Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Round bales barley straw

• 22-09-2014 8:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭

What money is it making out West delivered anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

What money is it making out West delivered anyone know?

id say circa 23/24e/bale depending how far west

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

simx wrote: »
    id say circa 23/24e/bale depending how far west

Wet feet West.

full load of straw? i can pm you number of my man if you wish, he does be over west a good bit, he could give you a better estimate than me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

€19 a bale barley straw delivered here.

full load of straw? i can pm you number of my man if you wish, he does be over west a good bit, he could give you a better estimate than me

Unfortunately only need 14 bales, would be a lot easier if I needed a full load. Am just messing about with some figures at the moment.

arent ya lucky ya dont need a full load at that kind of money, 60 odd bales @ 23e/bale would add up into a nice few pound, i thought i was paying enough @12e/bale delivered this year, i have been told before that i was everything for nothing lol, better in my pocket if possible :D

€20+ would see me alter my current plan, will have to take a spin to the mart some day and throw some digs at the usual hawkers see what money they're looking for.

I'd be the same as yourself, buying it all for free :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Holy god is that what yeer paying?
    And I sold 600 for €8!
    The cost of travel I guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

And I sold 600 for €8!

Perhaps that's why my cousin buys and drives up lorry loads!!

.Kovu. wrote: »
    Perhaps that's why my cousin buys and drives up lorry loads!!

the man i buy off told me that an elderly woman told him once he was expoliting the people of the west :D

And I sold 600 for €8!

Talked to a local fella this evening, he thought 20-25, with it being sold for 6 off the field in Offaly.

He's not a dealer, but I'm not willing to pay that money for straw. Will need to do further digging and reevaluate the plan.

the man i buy off told me that an elderly woman told him once he was expoliting the people of the west :D

Ah the worst is the half pan small bales that are "baled for sale". If I had my way it'd be fines and jail for that craic, no better than fraud IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Straw here were €12 collected off field. Well packed tho

Ah the worst is the half pan small bales that are "baled for sale". If I had my way it'd be fines and jail for that craic, no better than fraud IMO.

I know what ya mean, he gets rounds rebaled into small sqs, built onto a curtainsider and at least two of these loads(550 bales-2/3 hay 1/3 straw) to a yard in Mayo and lad sells them from there

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Some lads are cleaning up there €6-25 in a day, I paid a tenner delivered, but barley crops were a lot shorter this year and there is only 2/3 the amount of bales off the same fields compared to last year.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

blue5000 wrote: »
    Some lads are cleaning up there €6-25 in a day, I paid a tenner delivered, but barley crops were a lot shorter this year and there is only 2/3 the amount of bales off the same fields compared to last year.

Ya sure about that? Monster crops of straw all around here this year... Everything I was in was 8 well packed bales an acre minimum... And I'm yet to hear of any of it selling for €6, maybe if you were buying it on the ledge per bale, but then you've to add bailing on top

There was a fleese of straw this year. 11 bales acre.
    7 euro cheapest I seen

Zr105 wrote: »
    Ya sure about that? Monster crops of straw all around here this year... Everything I was in was 8 well packed bales an acre minimum... And I'm yet to hear of any of it selling for €6, maybe if you were buying it on the ledge per bale, but then you've to add bailing on top
    There was a fleese of straw this year. 11 bales acre.
    7 euro cheapest I seen

Are you lads in the south east? Around here ppl are back with straw compared to last year. Different parts of the country get different weather I suppose, here in n Tipp a fair bit of straw goes across the shannon.

Ah yeah I'm in Wexford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Yeah, well southeast-East really, all heavy crops of straw, a lot of stuff from around this way travelling North and west!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

Lots of straw available this year.Not enough customers though.

6 to 8 euro will prob. buy barley straw off the field where people just want to clear the field.Sheds are full of the stuff at the moment.Biggest job is finding somewhere to store it.

Was offered spring wheaten straw this week(4x4 rounds) for free,just take a load or two to clear the field.Know this was from a friend but he was willing to shift it at a price that would just cover the baling.

Thats in the south east by the way.Haulage is gonna cost about a euro a mile ;both ways unless you can find someone looking for a back load.

Hadn't hauliers some type of aid removed from them in recent years, or was it attempted to remove it, can't quite remember. Euro a mile from SE to here and back, oh dear.

They never had aid as far as I know.Think they got some rebate on diesel a while ago but unsure of whether its still going.

To come from say Galway to here is prob. 4 hours in a truck plus 2 hours to load and strap(presuming bales are ready to load easily)plus 4 hours back.
    Take an hour for grub and you are looking at a good day for labour.Thats without diesel at ?6 miles to the gallon?
    Sold a good bit of hay and straw to a man from near Lough Corrib many years ago and he always allowed it was a long long from when he left home till he returned that night.Add in the toll plus diesel and wear and tear and no real money in it.

