Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do you measure grass?

• 01-10-2014 11:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭

after the discussion on the quotas thread, i was wondering how many on here actually measure their grass. I have a guy comes in and does the walk and fills in the wedge, if he hasnt been in more than a week i do the walk myself, find agrinet great, so do ye measure or not and if not why not.

do you measure your grassland? 49 votes

yes
    0% 0 votes
    no
    32% 16 votes
    other
    67% 33 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

whelan2 wrote: »
    after the discussion on the quotas thread, i was wondering how many on here actually measure their grass. I have a guy comes in and does the walk and fills in the wedge, if he hasnt been in more than a week i do the walk myself, find agrinet great, so do ye measure or not and if not why not.
    I wouldn't be physically measuring grass only eyeballing it, I wouldn't know exactly how many kg's/h but I could tell exactly how long the grass will last a set number of animals. I have a low stocking rate so it works. I suppose with a higher stocking rate you would get more benefit from measuring and budgeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭agriman27

Most of my ground hasn't been reseeded in thirty odd years and grows patchy poor quality grass, would need to reseed a lot of ground to get nice uniform grass to measure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭einn32

Yes I have been measuring since start of year. Use the quadrat and clippers. Use agrinet to do the wedge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

einn32 wrote: »
    Yes I have been measuring since start of year. Use the quadrat and clippers. Use agrinet to do the wedge.

With the quadrant and clippers do you just place the quadrant in a random spot? Take long to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Ye see sny difference? Use clippers here too until I train myself to eyeball.
    Whelan 1 why dont you do it yourself? Id much prefer to see what way fields are growing and the like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,216 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Whelan 1 why dont you do it yourself? Id much prefer to see what way fields are growing and the like
    time..... 3 kids plenty of other stuff to be done. at least if the walk is done i know whats on each field

In theory your better off paying someone to milk or something allowing you the time to do your own farm walk.

C0N0R wrote: »
    In theory your better off paying someone to milk or something allowing you the time to do your own farm walk.
    probably true, but at the minute i am just happy the walk is being done, hopefully in a while i will have time to do it myself, all figures are on agrinet and lad doing the walk is 100%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

probably true, but at the minute i am just happy the walk is being done, hopefully in a while i will have time to do it myself, all figures are on agrinet and lad doing the walk is 100%

Is he/she a teagasc advisor...? Grassland consultant? Or just someone you trust to do a good job for you?

grassland consultant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Sucklers here and year 2 of reseeding ancient pastures. Measured last year and learned a lot. Intended to this year but just didn't get going. Wasn't in a position to benefit from it though. I know which fields are for reseeding next year and non-silage fields aren't level enough to take out surplus bales....yet. Stocking rate hadn't me under pressure.

Big fan of it though. Due to last year I planned this year's reseeding, silage and grazing plan. Knew it was tight but with confidence knew it would be ok. And it has worked out.

C0N0R wrote:
    With the quadrant and clippers do you just place the quadrant in a random spot? Take long to do?

Yes just fling it! I made it myself out of steel rods. An hour every Friday. I presume the more land the longer it takes.

Ah once ye get the eyes trained its very quick just a quick nip around.
    I just eye ball sometimes if im tok lazy to cut and weigh. Take 30 min to cover 120ac

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Used to do it when I was milking, but don't do it now. When I started I used the NZ measurement, now can't get my head around the Irish version.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Ye see sny difference? Use clippers here too until I train myself to eyeball. Whelan 1 why dont you do it yourself? Id much prefer to see what way fields are growing and the like

De father thinks its a bit if fun I do I'd say! As its my first year I can't really compare it to anything. Made a lot of extra bales from paddocks alright which I nvr seen before on our farm. I have the wedge up on the parlour board and a paddock map. I also measure graze out covers by ruler or estimate. I'd feel blind if I didn't measure now!

My father gives me a boot up the hole now if I dont measure. Cows on a 3k cover tonight. Mad man wanted to bale it :D

blue5000 wrote: »
    Used to do it when I was milking, but don't do it now. When I started I used the NZ measurement, now can't get my head around the Irish version.

From my understanding 1500 in nz is 0 here or there abouts

grassland consultant.

