Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car park incident

• 19-09-2014 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

Hi All,

To make it very long story short, in Cork I parked my car next to the car that was incorrectly parked... at the end I was parked perfectly and third party car was park within his wheel over the line.

During my Friday McDonald meal I've seen him getting in to his car, so I decided to come up and address his "quality" of parking. He then got very aggressive, he was with his 2 young boys, I was also with my 8 years old son (he was inside restaurant during this time).

This man got very rude to me for even me mentioning his incorrect parking, there was a small argument however I let it go and he got in to his car.. During the time of reversing his vehicle I have warned him several times that he has to be careful as he is about to scratch my car.. He stopped and reversed again causing big scrape around my passenger rear wheel arch with his front driver wheel arch (you get an idea).

I owe 2010 Audi A6 (grey), he was reversing in his 132 Black BMW 5 series!

When he scraped my car I asked him to stop informing him that he did so (he heard it and knew this). His 132 black BMW also had a massive scrape with my paint transfer on his car. He then drove off without waiting on Gardai.

I immediately informed Gardai about this incident, when they arrived first thing Gardai said to me was - he also reported you, I informed him about damage and Gardai response was - he said he didn't do it !! Gardai took a statement and I provided photos with his registration number etc.

Gardai said that they will be speaking with him this evening and they will get back to me.. I've told them that I will be seeking immediate property damage liability.. I informed my insurance company already... Still haven't received call from Gardai after 2 hours, more likely he will call me tomorrow..

How situation looks like is that The other driver caused massive damage with his 132 black BMW to me and his own car yet claiming to Gardai that he didn't do it?? CCTV shows incident but angle of the camera / quality won't pick up clear hit!!

I am waiting on call, is there anything else I can do? Please help!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Report the accident to your insurance company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 sowajaoxf

Already did, I've told them his reg number, so they will verify with Gardai but I did not have a chance to get his insurance company details..

I am not sure what else can I do, but how a man scraping my car with his "new" BMW claiming to Gardai that he didn't do it, yet having massive scrape on his car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Inform your insurance company and take photos of any damage. Otherwise there's not much else you can do that you haven't already done. Assessors are trained for this kind of thing. Was there any witnesses other then the kids?

As an aside, and I hate to be "that guy", i'd have just bit my lip and not confronted him about his parking. Yes he's a dick but i've found you can't talk to these people and very often it just makes the situation worse.

The guy is a liar and an asshole and he may likely try and bully and bluff his way out of it. Stand up to him and don't take any bull**** from him.

Anyway, I hope it works out for you OP. Try and see if there's any other CCTV with a better view of the incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭allenview

Why did you not find another parking spot rather than parking next to this guy and bringing all this trouble on yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

sowajaoxf wrote: »
    I am not sure what else can I do, but how a man scraping my car with his "new" BMW claiming to Gardai that he didn't do it, yet having massive scrape on his car?

Coz hes got a brass neck.

It'll be obvious to all what hes done...especially if theres CC footage showing him parked beside you. He'll prob try to sue for whiplash too :P (ok...I'm joking on that...but you never know with clowns like that)

Thanks for this...

I agreed, He was an asshole!

Honestly I only pointed up to him his parking and I was there to make sure he won't damage my car.. he got very rude and all I was doing was smiling and listening to his bull****.. some stuff he said I was very close of doing something bad.. even when he scraped my car I could have easily take him out of the car... yet I tried to be fair to law and called Gardai, so I let him drove of and reported him...

First thing that Gardai said was "it is his word vs your word" and I said to him - check his paint damage, you will see it...

I am really pissed, because I don't want to regret by doing right thing for him to get away with this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

He also left the scene of an accident.

If there were any witnesses, i'd be looking for a statement from them.

Allenview - I didn't find other spot because there was none, Friday evening at 19:30, car parks are full everywhere.. I didn't even want to bring up problem of someone taking 2 parking spots, he took all his with 1/4 overlay of mine one... at the end of the day it doesn't matter - I was parked correctly and caused damage to my car by reversing incorrectly - he had enough space...

Daheff.. it is a scrape and CCTV won't show visual hit, it will show me - pointing to him the damage and him driving off...

While walking to his car to informed him about his parking, I notified Security Man in McDonald about his parking, when this scrape occurred Security Man was inside... I could have probably use my fiancé as a witness.. but she was inside and I am too honest to use her that she seen this, because she didn't clearly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

Is it just me?

If I see someone stupidly parked, I have a little tut tut to myself and go on my way.

Until I apply for and get the post of parking enforcer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

He was that disgusted that you had the upper hand after having an argument that he absconded, simple as that.

Was there any viable witnesses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

While you say the CCTV isn't good enough to show the hit, surely it shows you standing outside your parked car, and him driving off?

Parking enforcers are never there where they should be.. I was there to protect my car, if I wasn't there I couldn't know his reg and I would not be able to report him!

I am looking at this from another point of view as well.. This is the kind of driver who would be capable to do hit and run.. he drove of even knowing he caused damage to his car yet he didn't have balls to face it!

Thoie this is correct, CCTV shows me talking with him, then him getting it to his car and me waving hands by silently saying... You just scraped my car... What CCTV doesn't show is exact contact, yet show my reaction and that his front was very very close to my car... Unless CCTV be located side to side between my cars, you won't be able to see exact contact (hope you know what I mean)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

We'll CCTV should show his car pulling out of parking space... Since your car is stationary ... Shouldn't be a problem.... Of course he could claim you scraped him when you first parked...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Agreed but it couldn't possibly happen if he would say this as my scrape is at left rear and his scrape is and right front! I would have to go all the way to footpath and over to do this.. Thankfully this is clear :)

It could only happen when he reversed..