The cost of diesel is killing it, isn't there a new height restriction as well? Twud be easier send a boatload from wexford round to galway:o

Ah yes, the rebate, that is what I was thinking of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Night Nav

With those prices for round bales one would wonder paying €30 or less for a 8x4x3 big square bale which is equivelant to 2 round bales and a few neighbouring farmers take full load of straw between them all

Night Nav wrote: »
    With those prices for round bales one would wonder paying €30 or less for a 8x4x3 big square bale which is equivelant to 2 round bales and a few neighbouring farmers take full load of straw between them all

I'd prefer big squares myself, better load on truck too, but most here would baulk at the thought, lack of machinery to handle. I've no machinery either but wouldn't let that become a problem.

The cost of diesel is killing it, isn't there a new height restriction as well? Twud be easier send a boatload from wexford round to galway:o

Did they not get rid of the height restriction for hay and straw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭Night Nav

Did they not get rid of the height restriction for hay and straw?

Height restriction gone again for hay and straw but it not a problem with big square bales

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I used to go to a neighbouring county and buy a cattle box of small square bales before. Used to fit 50 of them between 12x6 ifor and back of jeep. Used to buy them at a reasonable price. Trouble is when diesal was added in made them expensive.
    Luckily found a guy that grows it within a few miles from me. now get a tractor load of rounds bales delivered into the yard. Lasts me a year or two. Way cheaper and no messing. Only downside is the squares are easier to work with, Other then that cannt complain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

They never had aid as far as I know.Think they got some rebate on diesel a while ago but unsure of whether its still going.

To come from say Galway to here is prob. 4 hours in a truck plus 2 hours to load and strap(presuming bales are ready to load easily)plus 4 hours back.
    Take an hour for grub and you are looking at a good day for labour.Thats without diesel at ?6 miles to the gallon?
    Sold a good bit of hay and straw to a man from near Lough Corrib many years ago and he always allowed it was a long long from when he left home till he returned that night.Add in the toll plus diesel and wear and tear and no real money in it.

The trick is to get a lad that will collect them as a back load. I have heard that you can get back loads for around 2-400 euro depending on distance. You might that get as many bales up if a curtainsider but if you got 40 round bales at 240 on a back load then that adds 6/bale for transport. If buying at 9/bale you have them in the yard at 15/bale.

I heard that hay was ver cheap in tillage area's as well. That it could be got for 10-12/bale any truth to that. Might consider a load but need to store same.

The trick is to get a lad that will collect them as a back load. I have heard that you can get back loads for around 2-400 euro depending on distance. You might that get as many bales up if a curtainsider but if you got 40 round bales at 240 on a back load then that adds 6/bale for transport. If buying at 9/bale you have them in the yard at 15/bale.

Now there's an idea :cool:

I heard that hay was ver cheap in tillage area's as well. That it could be got for 10-12/bale any truth to that. Might consider a load but need to store same.

Didn't hear of any being sold that cheap.To be honest you would wonder at the quality if someone is willing to sell for as little.

Sold some here(85 4x4 bales) for 1400 euro in real money collected in the yard.Thats about 16.50 a bale but it was off a field I got the grass on for free,just to cut it and take it off.Got perfect weather and well saved.Ok stuff but not a lot of feeding value in it to be honest.

Offered straw(spring wheaten) today at 6 collected or take it all for a fiver or a little less.Thats collected off the field.
    Lots of straw still out down here.Just in for the tea after shedding the last for people today.
    Well hope so as starting to get fed up of bouncing around on rock hard stubbles being covered in dust cause no air con in the loader tractor so its back window open all day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Didn't hear of any being sold that cheap.To be honest you would wonder at the quality if someone is willing to sell for as little.

Sold some here(85 4x4 bales) for 1400 euro in real money collected in the yard.Thats about 16.50 a bale but it was off a field I got the grass on for free,just to cut it and take it off.Got perfect weather and well saved.Ok stuff but not a lot of feeding value in it to be honest.

Offered straw(spring wheaten) today at 6 collected or take it all for a fiver or a little less.Thats collected off the field.
    Lots of straw still out down here.Just in for the tea after shedding the last for people today.
    Well hope so as starting to get fed up of bouncing around on rock hard stubbles being covered in dust cause no air con in the loader tractor so its back window open all day!

A lot depends if lads have storage or not. Most sheds down there seem to be full. It is now late September. How long will weather last. Better than having to stick in a ditch and rot. Even if I bought now would not be using that hay this year and maybe not next year either. But if it was landing into me at less than 17/ bale I be willing to chance same. It was at a discussion meeting a few weeks ago lads mentioned that it was that cheap off the field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

€11 for barley straw 4by 4 collected or 14 delivered around here. Usually get a load delivered from the tillage areas in January and have never got more than 75% of the straw that would be in a local bale....often wondered how they stayed together

rangler1 wrote: »
    €11 for barley straw 4by 4 collected or 14 delivered around here. Usually get a load delivered from the tillage areas in January and have never got more than 75% of the straw that would be in a local bale....often wondered how they stayed together

Some awful soft sh*ti out there all right.They are a pig to handle or stack.
    Most people make a decent bale but there's always the odd one who decide a few extra bales are worth it.Never could see the point really as a soft bale is a waste of time.

Put 4x4 bales of winter barley straw in for a man 2 years ago and then loaded lorries out of the shed the following spring.They were the worst I have ever seen.
    Think they cost him 2 euro plus he baled them himself.Orders were to leave any that burst in the field and burn them after loading the last trailer.
    Field needed to be cleared pronto for OSR.
    Straw was pure bruss.Difficult to handle and a pain to stack as they were inclined to go out of shape even on a short(3 mile) trailer journey.
    Even loading the artics you would have maybe 2 each time fall asunder.
    Think it all went to the fourth green field if not mistaken.Wouldn't need sharp blades in the straw blower to chop it so maybe the purchaser had a smaller diesel bill if nothing else!!

Reluctance to sell by weight unless maybe big squares for composting.
    See an awful lot of buyers now probing the bales.Heating or damp straw is a waste of money no matter how cheap it is.
    Big squares are grand for haulage but a lot more work in that they will really take the rain if left out for any length of time and have to be stacked immediatly.
    Also don't know how handy to handle without straw blowers/diet feeder etc.
    Basically you have to gather and stack or shed them straight away.Quick to clear a field allright compared to rounds and handy to draw ie 40 120cm by 70 cm by 8 ft. on a 32 ft. trailer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

The big squares can be handier than the round for using if you're not using the whole bale at once. It comes away in sections and you can hold it together by retying the twine. You might need to add in a bit depending on how much of the bale you use. They take up a lot less space than the round when open and are a lot tidier.

Additional question, would not have dealt in straw in a long time, and never for feeding. What do you look out for when trying to buy barley straw for feeding?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Additional question, would not have dealt in straw in a long time, and never for feeding. What do you look out for when trying to buy barley straw for feeding?

Not a great expert either but, clean, soft bright yellow in colour and smells nice. Stuff that falls apart , not clumpy dusty stuck together. I only feed if I'm stuck as not much in it other then fibre.

Done buying hay here I think, although I like it I find it very expensive for what it is tbh. Will need straw for bedding if I put the ewes in so it may as well double job and let the bag make up any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

We buy a lot of barley straw for feeding, we use wheaten for bedding & in the diet feeder as it is cheaper than barley. We do our own moisture testing on the bales before we draw them from the fields. However that option is not always available but most modern balers have a built in moisture metre.
    A good packed 4x4 round bale should look solid and you should not be a able to put your fist/arm into the middle of it. If the guy that you are buying from is a decent fellow then he should be prepared to open a bale of your choosing in front of you.

Base price wrote: »
    We buy a lot of barley straw for feeding, we use wheaten for bedding & in the diet feeder as it is cheaper than barley. We do our own moisture testing on the bales before we draw them from the fields. However that option is not always available but most modern balers have a built in moisture metre.
    A good packed 4x4 round bale should look solid and you should not be a able to put your fist/arm into the middle of it. If the guy that you are buying from is a decent fellow then he should be prepared to open a bale of your choosing in front of you.

What's he supposed to do with the bale afterwards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Reggie. wrote: »
    No offence Reggie but when we go to buy bales of straw we would be buying several hundred. He can do what he wants with the open bale as it is not my problem. If he does not want to open a random one on spec then to hell with him.
    Most tillage lads demand cash in the yard and we have no problem giving same even though we deal with regular suppliers year on year.
    We moisture test bales before loading and will request that a odd bale from a stack be opened to ensure uniformity.
    At the end of the day we have to look after our customers as they are the ones who rely and buy from us year on year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭newholland mad

Reggie. wrote: »

often open a bale for a prospective buyer that hasnt a moisture probe just re bale it back up. If a lad was going to buy a few hundred bales whats one even if you have to put a match to it afterwards. During the winter all i have to do is give him a fork and let him do the bedding :D:D:D could do with a lad like that every day now :D:D

Base price wrote: »
    No offence Reggie but when we go to buy bales of straw we would be buying several hundred. He can do what he wants with the open bale as it is not my problem. If he does not want to open a random one on spec then to hell with him.
    Most tillage lads demand cash in the yard and we have no problem giving same even though we deal with regular suppliers year on year.
    We moisture test bales before loading and will request that a odd bale from a stack be opened to ensure uniformity.
    At the end of the day we have to look after our customers as they are the ones who rely and buy from us year on year.

No that's grand. Was just wondering is all.