What sort of cost involved??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭quader

Lads what's the best way to learn to measure grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭SKIPPY150

Havent done it yet but intend to start this year. Not sure how to go about it or best way of doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

My father gives me a boot up the hole now if I dont measure. Cows on a 3k cover tonight. Mad man wanted to bale it :D
    There were some idiots baling silage down gorey direction today, which my dad spotted when he was bringing calves to enniscourthy. We were talking tonight about holding over one or two covers for calves in the winter, and he said not to hold over grass for next spring again, that it just turned yellow and rotted, and of them lads were baling now we could cut it also if needed. I nearly hit the roof and went on a big rant about feeding the fresh calvers rubbish silage etc. I think I may buy a big lock and chain for some of the paddocks I hold over this winter in case he tries to sneak afew animals in ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

quader wrote: »
    Lads what's the best way to learn to measure grass

Diss group
    Do you know someone doing it?
    Couple of guys used to call here and do walk and go home. Get us to check occasionally. If your near me I'd be glad to show you.

Try this
    Skint. 150
    5 days grazed. 400
    10 days 700
    15 900
    20 1100
    You won't be a million miles out. Careful this back end is different as gr strong. The real heavy covers tricky to call.

If you have 1 ha paddock with cover of 1500, 100 cows eating 2 kg meal they should skin that in 24 hrs. Check yourself that way. It's no different than a cattle man judging a beast, experience.

Take it that 1 cow will eat approx 17 kg per day. Subtract meal say 2 kg, now she needs 15 kg. if you have 2 cows per ha your demand is 30 kg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

No, hope to learn next spring. Going to set up more paducks and forward graze calves for the first time. Slowly getting the boss man around a few things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Understand tbe concept but not how to put into practice and would love to learn. All grasses old hear as well but that I would only affect growth/recovery rates and can be allowed for in plan I would presume? ???
    Would it be posssible for any of the 'beginners' on here to post/learn on here together. Anyone interested?? Trying to figure how it could be done this way and don't understand it enough to know.
    Would the experienced posters be willing to guide us

Would imagine it hard to learn from a screen and you need the practical or on hand experience.

C0N0R wrote: »
    What sort of cost involved??
    190/month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭skoger

just do it wrote: »
    Sucklers here and year 2 of reseeding ancient pastures. Measured last year and learned a lot. Intended to this year but just didn't get going. Wasn't in a position to benefit from it though. I know which fields are for reseeding next year and non-silage fields aren't level enough to take out surplus bales....yet. Stocking rate hadn't me under pressure.

Big fan of it though. Due to last year I planned this year's reseeding, silage and grazing plan. Knew it was tight but with confidence knew it would be ok. And it has worked out.

I'm in the same boat. A few more years draining and reseeding before it'll be worthwhile here. I don't think there's much point measuring rushes:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Ive a buddy that tells a one about some crowd that set up boxes that had to be visited and a button pushed twice a week on farms in nz.at the end of the year they found the farmers that had the best record for ticking the boxes also had the best performance. The point is its not that important what system you use for watching grass production its the fact you are watching it and acting in time that makes the difference. Personally I dont do wedges many times but im always watching how long it takes to graze a paddock.then that iscompared to what rotation lenght I require at different times in the year during the main season I always like to keep it at 21 plus as this is dry farm growth will often crash.in the spring and autumn its 60 days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Imo the walk is as important as the measuring, keeps you up to date with other issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

a neighbour id of learnt a lot off through the years ddosnt do profit monitors or measure grass or anything like that.Finest of sheds in yard .Cracking herd of cows .Really excellent grass quality,produced 7k litr average cows las year with solids of 4.38 fat and 3.56 p on i.3 tonne of meal.He keeps things simple.Walks farm twice a week and works off how long cows will get in each paddock,Wraps as much surpluses as i did over summer,cows out to grass after calving.serious stock man though and fussy as fook as to what he breeds his cows to.Classified herd ai bred and milk records.
    Financially he records every cent he spends in a note book and gives an hour every friday night recording money in v money out and general book work,for the record i measure grass and do profit monitors but this guy would make u think.He is way more clued in even though he rarely uses tegasc or any of above tools than a lot of young bucks comming through now that eat sleep and breed the latest theories and methods.Life experience and cop on .Cant beat it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

190/month
    :eek: how often does he call?

Sam Kade wrote: »
    :eek: how often does he call?

3or 4 times a month. Don't think its that expensive when you take into account the increase in solids/yield. Hopefully next year I will have time to do it myself

Does he have many clients? That wouldn't be a bad side business

Ye a good few. He did ag science in ucd and specialised in grassland measurement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

No, hope to learn next spring. Going to set up more paducks and forward graze calves for the first time. Slowly getting the boss man around a few things.

