Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling an Alp. - To event or not to event.

• 18-09-2014 9:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭

I'm humming and hawing about signing up to the Marmotte or similar next year. I'd like to haul my fat a$$ up an Alp before I turn 40.

What's putting me off a bit is the cost of the one-day, all your eggs in one basket event-style thing. Seems like with most of the tour operators, you're really talking 1000 quid and 4 days by the time you get over and back, and all for one day's cycling.

The counter point bit that gnaws at me, is that the Alps are there all the time. They're there now. And if I cycle them on ANY other day except the day of the marmotte, then I'm not competing with 7000 cyclists for road space or hotel rooms or flights or rental cars, and I can't help but think that my 1000 euro the week after the marmotte might get me 10 days in the foothills during which I could spend ten days cycling.

Course you won't have the razzamatazz of the whole Marmotte circus and the motivation of finishing in a time, or sticking to that wheel in front etc, but there was a bunch of us planning on going, and I'm wondering if, whether solo or in a group, the early bird marmotte menu might not be a better alternative.

Anyone any thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

fat bloke wrote: »
    I'm humming and hawing about signing up to the Marmotte or similar next year. I'd like to haul my fat a$$ up an Alp before I turn 40.

What's putting me off a bit is the cost of the one-day, all your eggs in one basket event-style thing. Seems like with most of the tour operators, you're really talking 1000 quid and 4 days by the time you get over and back, and all for one day's cycling.

The counter point bit that gnaws at me, is that the Alps are there all the time. They're there now. And if I cycle them on ANY other day except the day of the marmotte, then I'm not competing with 7000 cyclists for road space or hotel rooms or flights or rental cars, and I can't help but think that my 1000 euro the week after the marmotte might get me 10 days in the foothills during which I could spend ten days cycling.

Course you won't have the razzamatazz of the whole Marmotte circus and the motivation of finishing in a time, or sticking to that wheel in front etc, but there was a bunch of us planning on going, and I'm wondering if, whether solo or in a group, the early bird marmotte menu might not be a better alternative.

Anyone any thoughts?

Do a much smaller event. Spend a week there while doing it and cycle around.

Did Vercors challenge a few years back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭ratracer

This is something I've given a bit of thought to over the last few months. I've done a good few of the regular Sportives here for the last few years and would like to do something 'out foreign' next year. I think if there's a group of you going it would be much better craic going not on the main day, which would be like a hilly ROK and not that enjoyable IMO, but getting two or three days cycling in for the same money.
    I've kinda lost interest in big Sportives tbh, I think I may become an Audax pedaller in 2015.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

ratracer wrote: »
    I've kinda lost interest in big Sportives tbh, I think I may become an Audax pedaller in 2015.

Come to the darkside, it's very nice especially if you've got a dynamo hub.

I've only done one sportive, Liege-Bastogne-Liege, and the entry fee was €40. Everything was organised within my club by a group. I prefer audax, all the distance of the sportive and maybe 20 particpants for a measly fiver.

I've had a look at the Audax calendar, a couple of events on there would suit me location wise, but most of them are east of the Shannon, my bike doesn't pedal well over there ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭NamelessPhil

I don't think the 2015 calendar has been organised yet. It's a PBP year so there may be more events in different locations. The lads on the mailing group are a friendly bunch and may be able to make suggestions on how to get to events.

Thanks Phil, I'll keep an eye out for it. Sorry fat bloke for inadvertently hijacking your thread, there'll be no more of it from me. ( Maybe)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭boege

If you want a different challange consider the Tour de l'Ain Cyclo.

It's a 4 day sportive in around the french Jura mountains and over toward Lyon. Its a full on race at the front with prizes after the finish. You also get a meal at the end of each stage (with free wine:)) and the water stops are bottles held out on the side of the road.

The pace is animal, the cycling standard very high, the set up fully professional and its the nearest thing you will get to feeling like you are part of a full blown stage race.

To add to it all the Pro race comes in behind you so you get to see the Pro racers finish each day. You'r actually riding the Pro stages with all the race funiture set up. The last two stages usually have a huge amount of climbing but you dont have to do all stages unless your going for GC.

