night here with guys driving around in vans , rifle through the window.
    The lucky deer are those shot dead by these asxxles , many are left badly injured and facing a certain slow death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭fabwing

I found a hide close to my lands in the corner of a forestry and a deer carcase about 30 yards out from the ditch, our horses were all over the place and found two lads travelling from the midlands close to my lands in galway, the two remaining stags were shot in the rut an easy target, somebody will pay for disturbing our horses, some of them are in foal.FFS I am sick of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭stef22

fabwing wrote: »
    I found a hide close to my lands in the corner of a forestry and a deer carcase about 30 yards out from the ditch, our horses were all over the place and found two lads travelling from the midlands close to my lands in galway, the two remaining stags were shot in the rut an easy target, somebody will pay for disturbing our horses, some of them are in foal.FFS I am sick of this.

i am in Galway as well , were they travelling in a white van by any chance ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Lads, there's no point in doing your nut over it in here. If you see the carry on in progress ring 999, ask for Gardai, stay on the phone and provide a running commentary from a safe distance.

I don't know of too many Gardai who wouldn't be chuffed chalking up a few firearms charges.

I know we all live busy lives but letting yourself be seen on your permissions/land at the weirdest times of the day or night really works as a deterrent to poachers and other criminals. Even share the burden between yourself and a few neighbours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Save up or pool together and buy a trail cam[about 200 quid] with SMS functions and day date time stamps.Locate them close to your entry points and if there is anything going down you will get real time film clips and stills,even sound these days direct to your Iphone ,laptop or computor.That is acceptable evidence for court and AGS if faces,vechicles and possibly Regs show up.

Deer cant read BTW:P...So there is no need to hang up caution CCTV in operation signs all over the place either.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 pheasantmad

Was always led to believe that such images were inadmissable in court if a sign was not up in the vicinity, anyone know if this is true or not?

What's inadmissible in court in criminal cases is images or footage without provenance. What will happen is that you can't walk into a Garda station with a DVD or a memory stick saying look at this lads. That's the sort of stuff that will give the Gardai grounds for arrest and interview and potentially charges or DPP referral. Don't forget that your own eye witness account, aka witness statement is damned good evidence as well, especially in conjunction with for example a seized van with two warm carcasses two miles down the road from where you reported the incident.

A Garda will have to seize the material as evidence straight from the source and will verify time and date stamps etc etc..once the evidential data trail is there a judge will be quite happy about the evidential quality. And if you really feel you need to put up a sign choose black writing on a dark green back ground and nail it 10 feet up in a tree. The sign was there for those who wanted to read it.

RE Signs.
    In these days of recession big signs are very expensive too.An A4 size in the colour description and location is good enough too.:p:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

cid:95B92992-3C3B-43C0-A07F-0EA03CFF717D/2014-10-18%252018.36.00.jpg
    Was up yesterday evening, tyre tracks everywhere, and then this on the edge of the road. Sticking up cameras today, fairly pissed off to say the least, not one animal did I see, which is no surprise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 springermad

I think the best way to stop the poaching is to target them through the game dealers. Give out tags like they do on the salmon licence and make them species specific as to what species these guys are shooting where ever they have the permissions for the deer licence. In my opinion this is the only way this can be stopped regulate the game dealers more and the poachers will have no market for the deer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,557 ✭✭✭wexfordman2

I think the best way to stop the poaching is to target them through the game dealers. Give out tags like they do on the salmon licence and make them species specific as to what species these guys are shooting where ever they have the permissions for the deer licence. In my opinion this is the only way this can be stopped regulate the game dealers more and the poachers will have no market for the deer

Or at least implement a system where you must have an npws licence which allows you sell deer to game dealers and each carcass accepted by a dealer must have an associated licence number. Keep the existing system as is, no need for tags if your not selling. Then regular inspections of game dealers by npws, paid for by the fees required for people who wish to sell deer, so it's a self funding mechanism.

You could even have it where perhaps veterinary inspectors could be responsible for inspections of game dealers to ensure that carcasses have an associated hunters licence agin it. That way, two birds with one stone.

There seems to be enough of a margin in the sale of venison to dealers for some level of fee system to allow for the policing, tracking and adminsitratuon of the overall system.

