Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strange person I found last week

• 09-10-2014 8:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭

Last Saturday I was checking 3 in-calf heifers in an outfarm. Went into the field and saw a person lying down.First thought was, what have the beasts done now?But as I approached, the woman sat up, so knew there was no harm to her.She was 'enjoying' the last of the sun was her reason for lying in the field!The heifers heard my voice and came a-running for their handfulnuts and your woman got to her feet fairly rapidly."Now," sez I, "would you be happy if you'd opened your eyes to that?"as my girls surrounded us looking for grub.

The mind boggles as to the things some people think are good ideas. I won't walk through fields without a stick and certainly wouldn't lie down in the middle.On the occasions when I sit on a bank to talk to the animals so they get to know me I make sure I'm still above them. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Years ago a fella used sleep in our hay at night. Happened a few times.Don't know whether he was homeless or on the way home from the pub! All you could hear was snoring!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Last spring on a Sunday morning I went to check on single bearing ewes that I was outdoor lambing in the field. A ewe that earlier was in the process of lambing was wandering the field calling for a lamb. Across the field at the road gate I spied a figure crossing so something said I'd go see. So into my jeep and up the lane and I find a young Dublin man wearing a track suit vans white runners walking down the road talking on his phone with a newborn lamb in his arms. "How ya mister I found this in da hedge is it yours?" It is says I. Thanks very much. He then asked me would I give him a lift to local village. I respectfully declined.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Can be creepy.
    Know a woman went out to calve a heifer at 3am and half way through the calving a fella that was asleep in bales of straw got up and started talking.

She ran him like a dog but was well shaken by it. Think I'd have called guards myself to deter him coming back. Seems he had a bit too much to drink, but he wasn't exactly on his route home either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

In our locality, the old people tell the story of a very tall man in a long dark coat that was seen by different people out late at night. Nobody ever saw his face and he never spoke to anyone.
    One night, one of the locals was driving along on a horse and cart when yer man ran after him and jumped up on the back of the cart. Yer man said he could feel the cart going down under his weight. Scared the life out of him. Stayed there for a couple of miles without saying a word and then just jumped off and disappeared. I've heard that story from a lot of old people in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Not particularly a person, but this is a place bear me that frightens the bejaysus outta me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭colrow

A few years ago me and my mate were going over to Tavistock,across Dartmoor, it was raining pretty heavily, there was a motorbike on the side of the road, and a man lying flat on his face with all the bike gear on.

We stopped and were asking was he allright, we had to yell at him, we thought he was injured, then he pushed himself up, and told us to feck off, he was only having a sleep.

My mate came out with a classic.

"Which fecking village, are you the fecking idiot from then ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Not particularly a person, but this is a place bear me that frightens the bejaysus outta me.

House near us had a room boarded up for 40 years. I knew the builder who was asked to close the door. Woman had died and said she wouldn't leave the room. Afterwards they couldn't use the room and claimed it to be haunted.
    Builder didn't believe in haunt ifs but said it was the creepiest job he'd ever done. I worked in the yard on the machine a few times and was in the house. The room remained closed and fully furnished including aparrenty the woman's clothes still in the wardrobe, until it was demolished during the boom. None of the lads demolishing it would open the door. Just levelled it to the ground.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I wouldn't be a particularly superstitious person but I have photos of the house and won't put them up. It's just a wrong house. You couldn't pay me to stay in it. didn't even tell it correctly in that link, there are lots more factors to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

This has to be the strangest thing of all that I have come across ...

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-411038/Why-dogs-leapt-deaths-Overtoun-Bridge.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

I got an awful fright early one morning.
    It was about ten years ago. I was at a wedding and had a long hard weekend of drink. I had to get up very early on the Monday to get some weanlings ready for collection. I noticed 2 motor bikes parked up near the sheds out onthe road ddidn't take too much notice of them as I was still tipsy. I walked into the shed to collect a stick. I started to feel sick so I turned around and puked into the passageway. Next thing a voice shouted "Jesus are you alright mate". I bloody nearly jumped tru the roof. I looked around and there was 2 bikers in full leathers lying on the hay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

jimini0 wrote: »
    I got an awful fright early one morning.
    It was about ten years ago. I was at a wedding and had a long hard weekend of drink. I had to get up very early on the Monday to get some weanlings ready for collection. I noticed 2 motor bikes parked up near the sheds out onthe road ddidn't take too much notice of them as I was still tipsy. I walked into the shed to collect a stick. I started to feel sick so I turned around and puked into the passageway. Next thing a voice shouted "Jesus are you alright mate". I bloody nearly jumped tru the roof. I looked around and there was 2 bikers in full leathers lying on the hay.

