Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VW flywheel

• 29-09-2014 2:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,741 ✭✭✭

To add to my 08 Golf's hall of shame - previous entries being replacing the front wheel bearings, the air con unit going kaput & the engine blowing up (see http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=86078488) - there now appears to be a problem with the flywheel.

There's been a rattling noise for some time now when sitting idle. Pressing down on the clutch has an effect on it depending on how hard you press down. It seems to be getting worse so I've done some Googling and listened to a few youtube clips of bad flywheels and I'm 99% sure that's what the problem is.

Does anyone know would this be something that would be covered under the engine warranty or am I facing another costly repair/replacement job? We got a 3 year warranty on it when the replacement engine was fitted a year ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

It's nothing to do with the engine so won't be covered under warranty.

Hindsight is great I know but it would have been a good idea to replace it while the engine job was being done.

It will cost you around €750 using an independent garage, dealer will obviously be more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,741 ✭✭✭Bacchus

It's nothing to do with the engine so won't be covered under warranty.

Hindsight is great I know but it would have been a good idea to replace it while the engine job was being done.

It will cost you around €750 using an independent garage, dealer will obviously be more.

Thanks. Not the answer I was hoping for but at least I know where I roughly stand before going back to the garage. We've a pretty good relationship with the dealer we bought from so hopefully they'll be kind. This pushes us past the 5k mark in money spent on this car in the past 12 months... not to mention the air con unit that died this Summer :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Out of curiosity did vw cover the replacement engine or how much did it cost you. Im just curious as I have the same car. I assume it was a brand new engine you got. But as was said there's not a hope of them covering a flywheel and best to do the clutch with the flywheel.

Bpmull wrote: »
    Out of curiosity did vw cover the replacement engine or how much did it cost you. Im just curious as I have the same car. I assume it was a brand new engine you got. But as was said there's not a hope of them covering a flywheel and best to do the clutch with the flywheel.

They covered half the cost on a brand new engine. Still a huge chunk of cash but we rationalized it by thinking we'd get more years out of it as a 2nd car when the time comes that we need a 2nd car.

... and then the wheel bearings went... and then the air con went... and it looks like a new flywheel and possibly clutch is needed.

BTW, how urgent would it be to change the flywheel? We won't be up home (where we got the car and expect to get a good price on replacement) for a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

Not urgent at all. Most people let them rattle away for months before they change them.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

The air con went on my 08 golf this year too. And the cat was replaced. Gearbox problems. The engine light was on so much that when it was off I assumed it was broken. Then the timing chain needed done. So I admitted defeat and traded it in. That ****ing ****ing car.

I'm on the fence myself. I could go to that garage and do a trade in. I know they'd do me a decent deal (just avoid any UK imports) but we'd still be stumping up a few grand to get something decent we could have for the long term while also keeping one eye on the fact we'll need a second car sometime in the next 1-2 years.

On flip side, I feel that if we fix this, then everything that needs to be replaced has been and maybe we're out of the woods leaving us with a decent 2nd car to do us the next decade... until the next thing goes.

As you said... that ****ing ****ing car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

Bacchus wrote: »

I'm on the fence myself. I could go to that garage and do a trade in. I know they'd do me a decent deal (just avoid any UK imports) but we'd still be stumping up a few grand to get something decent we could have for the long term while also keeping one eye on the fact we'll need a second car sometime in the next 1-2 years.

Why avoid imports?

Gazzmonkey wrote: »
    Why avoid imports?

Oh there's very little logic to it but 3 cars bought...
    2 Irish - no problem
    1 UK - pain & suffering

If you want to add some logic, it complicated the process of chasing VW for assistance when the engine blew because the car was a UK import and "VW Ireland" and "VW UK" are separate entities.

That's a fair point I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

Whatever hope you have with good will from the UK on a VW, you have very little hope of goodwill here.

The ESP fault for instance is covered on all ex UK cars. Not the ROI equivalent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭John T Carroll

On flip side, I feel that if we fix this, then everything that needs to be replaced has been and maybe we're out of the woods leaving us with a decent 2nd car to do us the next decade... until the next thing goes.

