Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hairstyles for a Balding Man (with pics!)

• 06-10-2014 10:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭

Sadly I'm very rapidly becoming bald. (I'm only 22) As you can see from the pic it is quite pronounced, the hair is still thick enough at the sides and back, eventually I'll end up with Patrick Stewart style hair, with just some on the sides and back and none on top. I'm fine with that so I'm not interested in treatment or surgery or whatever. Basically I want to manage the "balding" stage and do so gracefully. I've thought about just shaving it all off (complete slaphead) but I don't think that would be a very professional look?

What I have been doing is getting it cut short as it is in the pic. I'm not looking to hide the fact I'm going bald but I want a haircut that doesn't shout at people "this guy is going bald" if that makes sense... you see some people and the first thing you notice is that they are going bald, then you see others and while they may have even less hair its not the first thing you notice, your attention isnt drawn to it.

Would a short buzz cut help? Or am I grand as is? Any ideas or suggestions would be welcome. Maybe I'm thinking about this too much.

7AbqMc.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Personally if it was me, I'd shave it all off and keep it that way than have a bald patch on top.
    No way would I be trying to hide it, but still leaving hair in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

Personally if it was me, I'd shave it all off and keep it that way than have a bald patch on top.
    No way would I be trying to hide it, but still leaving hair in place.
    I don't want to hide it, I was thinking of something along the lines of what Jason Statham has with his, just buzzed really short, rather than completely shaving it all. I'm asking about hairstyles because obviously there are some which look better than others when you're in my position.

I look exactly like my dad and his hair went the same way so I know what I will look like when I lose all my hair on top and it's a look which really suits him and will me too, it's just managing this in between stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,428 ✭✭✭✭endacl

What number guard would that be?

I could also shave it all off, but I was worried about how professional that would look for the work environment

About a 2, I'd say. Start with the longest, and work your way down till you like what you see.

I admire your attitude, by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭The_Mask

Shave it tight...you don't need hair. I ve had a "0" all over by choice for the last 20 years and when I start going bald on top about 5 years and IMO a tight hair cut can only make it less ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

A blade zero all over can look professional. I'm pretty sure about that. But I don't think it is to do with the haircut itself, but rather the character of the individual and composure and assured demeanour of the person his/herself.

I'm not sure how to quite put my finger on it, but I think it may include a combination of both personal composure and making sure your scalp looks a million dollars - as in, not flaky or enflamed, but rather smooth and (basically) unremarkable.

I think everyone would agree that every effort should be made to avoid dandfuff - the kiss of death

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

Don't just shave it off and accept defeat as easily as others are suggesting. Chances are most people that'll give you that kind of advice have gone bald themselves and regret not acting earlier to try to help the situation. Go to a dermatologist and consider getting a finasteride prescription and minoxidil etc. Just research everything and assess whatever risks may be involved for yourself with certain medications. If after a year or two the situation hasn't improved or there's no alternative, which it more than likely will and there are, at least you'll have tried and can then shave it off if you'd like.

Really is sad that there is such slow progress in advancements in treatments for balding men. If someone did manage to find a cure it'd earn billions no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Use a shampoo that gives your hair a fuller/thicker look. Also use a hair dryer to dry your hair. It thickens it up a lot.

Don't just shave it off and accept defeat as easily as others are suggesting. Chances are most people that'll give you that kind of advice have gone bald themselves and regret not acting earlier to try to help the situation. Go to a dermatologist and consider getting a finasteride prescription and minoxidil etc. Just research everything and assess whatever risks may be involved for yourself with certain medications. If after a year or two the situation hasn't improved or there's no alternative, which it more than likely will and there are, at least you'll have tried and can then shave it off if you'd like.

Really is sad that there is such slow progress in advancements in treatments for balding men. If someone did manage to find a cure it'd earn billions no doubt.

The advice from me came from somebody who's hair seems to be getting feckin' thicker with age. I could do with a bit of thinning at this point! :)

Do what you like, OP. An opposing argument to the above might be don't buy into the male insecurity industry. Baldness is a natural process. It's difficult for many, but it's natural. There's a substantial industry making a sh1t tonne of cash by pathologizing and medicalizing perfectly natural processes. I'm 40. I started going grey at 15. Imagine how much I'd have spent on 'treatments for my condition' if I gave a polite shyte about going grey?

endacl wrote: »
    The advice from me came from somebody who's hair seems to be getting feckin' thicker with age. I could do with a bit of thinning at this point! :)

Do what you like, OP. An opposing argument to the above might be don't buy into the male insecurity industry. Baldness is a natural process. It's difficult for many, but it's natural. There's a substantial industry making a sh1t tonne of cash by pathologizing and medicalizing perfectly natural processes. I'm 40. I started going grey at 15. Imagine how much I'd have spent on 'treatments for my condition' if I gave a polite shyte about going grey?

And an opposing argument to that is not all balding men that make efforts to try to at least slow the process are insecure but just want to keep their hair since pretty much everyone looks better with hair, so it really just becomes another part of some men's routines to make themselves look their best and be well groomed, like shaving and working out. A man isn't always insecure for taking pride in his appearance and working on being their best selves both physically and mentally, but this doesn't seem like a popular opinion in Ireland or maybe we'd have less men with beer bellies and sh!t hygiene.

