Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Day one

• 15-09-2014 7:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Not really sure if this is even the place to be be talking about this.. But hey ho.

This is the first day I haven't been drunk in ten days...
    I'm in my early 30s and I can't drink responsibly. I'm not fooling myself anymore. I can't cut down. I can't have a couple of pints. I just can't have a relationship with alcohol anymore. I pretended I was a party guy. A man about town, Just having fun. But sinking 8 cans of Druids on my couch on a Tuesday is not a man about town. This is it. I don't know whats going to happen. But this is day one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

SlowBrew wrote: »
    Not really sure if this is even the place to be be talking about this.. But hey ho.

I'm in my early 30s and I can't drink responsibly. I'm not fooling myself anymore. I can't cut down. I can't have a couple of pints. I just can't have a relationship with alcohol anymore. I pretended I was a party guy. A man about town, Just having fun. But sinking 8 cans of Druids on my couch on a Tuesday is not a man about town. This is it. I don't know whats going to happen. But this is day one

You're definitely in the right place so I wouldn't worry about that.

Firstly, fair play. You realise there's a problem and you're confronting it, that takes guts. You mightn't realise it now but down the line you'll look back on today as a pivotal moment in your life.

Secondly, most people on this thread know exactly how you're feeling right now so don't be shy when it comes to looking for advice. When I opened up here it was literally life changing. There's something reassuring about knowing others feel (or felt) as shítty as you :)

Lastly I'd say, as good as the folks on boards are, a visit to the doctor should be really helpful.

Best of luck bud, there will be tough days but some Monday morning you'll wake up with a clear head and a smile from ear to ear and you'll realise it's all worth it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 SlowBrew

GerB40 wrote: »
    You're definitely in the right place so I wouldn't worry about that.

Firstly, fair play. You realise there's a problem and you're confronting it, that takes guts. You mightn't realise it now but down the line you'll look back on today as a pivotal moment in your life.

Secondly, most people on this thread know exactly how you're feeling right now so don't be shy when it comes to looking for advice. When I opened up here it was literally life changing. There's something reassuring about knowing others feel (or felt) as shítty as you :)

Lastly I'd say, as good as the folks on boards are, a visit to the doctor should be really helpful.

Best of luck bud, there will be tough days but some Monday morning you'll wake up with a clear head and a smile from ear to ear and you'll realise it's all worth it..

Thanks. Nice to know people out there have been through this. Just can't wait to feel clearer.. Not spending all my wages on getting drunk. And gaining some self respect. One day at a time and all that. But today. I didn't get drunk. And that's a victory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭hubba

Best of luck, SlowBrew. Step one is awareness so well done. You've seen through the illusion that is alcohol. There's a much better life out there, waiting for you to discover, day by day. Hang around here, we all help each other out, keep us posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭iusedtoknow

Thanks. Nice to know people out there have been through this. Just can't wait to feel clearer.. Not spending all my wages on getting drunk. And gaining some self respect. One day at a time and all that. But today. I didn't get drunk. And that's a victory

This is the important part, you beat today! The first few days/weeks are hardest as you're not only breaking an addiction to having alcohol in your system, you're also breaking a habit, or a number of habits.

Have you got a plan? How you are going to refocus your time and energy? Make sure as well you look after yourself and don't let HALT get in your way.

H-ungry
    A-ngry
    L-onely
    T-ired

Post here as much as you like - we're a mixed bag of longtime sober and newbies, but it's supportive as anything else you'll find.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Congrats op take it day by day it does get easier,this is day one for me after a relapse and coming off a 3 week bender,mostly druids I was on because of the high alcohol content the thing that stopped me was the fear of the withdrawals which kept me drinking but I admitted defeat this morning and went to see my go as the shakes,tremors,confusion,vision changes was too much to handle plus it can turn dangerous,stock up on b1 vitamins as alcohol depletes it in your body,drink lots of water and green tea to detox yourself, and if you find yourself experiencing any of the above go see your gp.

Best of luck and don't be afraid to post here you'll find plenty of support!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

ur way.