:D:D brilliant story!
    Reminds me of working on a golf course years ago, and raking bunkers one weekend morning on a small motorised machine akin to a 3 wheel quad. I was suffering bad and Couldn't hold it when I puked a trail of vomit from a bunker across a green to the nearest ditch. In front of 4 hoity toity aul ones. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

I know a lad that owns a hayshed which is close to a busy night club. He has come across some interesting sights on Sunday and Monday mornings over the years.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,821 ✭✭✭Markcheese

einn32 wrote: »
    Years ago a fella used sleep in our hay at night. Happened a few times.Don't know whether he was homeless or on the way home from the pub! All you could hear was snoring!

You wouldn't mind once you knew he didn't smoke :) ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

A neighbour here used to send his son into steal bales of hay while him and the other lad were playing cards. The neighbour knew this so. It went on for a while until one night the lad ran out with the shotgun, let off a shot and started shouting "I got the f**ker" the neighbour was supposed to have collapsed. There was never a bale lifted after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

over 20 years ago my parents where on holidays, my sister and i where staying in house. She heard a noise in the middle of the night, i said it was nothing. When I got up next morning gates where open everyhere , a few lads out of their tree in hayshed with a keg of beer, car crashed at end of lane. Best part was they walked passed parents brand new car sitting outside that had only been delivered that day. Good job we didnt go outside during the night. I rang guards and they picked them up, they had robbed car and keg at local pub night before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

A few years ago before I moved up here to the yard I was coming up the lane to start another day about seven thirty, met a young woman walking down, expensive track suit, fancy hold all, long wavy hair, very good looking, thought she had been visiting people who lived in a cottage in the yard at the time,
    Turned out they didn't know what I was talking about, so had a look in the hay shed, judging by the loo she had made for herself in the corner and the heap of uneaten food it looked like she had been there for a week or more.
    Never saw her again...but often wonder what she was about..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Some very funny stories in this thread.

Has happened a few times to myself that I went on the beer and woke up in our own hayshed, locked out of mind as well as the house.:pac:

On more a serious note, had an outfarm rented a few years ago close to a town but still very quite and isolated if that makes any sense.

Anyway, myself and another lad were herding the cattle when came across this young lad down under a bridge that runs over the river. He was setting up a rope when we came across him. We stayed and talked to him for a couple of hours, poor lad had fallen on hard times. He eventually said he was grand, we rang his parents and he walked back to his car and left.

Never seen him before or since so don't know how things panned out for him after but often wondered would he have followed through with it that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    A few years ago before I moved up here to the yard I was coming up the lane to start another day about seven thirty, met a young woman walking down, expensive track suit, fancy hold all, long wavy hair, very good looking, thought she had been visiting people who lived in a cottage in the yard at the time,
    Turned out they didn't know what I was talking about, so had a look in the hay shed, judging by the loo she had made for herself in the corner and the heap of uneaten food it looked like she had been there for a week or more.
    Never saw her again...but often wonder what she was about..

Missed out there eh? Could have even invited her inside to a more comfortable bed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Missed out there eh? Could have even invited her inside to a more comfortable bed!
    What I'm wondering about is how she dolled herself up so well spending night after night sleeping in a hay shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,821 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Found a strange(well a bit odd ) man in the hall of my house yesterday ... He was looking for a plumber .and there was a van parked out front (not a plumbers) .. Because his electricity wasn't working ...
    During an enormous lightning storm ..
    Told him to find electrician

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Sam Kade wrote: »
    What I'm wondering about is how she dolled herself up so well spending night after night sleeping in a hay shed.

Wondered the same..just assumed she had all the 'tools' for that in the fancy bag..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Great thread, gives me the heebie jeebies though!

Years ago as I was milking the cows one morning I heard someone call my name, sounded like my neighbour when I checked around there was nobody there :(

Great thread, gives me the heebie jeebies though!
    Sleep tight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Sleep tight :D

It won't keep me awake anyway ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Years ago coming home from the pub when having a feast of porter and driving was the norm i started the usual sing song to myself as the radio used have nothing entertaining that hour of the night.
    Away i was singing happy out "an puc ar buile" happy out but losts my words on the start of the fourth verse and all of a sudden from behind me the start of the 4th verse "bhi garda mor i mbaile an rostaigh", I got my lines but instantly nearly crashed the car.
    Who was it only a neighbour who often used get a lift home, he normally be in the passengers seat waiting but he was on the sauce all day and had jumped in the back and fell asleep.
    I checked the back of the car ever since after that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

In our locality, the old people tell the story of a very tall man in a long dark coat that was seen by different people out late at night. Nobody ever saw his face and he never spoke to anyone.
    One night, one of the locals was driving along on a horse and cart when yer man ran after him and jumped up on the back of the cart. Yer man said he could feel the cart going down under his weight. Scared the life out of him. Stayed there for a couple of miles without saying a word and then just jumped off and disappeared. I've heard that story from a lot of old people in the area.