Did it 2 years back with my son and planning to do it again. Fly into Geneva from Dublin and book a gite plus car for 5/6 days but you need someone doing support.

http://www.tourdelain.com/tour-ain-cyclosportif-craft-challenge/horaires-informations-lieux-rendez-vous.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Sounds good but also sounds, if anything, more expensive again.

I reiterate. The alps aren't going anywhere. They are where they are. I suppose to bring the comparison home. If you live in Cork, is the Wicklow 200 the absolute best opportunity to cycle the Wicklow mountains, or are you as well off to come up any other weekend with a bunch of mates and do the route yourselves?

I suppose one thing about the event is that once you sign up, like the leaving cert, it's happening whether you like it or not and you had better be ready. With an informal self organised thing you'll get the usual "turns out I've to go to a wedding" / "I'm washing my hair" bailer outers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

I have done the Marmotte a few times and yes it is expensive when looked at it based on a single day. I would say, that it really is worth doing. You mention the 7000+ cyclists etc but they make the day. True the roads are there everyday of the year, but much like doing a marathon it is the achievement of doing it when the 'pressure' is on that adds to it. You can compare yourself against others on the same day/course. The whole lead up to it, the people on the side of the road cheering you on, the people handing out water on the Alpe, the event village always has a nice buzz of scarred antipation the day before. The finish line with all the people cheering etc. (all for you, they have all come just to see you!!!) I think they raised the fee to €85 which is crazy for what you get, but it is one of those 'bucket-list' things that you can talk about. Sure you can rattle on about cycling the Alps but that can mean many things to many people.

Having said all that, the last 2 times I did it I arranged it myself. Last year I went over on the Thursday before and stayed until lthe following Thursday. So after doing the event on the Saturday (and trying to recover on Sunday) I was able to do some cycles on the other days. I even did the Alpe early on the Thrusday morning bofore packing up for the airport.

It is easy enough to arrange. Flights etc you have to do yourself either way. Rent a car and book a place. To avoid higher prices, book away from the Marmoote dates or when the Tour wil be around.

Just get your plans in place and book everything as soon as you can nail people down to dates. You are right about the bailer-outers, and you will always get them. I have even had people give up their flights costs etc. But hey I enjoyed myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Thanks for that Leroy. Any idea of a ballpark estimate of costs all in doing it yourself versus an established operator?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

On the other hand, last summer, I took a couple of days off from the family holiday to do a bit of cycling in the Pyrenees. Cost was a B&B overnight, a train (to shorten the return trip) and a bit of eating as I went. Probably spent €150 all in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

OP, you're right to do the Alps in your own time in a small group. They are totally accessible. Places like Bourg d'Oisans and Morzine are great bases for exploring and allow you access to any number of routes involving famous and less famous cols. I stayed in morethan21bends in the Bourg and it's a cycling friendly guesthouse-cum-hostel. The owner brings out groups or you can go yourself. Bike rental is available in the towns, or you can box and bring your own. French roads are well signposted and it's easy to navigate your way around. Skip the big events and do it your way and design an itinerary that suits you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

I did a few passes about three years ago. I rented a cheap steel mountain bike for two days and went up a few of the climbs. I hadn't planned on cycling so just had normal shorts, runners, and a borrowed helmet for the descents. The descents where great fun despite crappy tyres and brakes. The only bad thing was being stung by a bee on my ear during a descent towards Interlaken. It was great fun grinding up the climbs even on the old mtb. The roads are good and drivers are very aware of cyclists. Organised rides are good fun but not needed to do some of the alps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭D!armu!d

fat bloke wrote: »

A trip during the time of the Marmotte won't cost any different than another time of the year. Why not go independent for 10 days & finish with the Marmotte? It's a great event for €70

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

http://www.sportstoursinternational.co.uk/cycling/the-10-best-international-cyclo-sportive-and-gran-fondo-events

http://www.sportcommunication.info/web2010/epreuve.php?langue=2

Not all in the Alps but food for thought. I'd build a week around one of them.

Not the worst way of turning 40, refuel with good mountain food and wine.