And also ensure that dealers have to make available in its entire the details of every carcass bought and who was paid to both revenue and dsp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

If only the dept of agriculture would have the cop on to introduce deer tags. Iv said it before, ultimately the real issue lays with the game dealers. Cut out all the nonsense of deer being taken in without questions being asked and it will destroy most of the deer poaching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Varmint Shooter

Is there any way of getting the numbers of deer being bought by dealers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Try the Scout Guard SG550M ,that will sort out your problem ,it costs a few quid (220.00 sterling) ,but between a few on a lease ,its buttons.
    Their is no excuse anymore for someone to be poaching your lease,the technology is readily available to nail these inbread hicks.
    Quit giving out about it and get some cameras up ,the least you'll get is a reg no, which will get you a name address and a phone no,which you can ring aty 4 in the morning ,to tell them if they poach said lease again that they'll be burnt in their beds (messing of coarse ):mad:.

stevoman wrote: »
    If only the dept of agriculture would have the cop on to introduce deer tags. Iv said it before, ultimately the real issue lays with the game dealers. Cut out all the nonsense of deer being taken in without questions being asked and it will destroy most of the deer poaching.

The dept of Ag was involved....Once!They inspected the carcasses for diseases like TB etc,thats why you had to bring in the head ,liver and heart .But now seeing that we have new EU legislation and a days course.We are supposedly all qualified,and responsible for making sure that we hand in only wholesome disease free carcasses.That's fine in anywhere else in the EU,but here we still apprently have to get the carcasses cleared by a vet or Ag inspector.So all it has done was put another layer of burrocracy on things.Adding another job to the man from the ministry wont solve this either.
    Deer tags didnt really solve anything in the US either.It is more for making sure that you didnt shoot somthing in a primitive weapons[bow] season,and has become a huge money spinner and lottery in some states and counties.So bad that you might only get to shoot one deer every five years depending on the number of tags issued.
    The US simply prohibits the commercial sale of game meat in any shape or form.The rule is ,you shoot it you eat it.But that has caused a huge problem with massive deer numbers in some places,so they are considering allowing limited commercial sales.Think our bet would be a four year moratorium on the sale of wild deer here to see is the pouplation sustainable,and also to starve the cowboys out of the market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 kinelly

To make matters worse, I have heard of several lads receiving the back to work scheme from the social for......... you'll never guess......... game culling!
    Some well in touch with reality civil servants have accepted the yarn that my new business is going to be shooting wild animals to sell. No need to show receipts of leases held or permissions etc. How on earth could they accept that people can create businesses out of killing wild game. No doubt they are having the meat handling course paid for as well.
    This will no doubt legitimise poachers earnings unless of course they get caught in the act.

kinelly wrote: »
    To make matters worse, I have heard of several lads receiving the back to work scheme from the social for......... you'll never guess......... game culling!
    Some well in touch with reality civil servants have accepted the yarn that my new business is going to be shooting wild animals to sell. No need to show receipts of leases held or permissions etc. How on earth could they accept that people can create businesses out of killing wild game. No doubt they are having the meat handling course paid for as well.
    This will no doubt legitimise poachers earnings unless of course they get caught in the act.

If, and emphasis on if, this is true I hope they have proper commercial insurance as well since none of the recreational hunting schemes cover commercial hunting.

On another note, does commercial hu ting not need some form of NPWS licencing like a commercially ran shoot for example ?

kinelly wrote: »

And we will keep moaning and moaning in line about it and deck all will be done, I think I've made a decision to stop reading orncresting threads on poaching etc, it's just frustrating by and fruitless at this stage.

Worth noting also, so far this season, I've bagged nothing yet, and a huge difference in presence etc bit swing near as many as I have over last couple of years.

If, and emphasis on if, this is true I hope they have proper commercial insurance as well since none of the recreational hunting schemes cover commercial hunting.

On another note, does commercial hu ting not need some form of NPWS licencing like a commercially ran shoot for example ?

Would that system even exist, I mean we have commercial hunters selling section 42 culls die by the off season so I would be surprised if there was any restrictions like having to have a commercial licence. Does for example a guy swilling to a game dealer have to have a cocommercialicence ?

I Note I've just contradicted myself from last post.

