Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carrying Cash when buying a car.. ?

• 29-09-2014 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32

Hi guys, I usually buy cheap, small engine, student-type of cars, and now i feel its time to go big, so i am thinking of buying a car in the region of 3000euros or more.
    Now how would I pay for it, should I carry 50e notes worth 3grand in my hand.. ? Its might take me about a week to withdraw it.., anyway !!
    I don't have cheque book.. !! How do you do it usually.. ? transfer in his account.. ? would he let me to.. ? usually the viewing are in the afternoon or weekend, when bank are closed.. !!

some advice would be helpfull !!
    Many Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

It's a private sale I assume?

Once the sale is agreed, I would hand over the money in a public place. In the actual bank or in the local Garda station(make them aware of the transaction) and make sure you get a signed receipt.

I would then drive down to the nearest postbox and make sure the logbook is posted off where it needs to go.

Take no chances, bring a family member or someone you trust along. A legit seller with nothing to hide won't object to any of these precautions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 se

Thanks Moneymaker, my biggest general question is ? do people who go buy second hand car, worth 3,4,5grand.. take money in cash.. ?? because its a pain first to withdraw all that money, it might take weeks, since my minimum withdrawal is 600 a day.. !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Go into the bank they will take it all out for you in one lump :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's crazy trying to withdraw that sort of money from an ATM. Once you have viewed and agreed to buy the ca, go into your bank and withdrawn the money and then either arrange to meet the seller at a local Garda station or arrange to meet them in their bank and lodge the cash into their account at the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,144 ✭✭✭✭kippy

se wrote: »
    Thanks Moneymaker, my biggest general question is ? do people who go buy second hand car, worth 3,4,5grand.. take money in cash.. ?? because its a pain first to withdraw all that money, it might take weeks, since my minimum withdrawal is 600 a day.. !!

Generally private sellers will only accept cash so yes, people do it all the time.

Best thing to do is go into the bank in person and advise them you require to take out the money in cash in one transaction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

kippy wrote: »
    Generally private sellers will only accept cash so yes, people do it all the time.

Best thing to do is go into the bank in person and advise them you require to take out the money in cash in one transaction.

Agreed. No chance on money orders or bankdrafts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 se

thanks guys, i think i got it now.. !! Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

Usually pay cash. Current car was 4.5k and paid cash. I always insist on going back to sellers house though. That way you know where they live. Would never hand cash over in public place.

Don't imagine guards want private transactions taking place in the station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Give the seller cash - easy. This craic of going to Garda stations or holding each other's hand in the bank is a bit OTT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Give the seller cash - easy. This craic of going to Garda stations or holding each other's hand in the bank is a bit OTT.

For a few hundred quid yeah, for a couple of grand hell no.

Why chance it?

Moneymaker wrote: »

Why chance it?

Chance what? Getting mugged in the sellers house. Here is the way it goes:

View car
    Agree price (at sellers house, not car park)
    Arrange to call back a day or 2 later with the cash.

What's the risk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Last time I sold a car the guy came to view, liked it and we met in a bank a couple days later. (I needed the car a couple days more)
    He paid into my account through one of those self-help machines inside the bank and I sent the paperwork off to Shannon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

It's a private sale I assume?

Once the sale is agreed, I would hand over the money in a public place. In the actual bank or in the local Garda station(make them aware of the transaction) and make sure you get a signed receipt.
    If you were going to that extreme it would make more sense to pay by bank draft then go with the seller to the bank while he cashes it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Sam Kade wrote: »
    If you were going to that extreme it would make more sense to pay by bank draft then go with the seller to the bank while he cashes it.
    Who'd accept a bank draft for a couple of thousand for your car, from a stranger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭fmcg_scribe

Sam Kade wrote: »

Most banks are not so keen on bank drafts. There used to be too much fraud associated with cheques and bank drafts and that's why they gone out of fashion - instead, banks have steered us towards electronic funds transfer, credit and debit cards, and cash.

Why chance it?

What are you chancing though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭creedp

What are you chancing though?