Start now why wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

mahoney_j wrote: »
    a neighbour id of learnt a lot off through the years ddosnt do profit monitors or measure grass or anything like that.Finest of sheds in yard .Cracking herd of cows .Really excellent grass quality,produced 7k litr average cows las year with solids of 4.38 fat and 3.56 p on i.3 tonne of meal.He keeps things simple.Walks farm twice a week and works off how long cows will get in each paddock,Wraps as much surpluses as i did over summer,cows out to grass after calving.serious stock man though and fussy as fook as to what he breeds his cows to.Classified herd ai bred and milk records.
    Financially he records every cent he spends in a note book and gives an hour every friday night recording money in v money out and general book work,for the record i measure grass and do profit monitors but this guy would make u think.He is way more clued in even though he rarely uses tegasc or any of above tools than a lot of young bucks comming through now that eat sleep and breed the latest theories and methods.Life experience and cop on .Cant beat it

Wrong he is measuring grass just recording it in a different manner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

milkprofit wrote: »
    Wrong he is measuring grass just recording it in a different manner

Agreed! When we say grass measure, how many of us are actually going out and clipping and weighting grass? Very few I'd guess, however the most of us can eyeball covers fairly well, and still manage grass to a high degree. The actually measuring of grass in any case is useless on its own, its how you use that information to better manage your grass that's key, if you can already manage grass to a good level without actually putting figures on it (which sounds like what your friend Mahoney is doing), then that's perfectly fine! However where the teagasc approach, of actually putting numbers on it (kgs/ha,AFC,CC etc) is invaluable is to these "young bucks", to let them get up to speed much quicker with proper grass manage better.

Didn't someone on here have a wellie with the measurements marked on it for grass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

Didn't someone on here have a wellie with the measurements marked on it for grass

Mark the wellie in accordance with this. Works well for me, although not entirely scientific. Trains eye, main thing is after paddock grazed, compare what you forecast with actual, then adjust eye for next time.
    As the coaches used to say: Practice, practice, practice...

IMG_5889.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭PatQfarmer

PatQfarmer wrote: »
    Mark the wellie in accordance with this. Works well for me, although not entirely scientific. Trains eye, main thing is after paddock grazed, compare what you forecast with actual, then adjust eye for next time.
    As the coaches used to say: Practice, practice, practice...

IMG_5889.JPG

For clarity, the pic is an inverse of what you put on boot. Turn it upside down and mark from heel upwards.

Ye a good few. He did ag science in ucd and specialised in grassland measurement

Well worth it as not only is he measuring, he's also bringing his knowledge to the table as well. He's also measuring a number of other farms which gives you a good yardstick. Great value I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭zetorman

Tried this clipping and weighing but gave it up as too much variation between dry paddocks, wet, boggy etc.
    My guide has always been rotation length. Keep good record of day into and day out of paddock.
    21 days seems to be the golden rule. If you are gaining time i.e climbing up 22, 23 etc you need to skip a paddock or two. If it going the other way i.e 20, 19 etc you need more fert.
    Not a perfect system but it takes the worry out of it especially if you getting short of grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

Yeah measuring grass with plate meter here over 200ha, takes a desperate long time but certainly couldn't do without it. Most important thing is looking at APC and Growth per day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭solwhit2

Looking at the poll results I'm not the only one who don't measure grass but barring a few posters the other night I thought i got awful abuse about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

solwhit2 wrote: »
    Looking at the poll results I'm not the only one who don't measure grass but barring a few posters the other night I thought i got awful abuse about it.

I don't either when it's ate it's ate move on next field,but I'm using temp electric to have all fields in or around same size.
    So I wouldn't say I'm measuring it just utilising it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Coonagh

solwhit2 wrote: »

You didn't get any abuse about not measuring grass, it was your comments regarding Teagasc that you were taken up on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭jfh

that's not too bad, if you had to do it for a few months until you know how to do it yourself.
    i'm trying to change our grazing platform, complete overhaul, we're out of dairy for a good while so not in paddocks anymore. i was talking to a well known grass consultancy at the ploughing & it was 200 euro per visit, one per month.
    so you're getting a visit for roughly 50 euro, would you mind PM'ing me your guy, might give him a shout.
    thanks

jfh wrote: »
    that's not too bad, if you had to do it for a few months until you know how to do it yourself.
    i'm trying to change our grazing platform, complete overhaul, we're out of dairy for a good while so not in paddocks anymore. i was talking to a well known grass consultancy at the ploughing & it was 200 euro per visit, one per month.
    so you're getting a visit for roughly 50 euro, would you mind PM'ing me your guy, might give him a shout.
    thanks

Once a month kind of defeats the purpose :confused: