Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mart question!!

• 06-10-2014 9:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭

Well lads, simple question for ye! :pac:
    We'll be selling a few bullocks next monday in the mart for the first time, and we've been given pen 34. So every week does it start from pen number 1? :confused:
    Or does anyone have any idea how long it will be before our bullocks make it to the ring? The auld lad is worried a lot of buyers might have left by the time ours make it in.
    Cheers folks!
    Ps. The mart in in castlerea and starts at 11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Usually it's a random draw from 1 to 20, depending on size of the mart. Don't worry either way as there's positives and negatives about both early and late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

We'll be selling a few bullocks next monday in the mart for the first time, and we've been given pen 34. So every week does it start from pen number 1? :confused:
    Or does anyone have any idea how long it will be before our bullocks make it to the ring? The auld lad is worried a lot of buyers might have left by the time ours make it in.
    Cheers folks!

i am going to ring castlerea tomorro and ask who is,in pen 34 just to find out who you are :D
    you will most likely be late. Most marts do draw and work down from the draw pen to pen 1 and then back up from the draw pen. So pen 34 is very high. The only way you get middling early is if the draw is pen 40 or higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

However if your cattle have nice cover and look good than buyers will wait until they come up. OH and I have waited for stock that we were interested in long after similar stock has gone through the ring.
    Best of luck with them and if ye don't like the price that you are getting then don't take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭MagicManCan

Cheers for the replys lads, hopefully all goes well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

When I book em in I ring the manager and get a number in the early 2o 's, and then slip him 20 euro in the pub at the weekend ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Cheers folks!

Hi, I booked mine in first year or two in plenty of time and got crap pens both years. Got dealer I use to book them in since and in prime time spots. Could be luck or coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭MagicManCan

Also whats the story about the running order? We've a mix here of 4 friesians that range in quality(400-450Kg), two smallish angus (350kg), a SHX(380Kg), and a good LIMX (450Kg) and SIMX (400Kg) respectively.
    What running order would ye put, i.e. best first or does it really matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

I always put best first, have done for years, afraid to go any other way now incase I jinx myself ! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Jonblack

Hard to say when is a good time to sell. As already said if someone wants the cattle they will wait. Selling after 4p.m and you might get lad,s on way home from work. Have sold both early and late.Don,t worry too much if ring seems to be getting empty with people leaving all you need is two or three wanting your cattle. In Castlerea yesterday and still good demand late on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

When I book em in I ring the manager and get a number in the early 2o 's, and then slip him 20 euro in the pub at the weekend ;)

Joys of the mart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    I always put best first, have done for years, afraid to go any other way now incase I jinx myself ! :)

Same as that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Lovely that reminds me of the time I sent cattle to the factory straight off grass in November and was charged 15 a hd for clipping the agent wanted one of his more frequent customers not to have to pay for getting his sh1tty cattle clipped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭MfMan

Jonblack wrote: »
    Hard to say when is a good time to sell. As already said if someone wants the cattle they will wait. Selling after 4p.m and you might get lad,s on way home from work. Have sold both early and late.Don,t worry too much if ring seems to be getting empty with people leaving all you need is two or three wanting your cattle. In Castlerea yesterday and still good demand late on.

How was Castlerea yesterday? Big entry, lot of men buying? Show mart in Tuam competing with it yesterday; very big sale, biggest in years. Lot of new customers there, plus a couple of northern buyers. Very good trade for all types.

Re: selling in marts, wouldn't worry about a late selling spot from a buyer's point of view, not too many dealers go home before end of sale. However, if cattle are standing on a concrete floor for the best part of a day, then they're losing condition slowly throughout. Better off selling early to avoid this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Jonblack

Angus show and sale on.Good demand for nice blacks. Thought prices back a bit on last week, but could be down to Charolais show and sale last Monday. Not over packed ringside, but good bidding on nice lots. Mart not as busy as years ago, can remember going in at between 8 and 10 at night on way home from work and mart not finishing till 11.30 p.m. Price much better then as well. Did see a few 30 month cattle sold which makes you wonder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Was selling a heifer one day in a mart. My first time in that particular mart. I was there nice an early expecting to be in the ring early. Mine was the very last animal to go in to the ring, plenty past me.

Said it to a neighbour and he said the same thing happened to him in that particular mart.
    However the ring was full of dealers bidding like mad not to go home empty handed. Got a nice price for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Feckthis wrote: »
    Was selling a heifer one day in a mart. My first time in that particular mart. I was there nice an early expecting to be in the ring early. Mine was the very last animal to go in to the ring, plenty past me.