A number of years back when I had money! - I bought a car in the UK for stg15k. I withdrew the money in cash from the bank - in £20 notes as that was all the bank had - and once deal agreed with garage went down to the local bank and lodged to garage account. I was never so relieved to part with cash as I was paranoid of being mugged by everyone that walked past. There's a lot to be said for e-transfers but its difficult when you're dealing wiht a non-domestic bank - at least it was then.

creedp wrote: »
    A number of years back when I had money! - I bought a car in the UK for stg15k. I withdrew the money in cash from the bank - in £20 notes as that was all the bank had - and once deal agreed with garage went down to the local bank and lodged to garage account. I was never so relieved to part with cash as I was paranoid of being mugged by everyone that walked past. There's a lot to be said for e-transfers but its difficult when you're dealing wiht a non-domestic bank - at least it was then.

OK but what makes you paranoid? Do you get mugged normally when walking down the street? Why is it any more likely you get mugged just because you've some cash on you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 700 ✭✭✭mikeyjames9

christy02 wrote: »
    Chance what? Getting mugged in the sellers house. Here is the way it goes:

View car
    Agree price (at sellers house, not car park)
    Arrange to call back a day or 2 later with the cash.

What's the risk?

you don't have the money handy for bargaining

or car gets sold 2 someone else next day

you don't have the money handy for bargaining

or car gets sold 2 someone else next day

But this thread is talking about meeting up in a garda station or bank with money.
    You can leave a deposit or if its a weekday go to bank and draw money out then.

Last car I bought I agreed a price I was happy with, left 500 euro deposit and went back 3 days later to pick up car. I couldnt take it then anyway as I had a car with me at the time.

I knew where he lived as I went back to his house to give him money for deposit. Hardly going to scam me for 500 when I knew where he lived. Not worth the trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,301 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

christy02 wrote: »
    But this thread is talking about meeting up in a garda station or bank with money.
    You can leave a deposit or if its a weekday go to bank and draw money out then.

Last car I bought I agreed a price I was happy with, left 500 euro deposit and went back 3 days later to pick up car. I couldnt take it then anyway as I had a car with me at the time.

I knew where he lived as I went back to his house to give him money for deposit. Hardly going to scam me for 500 when I knew where he lived. Not worth the trouble.

If I was selling/buying a car privately I sure as hell wouldn't do it from my own house. And I wouldn't be giving anyone a deposit either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Hachiko

how exactly would you do it it so, over a cup of tea in a garda station or a bank? I went to the sellers house to get my car in England, a 08 lexus. his kids were running around, he made me a cuppa and was honest enough not to take money till i had my insurance called up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭darragh o meara

Hachiko wrote: »
    how exactly would you do it it so, over a cup of tea in a garda station or a bank? I went to the sellers house to get my car in England, a 08 lexus. his kids were running around, he made me a cuppa and was honest enough not to take money till i had my insurance called up.

The English tend to be like that, last English car I bought, the seller met me at the airport,let mqe drive the car back to his house and offered to drive me back if I wasnt happy with the car ( which I was ) back at the house I was offered tea and dinner. When I told them I couldn't really stop as I was heading for the ferry, his wife went off a d made a few sandwiches for me to take with me. In regards to paying for the car, we both went down to his local bank and I lidged it to his account.

Anyway , back on topic.. Personally I'd bring the cash with me, but I'd have one or two mates with me in case things went south. There's been a good few incidents where people go to look at cars and subsequently get robbed. If your worried, Give the cash to a mate who will be nearby, once you've dissed out the situation, give him a buzz and ask him to come over.

Btw. Make sure and buy your mate a pint afterwards or some token of your appreciation, I done something similar for someone recently and he never even said thanks.. even after I drove a fair distance on my own petrol.... I'm still waiting for something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

I'm another person who gives the cash to a mate who is only 5 or 10 minutes away. Once you are happy and the deal is done, phone your mate to bring the cash. A genuine seller will wait the 10 minutes for the cash to arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭bodonnell

Sold a car a few years ago, young lad arrived at the house with bag of cash (17k) he just withdrew from cu, gave him receipt, no issues.