As you said... that ****ing ****ing car.

I know this is a long shot but the garage diagnostic scan should show if the car has been "clocked" ie the odometer wound back but not the ECU. The scan will only show this on some models but it should show it on a 2008 Golf, I got hold of a VCDS and scanned my daughters 2008 1.4 TSI Passat and it showed "154900 Km 96250 MI", the odometer was slightly different but up to 5% difference is acceptable.If your car has been clocked then there will (hopefully) be a big difference between the scan and the odometer.

It's not clocked anyway. I did a diagnostic on it before when the air blower stopped working (that turned out to be a simple resistor replacement) and didn't see anything out of order. I can ask the garage if they can double check though. I'm dropping it in tomorrow. Fingers crossed it all goes smoothly.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Not urgent at all. Most people let them rattle away for months before they change them.

Mine rattled away for 3 and a half years and roughly 140k miles before i changed mine. :D

jonny24ie wrote: »
    Mine rattled away for 3 and a half years and roughly 140k miles before i changed mine. :D

It's an odd one alright, I've spoken to three garages (including two I know are decent) and all 3 could not definitively say how urgent it was. They wouldn't even say if I'd make it down the end of the road without doing some real damage (whatever that may be). General consensus was to get it seen to sooner rather than later. If nothing else, I'll be happy to be rid of that awful rattle.

FrontDoor wrote: »
    Whatever hope you have with good will from the UK on a VW, you have very little hope of goodwill here.

The ESP fault for instance is covered on all ex UK cars. Not the ROI equivalent.

Tell me more, I had to pay Audi north Dublin €600 euro to fix my ESP fault !!!

She's a UK spec B8 A4, VRT'd of course :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I would like to know about the ESP fault too as mine is a UK import and ESP lisght is now on all the time so I think my unit is fecked.

It's an odd one alright, I've spoken to three garages (including two I know are decent) and all 3 could not definitively say how urgent it was. They wouldn't even say if I'd make it down the end of the road without doing some real damage (whatever that may be). General consensus was to get it seen to sooner rather than later. If nothing else, I'll be happy to be rid of that awful rattle.

Well my rattle didnt get any louder over the 3 odd years so I left it. Started to get slightly louder and I had a few quid to spare so got it done. You could also look at getting a solid flywheel fitted which is much cheaper.

It would be cheaper to fit but your gearbox would be giving out about it.

How so?

How so?

The gearbox would receive savage vibrations I've been led to believe :)

I know a few people that swapped out and no problem at all. One of them is even a mechanic and he loves the solid over the DMF for some reason.

Probably has a different feel to it then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I wouldn't bother with them. People seem to think that if you swap a dmf with an smf that it will have no effect on the car. It does big time you get a lot of vibration through the clutch all the time almost like a failing dmf. I wouldn't ever bother with an smf my parents had an octavia 1.9 tdi with the smf conversion and I didn't like it at all. Around town it was annoying a lot of vibration everytime you went into first and moved off no matter what way you let out the clutch. If your going to change the flywheel replace it with what's in it not a kind of half arsed smf conversion.

Tell me more, I had to pay Audi north Dublin €600 euro to fix my ESP fault !!!

She's a UK spec B8 A4, VRT'd of course :)
    I would like to know about the ESP fault too as mine is a UK import and ESP lisght is now on all the time so I think my unit is fecked.

I just realised after a few weeks of searching, this apparently applies only to VW cars, not Audi :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭FrontDoor

I just realised after a few weeks of searching, this apparently applies only to VW cars, not Audi :(
    Are you sure about that?

The ESP in UK VWs will be fixed FOC in NI dealers. I would have thought it applied to Audis also?

Are you sure about that?

The ESP in UK VWs will be fixed FOC in NI dealers. I would have thought it applied to Audis also?

I thought so too but after nearly a month of searching I couldn't find a shred of evidence that Audi's were also covered. :(