Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting started - Rifle and game recommendations.

• 27-09-2014 4:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭

MOD NOTE: Split form original thread.

I see, so I need a proper gun.

What gun do you recommend for vermin control?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

What gun do you recommend for vermin control?

Ruger 10/22

Give us an idea as to what kind of vermin: rats, birds, foxes...

Have you ever shot before? What would you like to do in the future in shooting.

Generally speaking, the 10/22 is a great all around gun. It is a great gun with which to be introduced to shooting and one that you can advance with.

In the States, you can spend $200 or $2000 on one. I have several $200 bog standard factory models that shoot as accurate and precise as any 22lr out there.

The 10/22 has a following like no other firearm. I doubt there is a better supported firearm ever made.

You may not care about a 15moa rail, Timney Trigger, McMillan stock, or recoil buffer now. However, as you grow into and enjoy shooting as a sport, you'll want more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Boyne fisher

I have only shot once or twice I would want ta shoot fox rabbit and magpie + crow what gun for the job do u recommend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

I have only shot once or twice I would want ta shoot fox rabbit and magpie + crow what gun for the job do u recommend

10/22 is perfect for rabbit. It will do for ambushing crows and magpies. However, a shotgun would be nice for the birds.

The 22lr is going to be a bit anemic for the fox. Charlie deserves something faster and more massive, like the 223. However, a 243 would be grand for foxes.

If you ever want to take large game like deer, the 223 will not be allowed whereas the 243 will.

The range of the game you are looking at is difficult to find one round that will do it all.

The 22lr will take a fox when used at closer ranges in the hands of a trained shooter. However, it's slower speed and less massive bullets leave little room for other than well placed shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭sniperman

.22 for all the above within range,up to 80-90 yards,best gun to learn the basics,worked for me.

Thanks ever one all so helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭killintime

the .22 is a good all rounder but the cz range in 17 an .22 you can cant go to wrong in that range for 1st rifle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭gunny558

Im suprised nobody has mentioned a shotgun. Its ideal for your needs.

With a 22lr you're kinda underpowered for fox. You'll need to lure him up fairly close and have pretty good shot placement and even then you still mightened always drop him on the first shot. If your going for a rifle for fox you really should be looking at something with more kick like a .223 (the only downside is it will cost a lot more €€€ to feed than .22lr).

For birds, the shotgun is probably better. Yeh some lads do go out with rifles, but they can only shoot birds that have actually landed and are on the ground- cant shoot birds in the air or on trees etc. Ask any of the lads in your club (or lads on here) if you really want to shoot crows/magpies you to want to get a hide, with a few decoys and a shotgun. Ive seen days were we cleared over 100 birds in an evening with a shotgun.

The rabbits. A 22lr would be the best option if all you wanted to do was shoot rabbits it would be the gun Id recommend. But its at odds with your wanting to shoot fox and birds. If you use a .223 theres no real way to silence it (yeh you could buy a mod but they are expensive and in the case of rabbits- still not quite enough) so you only have 1 shot before you scare everything off.

I think a shotgun is your best option. The only thing you wont be able to shoot with a shotgun is deer. If you go for a rifle you lose out big time on crows/magpies (and ducks/pheasents are completely off limits for rifles if you ever want to try that in the future).

The only drawback really to the shotgun would be the rabbits. You'd only be looking at 3 or 4 rabbits a night whereas the 22lr you'd be looking at 20 and 30 a night.

I see so a shotgun would be my best bet wat type of shotgun ? Sorry for all the questions .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭oldtart

I see so a shotgun would be my best bet wat type of shotgun ? Sorry for all the questions .

A well looked after 2nd hand Beretta or Browning, €1000-1500.

Well to be honest, I started out with a baikal shotgun that cost under £100 (punts). It didnt look pretty but it was a damn good gun all the same and I was never worried about getting it wet or getting it scratched. Two years later I traded it in and got a nice Beretta. The Beretta, as oldtart said, can be quite expensive but they are a fantastic gun. However I would think it would be a huge pity if you jumped into an expensive gun first. If you get a cheap second hand one you wont be afraid to get it scratched and will just march on through the fields and through ditches etc. When you get an expensive shotgun it always be playing on your mind "will I get the gun scratched if I go that way". My advice is just get something something cheap to start out with and have some fun.

As for type of shotgun- Im not an expert by any means, but I think a double barrel (over and under) would see you off to a decent start.

Have a look on sportsden and see is there anything that grabs your fancy and then report back here and the lads will steer you right regarding make/model...

www . sportsden.ie/guns/gun-showroom/shotguns.html

I don't wanna spend loads of money on a gun under 150 if possible want do yA think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭Varmint Shooter

I don't wanna spend loads of money on a gun under 150 if possible want do yA think

You're looking at a gun cabinet €150ish & a licence €80 before you buy the gun even. Plenty of s/h firearms in dealers at the moment. Go & have a look in your local dealers.

I dont mean to put you off... but shooting is not a cheap sport.

The licence is 80 euro alone. Then a competency course that could be another 50-80ish euro depends on where you get it.

Its highly recommended you get insurance. Thats another 60ish(?) with NARGC... and then club fees (if you dont know anyone with a bit of land) again depends on the club but probably around 60ish and you might get hit with first time member fee that some clubs have.

If the Garda push you to get a safe theres another 120euro or so....

All this has to be paid before you start looking at a gun, camo gear, callers, slings, belts, decoys, lights, cartridges etc

As for the gun, if you want to spend less than 150 then your options are kinda limited. That baikal I told you about well you'll definitely get one of those for that money and its not a bad choice for a beginner. I see sportsden have one:

www . sportsden.ie/guns/gun-showroom/shotguns/baikel-28-single-barrell.html

But I dont think Ive ever met a dealer that doesnt have half a dozen old shotguns lying at the back of the safe that havent seen the light of day in years so Id go talk to your local lad and see what he has.

Ino loads of people with acre upon acre of land in Midlands and in my back garden there is a club 4 kms away if u are in a club do u not have insurance

Looks like the pm system is down. Im going to take a guess you're in Drogheda? If thats the case I'll send you a number (whenever the pm sysetm is back up) of a lad in that direction whos very pro-active in trying to get new people into the sport. He'd take you out and show you the ropes and help you get your licence etc....

No I don't live in drohada I live in meath :)

Ino loads of people with acre upon acre of land in Midlands and in my back garden there is a club 4 kms away if u are in a club do u not have insurance

The opposite actually. The clubs will be more inclined to push you for insurance. Id nearly say most clubs in the country have rules saying its mandatory that all members have to be insured.

If you just use land permission (instead of a club) then you could get by without insurance.... but you'll probably find farmers wont want you on their land incase you fall etc. And if god forbid you ever do have an accident with the gun and injure yourself or someone else... yeh its 60euro youd rather have in your pocket.... but at the end of the day its money well spent.

Again. Theres no law saying you need insurance so its personal preference whether you want it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

When you join an NARGC club as most gun clubs are you do not buy insurance. You have to become a member of the NARGC indemnity fund which will be part of your membership subs. The fund provides some personal injury cover and covers your third party liabilities in case of accidents like an insurance company would with the big difference that it's not ran on a for profit basis but for the members' interests and long term viability rather than short term share holder's interests.