H-ungry
    A-ngry
    L-onely
    T-ired

Don't forget 'Thirsty'.. drink loads of water!! You'll feel great for it.

I always advise new people to read the Allen Carr book, doesn't work for everyone but it did for me and a few others here.

Also, make a list of the things you want to change about yourself and your life and tick off each item as the changes occur.. read them and add to them regularly.. it's a great help.

Congrats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Everyone here had a 'day one', then a day two etc.
    I am such a laid back guy I'm almost horizontal, but when I gave up I had serious worries of what I would do now as drink was an everyday 'habit'. How would I fill the time now? What could I possibly do to fill the void which was four or five hours a night that was put aside specifically for drinking? Could I ever be in a pub again? Could I be in the company of another drinker?
    It's natural to be anxious but everyday you're away from it gets easier and easier. Making a start is the important thing and you've done that. Well done.

hubba wrote: »
    Best of luck, SlowBrew. Step one is awareness so well done. You've seen through the illusion that is alcohol. There's a much better life out there, waiting for you to discover, day by day. Hang around here, we all help each other out, keep us posted.

Thanks for the well wishes. Day two sober. Quite proud.

This is the important part, you beat today! The first few days/weeks are hardest as you're not only breaking an addiction to having alcohol in your system, you're also breaking a habit, or a number of habits.

Have you got a plan? How you are going to refocus your time and energy? Make sure as well you look after yourself and don't let HALT get in your way.

H-ungry
    A-ngry
    L-onely
    T-ired

Post here as much as you like - we're a mixed bag of longtime sober and newbies, but it's supportive as anything else you'll find.

I'm quite busy anyways working six days a week, with a wonderful fiancé. So I'll be kept busy. Lucky I didn't loose either. I'm going to take up tai chi and focus on saving for a prize. What I didn't drink I'll save. Day 2. Thanks for support

xzanti wrote: »
    Don't forget 'Thirsty'.. drink loads of water!! You'll feel great for it.

I always advise new people to read the Allen Carr book, doesn't work for everyone but it did for me and a few others here.

Also, make a list of the things you want to change about yourself and your life and tick off each item as the changes occur.. read them and add to them regularly.. it's a great help.

Congrats

Sound advise. Actually downing the water. And the tea. I'm making a written plan of goals and rewards. Thanks for support. Day 2

beano345 wrote: »
    Congrats op take it day by day it does get easier,this is day one for me after a relapse and coming off a 3 week bender,mostly druids I was on because of the high alcohol content the thing that stopped me was the fear of the withdrawals which kept me drinking but I admitted defeat this morning and went to see my go as the shakes,tremors,confusion,vision changes was too much to handle plus it can turn dangerous,stock up on b1 vitamins as alcohol depletes it in your body,drink lots of water and green tea to detox yourself, and if you find yourself experiencing any of the above go see your gp.

Best of luck and don't be afraid to post here you'll find plenty of support!

Druids was my excuse for saving money and getting a better buzz. I can't believe I drank it around "normal drinkers" I must had looked like a serious sad case. The mirrors been held up and I hate what I see. Well done you for breaking your relapse. Chin up. Day two sober

Everyone here had a 'day one', then a day two etc.
    I am such a laid back guy I'm almost horizontal, but when I gave up I had serious worries of what I would do now as drink was an everyday 'habit'. How would I fill the time now? What could I possibly do to fill the void which was four or five hours a night that was put aside specifically for drinking? Could I ever be in a pub again? Could I be in the company of another drinker?
    It's natural to be anxious but everyday you're away from it gets easier and easier. Making a start is the important thing and you've done that. Well done.

I'm having all those anxieties :-) it's so great to hear it's normal. I'm so going to do this. I'm ready day two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Druids was my excuse for saving money and getting a better buzz. I can't believe I drank it around "normal drinkers" I must had looked like a serious sad case. The mirrors been held up and I hate what I see. Well done you for breaking your relapse. Chin up. Day two sober

Druids is lethal. I drank 12 cans one night and the next day I had to go to hospital with some weird sort of panic attack. (I've had plenty of panic attacks due to anxiety disorder but this one was completely different).