Well lads, hope yee all had a good season. Mine was a mixed bag, had horrendous hassle on my Coillte lease, which put a bit of a sour taste on my season. In the last week there was someone in my lease shooting, I was in the wood when I heard a vehicle stop then boom, a shot went off, I ran to get to the forestry road, I could hear them coming toward me when they stopped, reversed and tore off the other direction, their obviously seen my jeep and got out of dodge, you could see their tyre marks. I was in the lease half an hour before daybreak, so they were obviously in there before me. 2 days later I found a carcass(less than a week old) inside the tree line just off the forest road. I was warned about takin a lease in this area and I should of listened. Not a chance of me renewing it next year. Was in contact with the forest manager throughout the season, while he is a nice man, he couldn't give a fiddlers about the poachers, glad they are being shot I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Nightforce 65X55

Well lads, hope yee all had a good season. Mine was a mixed bag, had horrendous hassle on my Coillte lease, which put a bit of a sour taste on my season. In the last week there was someone in my lease shooting, I was in the wood when I heard a vehicle stop then boom, a shot went off, I ran to get to the forestry road, I could hear them coming toward me when they stopped, reversed and tore off the other direction, their obviously seen my jeep and got out of dodge, you could see their tyre marks. I was in the lease half an hour before daybreak, so they were obviously in there before me. 2 days later I found a carcass(less than a week old) inside the tree line just off the forest road. I was warned about takin a lease in this area and I should of listened. Not a chance of me renewing it next year. Was in contact with the forest manager throughout the season, while he is a nice man, he couldn't give a fiddlers about the poachers, glad they are being shot I presume.

Where was the lease ?

Clonaslee, it's an absolute joke up there

A couple of very discrete game cams would help ,and a prosecution would get the message across to the local vermin,worked great for us .

What part of country was that. We had a camera stolen on us up there, thought it was well hidden, obviously not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭hexosan

What part of country was that. We had a camera stolen on us up there, thought it was well hidden, obviously not

problem with a camo camera that's to well hidden. Hard to find them when you go back. 😄

Have to say, very poor season myself, 2 deer for the whole season, last year was 6, same the year before.

Seeing a hell of a lot less about the place tbh, to the point where even since christmas I could hardly even bother to head out as more than likely I wouldnt even see sight of anything, never mind get a shot.Would be delighted if i went out and just seen them, but even that wasnt happening.

Seen a few dodgy things over the season too, but nothing concrete, mostly just instances where I reckon males or females were taken out of season.

Pretty disheartening overall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Wildcard7

attachmentphoto.JPG

Sorry if that's slightly offtopic, but I've been wondering this for a while. I often walk my dog in forrests that aren't exactly dog walking hotspots (but open to the public) as she's reactive and doesn't interact well with other dogs. I've come across the above, as well as what looked like pheasant feet (and a few feathers, but nothing else). Last week she went off the path and into the trees (I always have her on a long lead but let her sniff and track into the trees as far as the lead reaches), got very excited, and then came out carrying a lung with the windpipe still attached. Judging from the size I'd say it came from a deer. It looked like it was neatly cut and then thrown out and left there.

Would things like that always be a sign of poachers as serious hunters wouldn't leave that behind? Sorry if that's a stupid question.

Wildcard7 wrote: »
    Sorry if that's slightly offtopic, but I've been wondering this for a while. I often walk my dog in forrests that aren't exactly dog walking hotspots (but open to the public) as she's reactive and doesn't interact well with other dogs. I've come across the above, as well as what looked like pheasant feet (and a few feathers, but nothing else). Last week she went off the path and into the trees (I always have her on a long lead but let her sniff and track into the trees as far as the lead reaches), got very excited, and then came out carrying a lung with the windpipe still attached. Judging from the size I'd say it came from a deer. It looked like it was neatly cut and then thrown out and left there.

Would things like that always be a sign of poachers as serious hunters wouldn't leave that behind? Sorry if that's a stupid question.

Just part of a Gralloch left for the beasties to dispose of,this is normal .

Perfectly acceptable for a hunter to leave the likes of lungs and intestines behind in a wood. Badgers, foxes and corvids will do away with it in no time at all. Can't dump it anywhere in or near a watercourse.