Said it to a neighbour and he said the same thing happened to him in that particular mart.
    However the ring was full of dealers bidding like mad not to go home empty handed. Got a nice price for her.

know of one mart and a tenner or so will get you a decent number, otherwise you can be early there and get a late number(as i did one day:mad:).... didnt sell any that day, even after a lot of presurring off auctioneer, brought all to kk the following thursday and all of them made more, but one more specifically made €210 more, the very one a cheeky little bo@*oc£s that nearly leaped on me when i came out of the box, got up in my face and offered me a tenner more of "his own money" than what i was getting in the ring, doing me a favour he was :D .....the same lad was in kk looking at the blk being sold ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

if lads make the effort to book a lot early they should be rewarded for it. blessington for lambs had a booking system in place for lambs so you'd know where in the yard they were goin to be and therefor roughly what time they were gonna be sold so you could go off and buy a few bits in quinns or whatever. but this year they got rid of that and went back to the old way of first come first serve where they had a que of trailers at the gate when they opened up at half 8 or so. not sure why they went back to the old style but not a fan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

ganmo wrote: »
    if lads make the effort to book a lot early they should be rewarded

I hear what you are saying and I agree in theory but then what would be to stop lads booking pens and then not showing up. Unless l suppose you gave a refundable booking deposit.

It would be grand then for mart the deposit would cover the lost commission if lads were a 'no show.'

Muckit wrote: »
    I hear what you are saying and I agree in theory but then what would be to stop lads booking pens and then not showing up. Unless l suppose you gave a refundable booking deposit.

It would be grand then for mart the deposit would cover the lost commission if lads were a 'no show.'

I prefer the first come system as if your willing to get up early for the good pens you should be rewarded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

Reggie. wrote: »
    I prefer the first come system as if your willing to get up early for the good pens you should be rewarded

Have to agree with you with that one. Most marts around here still work like this. No numbers ect. You arrive first you get lot one ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

Have to agree with you with that one. Most marts around here still work like this. No numbers ect. You arrive first you get lot one ect.

my prob with the first come system is when marts are big (like Tullamore will be for you tomorro Reggie) you hve to be there at 6 or 7 to get a decent early pen. Then gates don't open til 8/30 or so. You will then sell at 1 all going well. That's an awful long time for cattle standing round. Lot of weight loss and increased chance of sickness due to extra stress. Also, once booked in ya go home and come back. two runs and day gone maybe especially if ya live far away.
    If booked you know when ya be selling and ya tip over in time, unload and sell in one spin.

if no booking system, it discourages me from selling there especially if i was only going with one or two.

TUBBY wrote: »
    my prob with the first come system is when marts are big (like Tullamore will be for you tomorro Reggie) you hve to be there at 6 or 7 to get a decent early pen. Then gates don't open til 8/30 or so. You will then sell at 1 all going well. That's an awful long time for cattle standing round. Lot of weight loss and increased chance of sickness due to extra stress. Also, once booked in ya go home and come back. two runs and day gone maybe especially if ya live far away.
    If booked you know when ya be selling and ya tip over in time, unload and sell in one spin.

if no booking system, it discourages me from selling there especially if i was only going with one or two.
    I hear ya but what I don't like is the way that dealers always seem to have the upper hand in the booking system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

I hear ya but what I don't like is the way that dealers always seem to have the upper hand in the booking system
    Sadly some will always have upper hand, what's to stop a dealer coming with 1 & getting early numbers, only to bring another 50 later on while the genuine guy behind him had 4.
    Will there ever be a system fair to all?

Farrell wrote: »
    Sadly some will always have upper hand, what's to stop a dealer coming with 1 & getting early numbers, only to bring another 50 later on while the genuine guy behind him had 4.

Well in tullamore you only get numbers for the cards you have. No numbers unless the cattle are in the crush and if large volume you have to have at least half the amount of cattle brought in the first run so only 2 runs allowed

Large crowd in tullamore mart for unloading

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

Large crowd in tullamore mart for unloading
    hows trade?

Nettleman wrote: »
    hows trade?

Price is back a bit. Huge amount of cattle in the mart. 456 lots or there abouts. The glut has arrived I reckon. Large amount of over 30 months cattle passing through today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭jay gatsby

Farrell wrote: »

I don't think we should pile it all onto dealers. In most smaller marts preference for this sort of thing is given to big customers. Having a fair system is all well and good but if I ran the mart I would be damn sure to look after the lads that are there every week and generating 10's of thousands of euro for the business be they farmer or dealer. The lad like myself who flogs or buys a few a couple of times a year will just have to live with it. Its the same for banks or anywhere else you do business, the better customer you are the better you are (or should be) treated, I don't think there is anything too cloak and dagger about it. Annoying as it may be when your standing around in the mart for hours.