Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Front or Back of the Taxi

• 17-09-2014 11:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭

Which do you prefer, are you a front of the taxi person or back of the taxi person.

Personally I'm a back of the taxi man. It's not often I'm driven somewhere so whenever the chance presents itself I like to sprawl out in the back and just chill and enjoy being driven somewhere.

I do have a few mates though who would be the complete opposite. They would much prefer to be in the thick of the action, up the front talking sh1te.

Front or Back of the Taxi 50 votes

Up the Front
    0% 0 votes
    The Back
    100% 50 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Front, unless there is stuff on the passenger seat.

Will there be a poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭kissmequick

Do people actually sit in the back of the Taxi if they're on their own? Why not sit up front?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I usually prefer to ride up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

I think I'd always sit in the back....even if alone. Hate getting a taxi on my own...but feel more comfortable sitting in the back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

If I was givin' a bird the roide, like , I'd be in de back. 'cos up front would be distractin' the driver.
    Unless I was, loike, ridin' the driver but then we'd pull over 'cos she'd have other things to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,829 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The front, sure it's better for asking him how busy he's been and what time he's on until :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Do people actually sit in the passenger seat of a taxi if they're on their own? I don't think I've ever done that. I'd feel like I was encroaching on the dude's personal space or something.

Blay wrote: »
    The front, sure it's better for asking him how busy he's been and what time he's on until :pac:
    You forgot

'What time ye start at?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

Sit in the back? Like the driver is some kinda chauffeur? Fakk off...

beks101 wrote: »
    Do people actually sit in the passenger seat of a taxi if they're on their own? I don't think I've ever done that. I'd feel like I was encroaching on the dude's personal space or something.
    I make a point of sitting in the passenger seat if they have a lunchbox or a paper or something on it, they x amount of passengers they are licenced to carry includes the passenger seat so it should be amenable to passengers at all times.

I'm contrary like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,829 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Poll indicates most prefer the back...dirty fcukers :pac:

I think some people don't like sitting in the front because they might have to talk to the driver- 'Human contact, the final frontier' :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

The back. Kind of like how you don't go to the next cubicle if there are other ones free.

Also, lads may not be aware of this, but women are always told to sit in the back of a taxi when travelling alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭SureYWouldntYa

Front if you want to chat with driver

Back if you don't

Simples

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

Always the back ... otherwise they'll think I want to talk to them or something *shudder*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I make a point of sitting in the passenger seat if they have a lunchbox or a paper or something on it, they x amount of passengers they are licenced to carry includes the passenger seat so it should be amenable to passengers at all times.

I'm contrary like that.

So you'd sacrifice your own comfort just to piss him off?

I get a taxi to work most mornings and think the guy would have a heart attack if I sat up front. We'd be forced to talk to each other or something...

So you'd sacrifice your own comfort just to piss him off?

I get a taxi to work most mornings and think the guy would have a heart attack if I sat up front. We'd be forced to talk to each other or something...
    Na, I'd plant my feet up on the dash and natter away to him.

There's an odd half decent one out there you could hold a conversation with, granted most are moaning self entitled good-for-nothing wastards, but there's an odd good one.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Always the front seat.

I don't want to talk to them or anything. I just prefer sitting in the passenger seat, taxi or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

As much as I hate sitting in the front (don't feel grown up enough for it of all things, feel like a charlatan, a fraud 'does this driver not know im a child?!) I couldn't sit in the back because I'd feel like a president.

Anyone ever see a woman taxi driveress? (EXCLUDING backarses of nowhere in one of the vans)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Isnt there a thing in Northern Ireland where Protestants get in the Front and Catholics get in the back or vice versa.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

Ive seen a few lady taxi drivers in Dublin. Only one in Kilkenny.

Was in a taxi one evening, in Dublin, and the taxi driver actually mentioned to me that he noticed country people tend to sit in the front a lot more, while city natives prefer the back.

Im from the country and i sat in the front

Isnt there a thing in Northern Ireland where Protestants get in the Front and Catholics get in the back or vice versa.

There was a point in that pits troubled history where whether you made it out of the taxi alive was the question. Not where you sat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Always the back. Same way as I dont stand beside the drivers cabin on a bus and talk to him while he tries to drive. I would find sitting in the front when I am the only passenger weird. Personal space!
    Also, the safest seat in a crash is back seat, passenger side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Blay wrote: »
    You forgot

'What time ye start at?'

But you also forgot: I suppose your sick of people asking you this! BUT....
    Anyway it's not as common as u might think and it's certainly not annoying, it's a good ice-breaker, gives me an excuse to ramble on about the water charges and the likes............:pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,521 ✭✭✭ardle1

Always the back. Same way as I dont stand beside the drivers cabin on a bus and talk to him while he tries to drive. I would find sitting in the front when I am the only passenger weird. Personal space!
    Also, the safest seat in a crash is back seat, passenger side.

