Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

do current employers check your criminal history

• 15-09-2014 10:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

im applying for a job and have a charge against me 10 years ago for a drunkin brawl do i put it down on their application form or do i leave it out can they find out for themselves

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

ah here: leave it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

im applying for a job and have a charge against me 10 years ago for a drunkin brawl do i put it down on their application form or do i leave it out can they find out for themselves

I've already checked it out OP - your application has been cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

If they are hiring drunken brawlers then definitely mention it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

If the job is as a lawyer you can leave it out :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I think it's a myth,nobody can access your criminal records except you,if the employer asks for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If they ask 'Have you been in a drunken brawl in the last 11 years?' then mention it.

If they don't, don't. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Depends on the job, I suppose.

The Gardaí can't give information to anyone that calls them up and asks for information on a person (there are a few exceptions). The way it normally works is you have to apply to the Garda vetting service yourself and provide the information received to your prospective employer if they request it.

Were you just charged, or did you receive a conviction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Unless you specifically need clearance for the job, it's highly unlikely they'll check.

Even if they do you have to give permission for them to check your record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Many multinationals run background checks as standard procedure. They might even do this after the job has started. You could be asked to sign a data protection waiver allowing them to check your qualifications and criminal record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,189 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

You have to sign a garda vetting form. The gardai cant give this information without your permission.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Very few employers check anything. Maybe the larger American multinationals but not always. Depends on the position too e.g. a new fund manager would get checked. Garda vetting takes forever (>6 months minimum) so most don't bother with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Might find an answer here...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=88451896

it appears that some fella's 'friend' was in a similar position not so long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Can't imagine how it would be relevant to your job application to be honest. Unless they are asking specifically for you to list any criminal convictions. Just leave it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

It depends, if you're applying for the Guards etc, they'll check.

But then again, with the Guards and assault charge will probably work in your favour, you can skip that part in templemore :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Depends on what the Job is, does the job require a security check on your background? if not I would say nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭wishmaster200

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Depends on the job, I suppose.

The Gardaí can't give information to anyone that calls them up and asks for information on a person (there are a few exceptions). The way it normally works is you have to apply to the Garda vetting service yourself and provide the information received to your prospective employer if they request it.

Were you just charged, or did you receive a conviction?

it was a conviction 10 years ago, young and stupid i was, other than that i have nothing else on record as for the job its nothing more than a general operator in a factory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Don't say anything. They can't check.

If they do find out, you'll get fired and you're back where you were before you applied. You have nothing to lose by omitting it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

it was a conviction 10 years ago, young and stupid i was, other than that i have nothing else on record as for the job its nothing more than a general operator in a factory

As said, don't mention it. They can't check without your permission.

Even if they did find out years down the line and you were a very good employee, they might not even care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

A drunken brawl?? Where were you? In a saloon in the wild west?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭NewCorkLad

TheZohan wrote: »
    Might find an answer here...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=88451896

it appears that some fella's 'friend' was in a similar position not so long ago.

LOL same guy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

If you are going for an operative job in a factory, then keep quiet about your conviction.

They won't do a background check on you for that kind of job so they won't find out.

That is unless a record of your crime is on the internet. If a quick google search of your name doesn't show it up, then you are in the clear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

kneemos wrote: »
    I think it's a myth,nobody can access your criminal records except you,if the employer asks for it.

What about public sector jobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

cover up your shiners with makeup for the interview Popeye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Warper wrote: »

Organisations such as the Department of Education and the RSA, as well as any organisation that wishes to have employees Garda vetted, must register as such with the Garda Central Vetting Unit in Thurles. A single authorised person of that organisation then forwards vetting request forms to the CVU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Just set your criminal history to private and change your password.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 gesler

Not as often as you would think, as manager I have advertised for and hired maybe 20 staff in the last 5 years and not once have I checked criminal records, wouldn't even know how to get a persons criminal record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 gesler

Not as often as you would think, as a manager I have advertised for and hired maybe 20 staff in the last 5 years and not once have I checked criminal records, wouldn't even know how to get a persons criminal record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

gesler wrote: »
    Not as often as you would think, as a manager I have advertised for and hired maybe 20 staff in the last 5 years and not once have I checked criminal records, wouldn't even know how to get a persons criminal record.

As the CEO or MD of the organisation wanting to do vetting, you apply in writing to the Garda Central Vetting Unit setting out the following:

" - A description of the service provided by the organisation
    - The approximate number of personnel requiring vetting per annum
    - The level of substantial unsupervised access personnel will have to children and/or vulnerable adults
    - Any additional relevant information e.g. organisational literature orcertificates of registration in respect of charitable status
    "

The GCVU then decides whether or not to provide vetting to you. You don't just start doing it because some pimply little fartbollix like Mark Zuckerburg thinks it'd be pretty super neat-o. :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

robbed a bit of pick n mix from spar in 2002

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭Lenin Skynard

It's none of their beeswax OP. Unless you're working with children or vulnerable adults. Every Joe Bloggs can set up a lemonade stand and pay someone to help them, it doesn't give them any more access to Garda records than anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Robsweezie wrote: »
    robbed a bit of pick n mix from spar in 2002
    I've waited patiently because I knew one day you'd slip up, and now that you've admitted it on a public forum I can bring down the terrible justice of the Gardi. Stay there you are while I dial 999 and report you for the pick and mix crime of the century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Warper wrote: »

Teacher,Guards,lifeguards and anybody in contact with children or money presumably need a backround check.
    Most of them are headbangers anyway.