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

Agreed but it couldn't possibly happen if he would say this as my scrape is at left rear and his scrape is and right front! I would have to go all the way to footpath and over to do this.. Thankfully this is clear :)

It could only happen when he reversed..

The cctv should prove it so.
    Just get that to your insurance co if possibe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

it will be interesting to see how the Ins Co view it. After all the OP did park very close to a (badly) parked car. It could be the case that they will say the OP bears some responsibility for parking too close, I don't think the car being badly parked will be too important.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

corktina wrote: »
    it will be interesting to see how the Ins Co view it. After all the OP did park very close to a (badly) parked car. It could be the case that they will say the OP bears some responsibility for parking too close, I don't think the car being badly parked will be too important.

How on earth would that happen.
    The other guy hit a stationary object, the driver of the properly parked car was there, if the guy reversing couldn't avoid hitting the other car he should have simply asked that it was moved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

He won't be so cocky when the guards call around. I bet he'll admit it. If the car is outside they'll have checked it out before they even call to the house.

But seriously op, what do you hope to achieve by tackling people over parking? An apology?

Also I'm guessing from your writing style that you're Eastern European, so some Irish people are going to react badly to being tackled by a foreigner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Few things here...

- The other driver hit a stationary car that was parked within the lines. With CCTV showing both cars and the OP standing beside his, this should be an open and shut case really. The assessor will be able to tell exactly what happened from the damage anyway.

- OP: Why did you feel the need to walk back to your car to confront the guy over his parking?? Most people in this country can hardly drive, never mind park and someone who will abandon their car in such a manner will hardly take kindly to you lecturing them about it

Sounds like a brief argument ensued and the BMW driver pulled out in a huff and thus scraped the OP's car.. if it were me I'd have parked elsewhere at the start even if it meant circling a few times, but I don't see what the OP was hoping to achieve by starting a row with the guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Sunhill

His parking across the line was probably a calculated move first day to discourage anybody else parking where they might hit him with their door.

I'd say you have nothing to worry about; case seems clear-cut and I hope you will get speedy satisfaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

Something similar happened me recently,I was stationary other vehicle hit my rear quarter and is seeking damages from me and for the record he was driving a top of the range Mercedes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭statto25

Sunhill wrote: »
    His parking across the line was probably a calculated move first day to discourage anybody else parking where they might hit him with their door.

+1 on this. Using two spaces when you have a new or nearly new car is of epidemic proportions here in Mayo.

You parked correctly, he hit your car leaving the spaces he took up. It should be pretty clear cut for you OP. Hopefully you will have no trouble with this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

V.W.L 11 wrote: »
    Something similar happened me recently,I was stationary other vehicle hit my rear quarter and is seeking damages from me and for the record he was driving a top of the range Mercedes

People like that deserve to be brought to the cleaners come repair time. What a cnut.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Sunhill wrote: »

Good chance this is the case. Well done OP. I'm angry on your behalf (not that that helps either of us)

Let us know how you get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

EazyD wrote: »
    People like that deserve to be brought to the cleaners come repair time. What a cnut.
    it didn't occur in a car park though,i was on a hill going up,he was coming down,i could see by his speed he wasn't stopping,so I immediately parked it with the handbrake applied and hped he would stop but didn't,the road was not wide enough to fit 2 vehicles on that stretch,so he just carried on and hit me,when the cops turned up he tried to pin it on me,initially the cop was going to town on me but I had 2 independent witnesses who verified I was the stationary vehicle and he drove into me,lets just say the cop changed his tune on speaking to the witnesses :D but yer man is still trying to claim for damages,he would be suitably aged in that he may have acquired his licence in 1979 (driving licence amnesty,licences were handed out without any test being taken) he was shouting at me in front of the gardai as well,i just told the guard I will not be subject to that type of behaviour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Insurance will do 50 / 50 liability. In effect you pay for your own damage.

Expensive lesson to learn enforcing parking space infringements that have no legal standing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

visual wrote: »
    Insurance will do 50 / 50 liability. In effect you pay for your own damage.

Expensive lesson to learn enforcing parking space infringements that have no legal standing

Total BS.

So i can smash into every parked car in a car park and it'll all be grand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

did you get the scratch on the same side as the one the kid put on it with his bike or the other side

your post history makes me feel that you need to sue everyone and that you are very confrontational
    he got very rude and all I was doing was smiling and listening to his bull****.. some stuff he said I was very close of doing something bad.. even when he scraped my car I could have easily take him out of the car...

are you a big fella ? did you intimidate the guy in the bmw?
    what do you mean you could have taken him out of the car? do you mean dragged him out of his car in front of his kids? over a scraatch on you car?
    i would say his story will be that you came out and started on him and he drove off and was afraid of you. camera will sort of show this, right?
    end of the day if you hadn;t come out to tell someone how to park then maybe this wouldn't have happened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

What did he "report" exactly?

I'd never have a go over someone's parking unless i saw them park. He may have parked that way due to others next to him parking badly. They move on and his car is left looking out of place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

One post wonder troll and some follow up posts removed.