Nah... the safest seat is the drivers seat.
    yeah, it's him/her that sees the oak tree and does a last ditch manoeuvre, slapping whoever side on into it......
    Yeah that's life;)

Always the front.. It would feel like Collateral otherwise.

ardle1 wrote: »
    Nah... the safest seat is the drivers seat.
    yeah, it's him/her that sees the oak tree and does a last ditch manoeuvre, slapping whoever side on into it......
    Yeah that's life;)

Bang on - best place to be in any car in a crash is the drivers seat. So the next time you're in a cab make sure and sit up front and give the driver a blowjob. This way you'll be safe and the trip will be on the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭Miss Lizzie Jones

Sit in the back? Like the driver is some kinda chauffeur? Fakk off...

Sitting in the back helps me to pretend that I'm Miss Daisy. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

If I'm on my own I'd sit up front. I'd feel like I was offending him/her if I sat in the back. If I'm with a group of people though I'll always try get in the back where the craic is rather than be the one stuck up front trying to make small talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Check the back by opening the door and having a good look to see that there is no-one crouching there (who might kill me), then I sit in the front seat so the driver does not think I might kill them. Everybody happy.

(Don't really check the back seat first, because the chances of finding a good phone/loaded wallet are very slim - unless you are getting in immediately after the previous passenger(s) have got out.)

So, probably almost always: a man gets into the front seat, a woman gets into the back seat. Be safe, and all that.

Either way, remember to put your seat belt on properly.

Edit: Presume the OP's question refers to when alone.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

I'd never dream of sitting in the back. It'd feel like I'm treating the taximan like a chauffeur. I'm drunk and he's doing a job he hates. We both know it's just a poxy taxi so lets both keep our dignity intact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭AirBiscuit

I usually have a bag so usually the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

I'd never dream of sitting in the back. It'd feel like I'm treating the taximan like a chauffeur. I'm drunk and he's doing a job he hates. We both know it's just a poxy taxi so lets both keep our dignity intact.

That's what he is.
    A professional driver. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

When I was younger and more of a man of the people, I would sit in the front. Now I am older and more stately, I am a back seat man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

in the back, like in the movies & TV

I would say he would rather the drunk lad trying to keep his dignity intact would sit in the back

policarp wrote: »
    That's what he is.

He's a professional driver but he's not your personal driver.

FunLover18 wrote: »

What?

What?

A taxi driver isn't a chauffeur is what I was trying to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

policarp wrote: »
    That's what he is.
    FunLover18 wrote: »
    What?
    What is the female word for a chauffeur? :)

The old jokes are the best, but they don't seem to get the same laughs as they did back then. Maybe it's how I tell 'em?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Back. Women traveling on their own don't generally sit in the front. I have done, but I feel safer in the back. And it's easier not to talk to the driver if you don't feel like it/they are full of mental ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭Shakespeare's Sister

The front. Never heard of the thing about sitting in the back being safer for a woman alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

The front. Never heard of the thing about sitting in the back being safer for a woman alone.

The idea is that you're out of arms length and that you've got two doors to use rather than just the one should things get strange.

Anecdotally, they also seem slightly less inclined to get weird when you're in the back rather than the front, whatever the psychology is there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

IMO, there's more chance the back has been splattered with puke, jizz, ladyjuice, piss, etc.
    So I sit back there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

I feel bad sitting in the back, feels like I'm offending them. If it's during the day I'll sit in the front but if it's night I'll sit in the back. TBH I hate getting taxis I always feel uncomfortable around taxi drivers (sorry if I offend anyone) but I suppose it's the proximity to a complete stranger that makes me nervous, more so as I'm a woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Betty Bloggs

I've never even thought of it like this.

I'm the opposite, if I'm on my own I would always sit in the passenger seat. I feel like it would look like I was being unfriendly and silently saying "I don't want to talk to you" if I sat in the back.

It's funny how it could be viewed differently. Maybe I'm wrecking their heads! :pac:

I chat away to taxi drivers, usually have a few different ones that know me to see now. Get along well enough that 2 different ones have told me to still ring them even if I had run out of money and that I can pay them again, that I shouldn't ever feel stuck to ring. Only had to do this twice but they trusted me enough to do so.

Others that I don't know I'd still end up chatting away to aswell, meet plenty of sound ones who have decided not to charge for a very quick stop of at the shop, or have turned of the meter a bit earlier if we ran into some minor delay on the road.

Most seem pretty sound that I've met. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

I heard a great insult a few years back during the boom when builders labourers were flashing the cash...

Hires limo, rides shotgun.