Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Talcum powder on squeaky floorboards... does it work?

• 18-09-2014 12:15pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 44

My bedroom floorboards are driving me insane (and the girl in the room below me), but before I take up the carpet to try this old grannies trick of sprinkling talc in between the cracks ... does it actually work? Anybody try it?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 494 ✭✭vinnie13

I would say that is just a old wife's tales.the boards have more than likely shrunk around the nails causing movement and your noise.
    You could rip the carpet up and put in a few nails on the squeaking boards.

I would say that is just a old wife's tales.the boards have more than likely shrunk around the nails causing movement and your noise.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 44 Cybercommando

Thanks.

Thanks.

Thanks...

em ... Thanks!

How easy is it to take up a carpet (and put it back down)? Anything I should know before ripping it up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭RichardoKhan

On a slightly serious note. Had the very same problem myself & tried the talc. Yes, it did diminsh the squeaking a little but within weeks was back to the same. Ended up nailing those suckers down. No squeaks now........

So how easy is it to take up a carpet and put it back down? Do I need special equipment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

I have this problem as well. I was thinking of adding a couple of screws or nails at the joists. But is it not more prone to squeak at the midpoint, where there is the most depression when walking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

So how easy is it to take up a carpet and put it back down? Do I need special equipment?

Depends on the type of carpet- if a non-wool carpet it's most likely unstretched and just glued around the perimeter with spray adhesive. This can just be pulled back. If the carpet is an expensive wool carpet it will have been stretched over grippers and would require professional refitting. Be careful nailing down boards as you could cause nail popping on the plasterboard ceiling underneath, far better to use screws in this case. Also watch out for any plumbing pipes that may be let into notches in the floor joists, you won't be able to see them but rad locations should give a clue as to approximate locations and best to err on side of caution if unsure.

Also watch out for any plumbing pipes that may be let into notches in the floor joists, you won't be able to see them but rad locations should give a clue as to approximate locations and best to err on side of caution if unsure.

Can you expand on this please. How can one roughly map out the rad pipes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,376 ✭✭✭jack of all

I would avoid screwing near rad tails or on those joist lines unless you are confident that pipes are not located in notches. If pipework is plastic it's more likely that pipes are routed through holes bored on centrelines of joists. If copper pipework it is likely that pipes are located in notches in the top of the joist (or the pipe runs may be plastic with copper tails at rad locations!).

Thanks mate. Think I will just put up with the squeaking! Its a rented accommodation so I can't risk flooding the place!

Jaysus it's a more difficult job than I thought. Might just hire a handyman and keep the talc for me hole.

Please say the handyman is there to fix the floorboards..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Talc powder works great. As long as its the floorboards and not the joists underneath. You need to work it in by jumping up and down on it (easy now ;))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

I did a big job on this at home recently (knocked a wall and joined two rooms).
    I took up all the floor boards and tried a few things with them.

The squeaking is caused (in most cases) by the floorboard moving up and down on the nail that is fixing it to the joist. If you think about pulling a nail out of a piece of timber and the squeak/screech it makes, well it is essentially the same thing.

So the best solution I found is to remove all the nails and replace them with good quality, thick, timber screws with wide serrated thread on them. You can screw into the same hole the nails came from which will help reduce the risk of hitting a pipe or a wire. You may need to add extra screws though.

Screws

Job being done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

gutteruu wrote: »
    Talc powder works great. As long as its the floorboards and not the joists underneath. You need to work it in by jumping up and down on it (easy now ;))
    Call cybercommando's handyman. He'll jump up and down all you want if you supply the talc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,079 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

I used No More Squeak nails when i had this problem

http://www.amazon.co.uk/OBerry-Squeak-No-More-Kit/dp/B0006IK8YE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1411208337&sr=8-1&keywords=squeak+no+more

No need to lift up carpet, the nails break off using the included device.

Worked a charm, just be sure you don't drill into piping etc. Get a stud detector.

Stud finder on special in Aldi this sunday

https://www.aldi.ie/en/specialbuys/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Stud finder on special in Aldi this sunday

https://www.aldi.ie/en/specialbuys/

The stud finder that can't be found ?

I saw it on there earlier today. They must have updated the website. That or I am completely losing it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭LeNNoX

Lads, I'm having the same problem with the bedroom floorboards and it's driving me mad.

There's no carpet down so I could see the joists and decided to put screws down (before hearing about the Talc trick). I went a bit heavy on the screws and put 1 beside each nail.

Anyway, the boards are still squeaking and I'm not sure what the next steps are, any advice?

I've attached at pick for extra info.
    If I step on the left side, the squeak can be heard on the right and vice versa...

I think pulling up floorboards is beyond my ability, I'd wreck the place but if there's any other options please let me know before I go mad and burn the house down!!!!

Thanks,
    LeNNoX

p.s. i'm gonna run out to buy some Talc now.

We use the talcum powder, it work really well.

LorenzoB,

I lashed down the talc and rubbed it into all grooves, nails, screws, everywhere and then walked around for a bit to get the talc moving into any spaces.

So far, I still have squeaking.
    My god this is annoying - I must be doing something wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gutteruu

LeNNoX wrote: »
    LorenzoB,

I lashed down the talc and rubbed it into all grooves, nails, screws, everywhere and then walked around for a bit to get the talc moving into any spaces.

So far, I still have squeaking.
    My god this is annoying - I must be doing something wrong?

It only works on floorboards. Not joists. Your joists underneath are probably what is squeaking.

gutteruu wrote: »
    It only works on floorboards. Not joists. Your joists underneath are probably what is squeaking.

ah B*ll*x that... I'll have to live in pain for a while so (years!)

Thanks for the info gutteruu