That is one creepy story.

I don't come from any farming family but the uncle lives out in the countryside and works for the forestry now retired but often while in the forest working he sees a tall man in a black coat as well just slowly walking through without even saying a word, than one day the uncle just said "Lovely weather today" and the guy just stopped and looked at him, said nothing and walked on. Whats funny is my uncle or even the local people haven't a clue who he is. This was back in the 70s so it was a small village at the time everybody knew everybody.

What I find creepy is the forest he saw him in is up the side of a mountain that its a fairly steep drive up its like something out of wrong turn.

jonon9 wrote: »
    That is one creepy story.

I don't come from any farming family but the uncle lives out in the countryside and works for the forestry now retired but often while in the forest working he sees a tall man in a black coat as well just slowly walking through without even saying a word, than one day the uncle just said "Lovely weather today" and the guy just stopped and looked at him, said nothing and walked on. Whats funny is my uncle or even the local people haven't a clue who he is. This was back in the 70s so it was a small village at the time everybody knew everybody.

What I find creepy is the forest he saw him in is up the side of a mountain that its a fairly steep drive up its like something out of wrong turn.
    Maybe he was "the hairy man" :) The hairy man used to come around our parish every summer. I remember one evening in the pub in the local village after a hard days work in the bog footing turf the hairy man was seen walking down through the village every one locked their doors including the publican :( He was harmless out just a bit scruffy with accidental dreadlocks.

Bridgie Mahoney was another character a tinker woman traveling around Cork in the late 60's early 70's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

There was a field not far from me had a wandering character like that. There had been a bit of a dispute years back. Anyways nobody would go in to work in it but a lad bought it and decided to clear it up , eventually he got someone to do so. When your boy was ploughing urge seen this figure across the field, instead of driving off he lifted the plough and pulled down the throttle aiming the tractor straight at the figure, long story short the figure got through the ditch and was never seen again. There's far too many auld piss rogues all you will find brought on to scare or intimidate someone and I wouldn't pay too much attention to them.

This is a great thread...reminding of all sorts of characters we've come across over the years, we are beside a town which probably helps!
    We had a German lad living wild in the woods round here one time, I first came across him standing in the river without a stitch having a wash..we had a 'chat' and he moved on, used to see him from time to time till one day I found him in the yard. Now the boss was quite frail at this time and I didn't want them meeting so the 'chat' became a bit more intense :) anyway yer man went to hit me and with that one of the dogs went for him, he turned and ran out across the fields with the three dogs after him and screaming at curses at me..
    He would come into the place from time to time but kept well out of my way but used to trample hedges out of spite.
    The neighbours on one side were three women on their own and he started giving them a hard time when they found him on the place, they got very scared of him so a couple of us decided enough was enough and made a point of finding him and having the final 'chat' . He disappeared after that...
    He was only around during the summer, his attitude was the usual bull, that the land belonged to everyone , we discovered later that he used to spend the winters in Brasil! Often wondered was he related to any of the lads who left Germany after the war and went to South America..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

tanko wrote: »
    I know a lad that owns a hayshed which is close to a busy night club. He has come across some interesting sights on Sunday and Monday mornings over the years.;)

The joys of having a shed near a nightclub,

The old man used keep a few cattle years ago,he had them in a field at his uncles house,had bit of a hay shed there,he went over one Sunday morning and he found this couple inside the hay shed after the giving the hay a good rolling,it must have been a long weekend as he went back the Monday morning the same couple were there again,

Must have been good hay that year :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

There's an old church ruins joins the land here, it dates back to the 10 century and has been used by non Christian groups over the years, a few years ago a fairly nervous neighbour was dropping a pal of his home from the pub on a mid summer night both were full of beer , as they passed the ruins a group of people in white robes with heads covered were on the road, the lads drove on but neither said anything to the other, a few nights later they were out again and after a while the talk got looser and one of them asked the other had he noticed anything on the road the other night , needless to say he had but he also thought he imagined it and said nothing on the night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Love the stories!
    I've a ghost one for ye: a neighbour of mine used to get a lift to work at around 7.15am, so during the winter she would be walking a short distance in the dark. One morning she passed a field and saw a figure whom she took to be the owner of the field in checking a sick animal or something like that. She got no reply to her greeting and said that then she saw the figure was floating over the rushes not walking. She picked up the feet and got her friend to pick her up from her own front gate after that. She later heard that the black figure had been seen by other reasonably sensible people over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭Dickie10

jakers i love these aul stories even though there bad for me ! i dont be able for them! like horror movies i watch them even though i shouldnt , the girlfriend is always givin out to me for watchin them with her when im not able for them, we kinda have a dougal and ted relationship over horror movies!