I have no interest in fighting an expensive battle which I can't win, and I don't like taking unnecessary medication. I did go to a doc last year for some bloods and he confirmed that it was male pattern baldness and not anything more sinister.

No one is 100% happy with every aspect of themselves, obviously going bald is not ideal but I just try to focus on the positives, I'm tall and have nice teeth, I've also joined a gym and am trying to look better.

I was talking to someone this morning and he suggested getting a number two at the sides and back, and a no 3 on top, going to a barbers later today to get that done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,549 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I've also joined a gym and am trying to look better

If you aren't doing so already, take up weight training to build muscle and reduce bodyfat. A chiselled face and some decent muscle mass particularly in the neck and traps makes a buzz cut look better. Also, tan makes a buzz cut look better - but obviously some people don't tan well or are concerned about skin damage etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,979 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

What number guard would that be?

I could also shave it all off, but I was worried about how professional that would look for the work environment

Try a number 2, I am similar to yourself it's light on top but still thick at the sides.

I used to have it at number 1 but felt it was a bit too bare and have settled at number 2 now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/21418145
    CONCLUSION: Physicians treating MPHL should discuss the potential risk of persistent sexual side effects associated with finasteride.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3481923/
    the evidence available about the safety of the drug can be considered as questionable, but cannot certainly be ignored. The matter needs further systematic investigation and documentation. However, there is no doubt that to the lay man the prospect of impotence while taking a drug for hairloss is daunting, however theoretical and small the risk may be.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/20956649
    CONCLUSION: Moderate-quality evidence suggests that daily use of oral finasteride increases hair count and improves patient and investigator assessment of hair appearance, while increasing the risk of sexual dysfunction.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22789024
    CONCLUSION: In most men who developed persistent sexual side effects (≥3 months) despite the discontinuation of finasteride, the sexual dysfunction continued for many months or years. Although several rat studies have shown detrimental changes to erectile function caused by 5 alpha reductase inhibitors, the persistent nature of these changes is an area of active research. Prescribers of finasteride and men contemplating its use should be made aware of the potential adverse medication effects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭OldRio

Wow.. Care to elaborate on such a view point. Numbers asked. Research done etc.

Went with a number two in the end, looks very well, thanks lads. I'll just have to get it cut frequently enough to keep it this length

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭blueb

receding hair line here.. fairly bad one.. been happening since early 20s... id advise you get a GOOD hair clippers!! Philips have some great cordless and waterproof ones and the best thing about them is they have adjustable length.. so you dont have to keep track of all the guards!
    about 70-90 euro.. just think that's about 7 haircuts!!
    I use this for about 3 haircuts and then go to barber for the 4th.. just to tidy everything up professionally. If you like the look of the 2 blade you will probably have to get it shaved every 2 weeks to keep that look!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Went with a number two in the end, looks very well, thanks lads. I'll just have to get it cut frequently enough to keep it this length

Buy your own clippers, it'll be worth your while! I had a shaved head for about 2 years and bought my own clippers and used them every second week.

That's a tenner a fortnight saved at the barber. :)

I was pretty clear with saying that there were risks involved and for him to assess whether they're worth it for himself. Good job on the effort to link all those though, should help op doing what I suggested.

Basically I want to manage the "balding" stage and do so gracefully.
    I was pretty clear with saying that there were risks involved and for him to assess whether they're worth it for himself. Good job on the effort to link all those though, should help op doing what I suggested.
    Did you read what Tramps Like Us posted, at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

That wasn't an attempt to contradict your post.

I was just posting about the risks that appear to be associated with that particular drug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

I'm fortunate to be 40 with the same hairline I had at 14 and greys I could count on fingers and toes. However due to incredibly strong hair that doesn't bend under its own weight till its nearly 2 inches long I had to use motherloads of gel to style it and the slightest breeze, bang or hand would break the gel bonds and create instantaneous tufts of upright fluffy hair and a trip to the nearest bathroom to wet and/or re-gel etc. The day I shaved it all off was liberating. After 15 years using the same €30 electric trimmer I must have saved thousands in barber costs at this stage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

Calibos wrote: »
    I'm fortunate to be 40 with the same hairline I had at 14 and greys I could count on fingers and toes. However due to incredibly strong hair that doesn't bend under its own weight till its nearly 2 inches long I had to use motherloads of gel to style it and the slightest breeze, bang or hand would break the gel bonds and create instantaneous tufts of upright fluffy hair and a trip to the nearest bathroom to wet and/or re-gel etc. The day I shaved it all off was liberating. After 15 years using the same €30 electric trimmer I must have saved thousands in barber costs at this stage
    Don't be coming on here gloating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,588 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

buy a good quality clippers,very easy to shave your own head once it's only one blade/length.
    I was the same as you for about a year ,just getting a 2 blade all over in my barbers but it was an awful waste of money.

I bought this Wahl clippers about a year ago and find it brilliant and the lowest setting(no blade) is supposed to be the closest shave you can get without doing a wet shave.

I spend a fortune looking into alternatives and regret it now ,I should have just started shaving my head about 3 years earlier than I did.There is no cure to baldness,the best you can do is a slowing of the process or a transplant.