Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what was going through howth with gardai & ambulances

• 21-09-2014 4:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭

Anyone know what the cycle was going through howth a while ago? Gardai and ambulances with sirens blaring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

I saw that cycle also but I didn't see any Gardai or ambulances. There were a few bikes made up to look like Garda bikes and illegally stopping traffic at Sutton Cross bus definitely not Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I think the tour de Leinster passed through howth today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭AmberGold

veetwin wrote: »
    I saw that cycle also but I didn't see any Gardai or ambulances. There were a few bikes made up to look like Garda bikes and illegally stopping traffic at Sutton Cross bus definitely not Gardai.

Were they really made up to look like Garda bikes or is this your personal opinion?

Just asking? Maybe you should report them as this is a serious crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

iwillhtfu wrote: »
    I think the tour de Leinster passed through howth today.

Ya the Tour de Leinster finished on the Hill Of Howth today, it was scheduled to arrive there around 5.30ish.

AmberGold wrote: »
    Were they really made up to look like Garda bikes or is this your personal opinion?

OK they probably were not impersonating a Garda vehicle but most members of the public not clued in would reasonably assume they were Garda bikes. They were big white touring bikes with flashing lights and the riders wore yellow fluorescent jackets while they occupied the middle of the junction.

I didn't get their reg numbers nor do I really care but if an accident were to occur while these lads were illegally holding up traffic they could have a real problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

veetwin wrote: »
    OK they probably were not impersonating a Garda vehicle but most members of the public not clued in would reasonably assume they were Garda bikes. They were big white touring bikes with flashing lights and the riders wore yellow fluorescent jackets while they occupied the middle of the junction.

I didn't get their reg numbers nor do I really care but if an accident were to occur while these lads were illegally holding up traffic they could have a real problem.
    If they had blue flashing lights then that would be a serious matter as they are specifically reserved for emergency services etc.

Pretty sure they were blue lights alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Surely they were marshalls of some description for the cycle race. I'd be surprised if they were holding up junctions without some kind of official permit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭JayRoc

AmberGold wrote: »

He means they were Offical Marshals, presumably. For obvious reasons they need to be as visible as possible, but they would not have had blue lights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Ah here Lads

The OP just wanted to know what the event was.