I was given a liver functioning test and the results were not good. Too many/ not enough enzymes (can't remember which) but the nurse said I needed to stop immediately. I did stop, stopped drinking Druids and for the next two years continued on my downward spiral of non stop drinking.

At the time I was so down on myself that I accepted the fact I was gonna drink myself to death and the worst thing was, I was okay with that.

138 days ago a tragedy brought about a moment of clarity. I didn't want to be a drunken slob anymore, I wanted to live. And here I am, alive and with a new found respect for myself. I hate who I was and i'm starting to like who I'm becoming...

I don't really know what the point in this post was but I've never told anyone how all this came about so I imagine it's just to get it off my chest.

Keep fighting the good fight folks, we're all in it together.

I was drinking about 12 cans a day plus maybe a naggin of vodka I'd be nearly scared to get the liver checked ah fcuk them bulmers was considered a hooligans drink when it first came out now look at them lol.I actually think I needed that relapse to show me the horrors of alcohol its really insidious I've got withdrawals before but this time was sometime else sound and visual hallucinations to boot,my plan was to taper off with beer but I knew I was going to get them anyway

,I'd advise anyone that's in withdrawal do not go cold turkey it could cost you your life go see your doctor they will give you medication to ease them my only saving grace is I was ten months off it and I know I can do it again but I think that's me done with drink forever.definitely not worth it.

GerB40 wrote: »
    Druids is lethal. I drank 12 cans one night and the next day I had to go to hospital with some weird sort of panic attack. (I've had plenty of panic attacks due to anxiety disorder but this one was completely different).

I was given a liver functioning test and the results were not good. Too many/ not enough enzymes (can't remember which) but the nurse said I needed to stop immediately. I did stop, stopped drinking Druids and for the next two years continued on my downward spiral of non stop drinking.

At the time I was so down on myself that I accepted the fact I was gonna drink myself to death and the worst thing was, I was okay with that.

138 days ago a tragedy brought about a moment of clarity. I didn't want to be a drunken slob anymore, I wanted to live. And here I am, alive and with a new found respect for myself. I hate who I was and i'm starting to like who I'm becoming...

I don't really know what the point in this post was but I've never told anyone how all this came about so I imagine it's just to get it off my chest.

Keep fighting the good fight folks, we're all in it together.

Great post ger! Well done on your sobriety

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Sound advise. Actually downing the water. And the tea. I'm making a written plan of goals and rewards. Thanks for support. Day 2

Camomile tea is great for night time fyi.. very relaxing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Druids was my excuse for saving money and getting a better buzz.
    I used to buy three litres of White Lightning with a litre bottle of Tescos Kick and get hammered in the house for seven quid.
    Cheap and very, very nasty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Hi slow brew one day at a time is all we can do. Everyday I say i will not drink and for that day I dont. Its hard as you say, feckin hard but a lot of us on here keep plodding along, we can do no more than take it day by day. Pure grit and determination is what we need and you will get there.you also need to keep making them plans for when you feel the massive cravings and brain excuses that will certainly come your way,If it's in your head to go out and buy alcohol come on here first and post and read it keeps me accountable, It all helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

Having lost 2 relatives from alcohol related issues I can say OP you are making the right choice.Get your family to help and go to AA.They support you and also valium used to be helpful to my relatives for nerves until they started mixing the 2 for a better buzz.Maybe even a councillor as they listen and are free.Your local doctor will organise that for you if you ask.

I had no relationship with my father over his drinking and he died alone.I saw him get the shakes.Saw him hallucinating and thinking rats were in the room so he bought a dog as he knew if the dog did not move there was nothing there.Saw him 2 stone underweight in a old folks home at 49.This is the future if you go on the drink again as the body will break down.

Having lost 2 relatives from alcohol related issues I can say OP you are making the right choice.Get your family to help and go to AA.They support you and also valium used to be helpful to my relatives for nerves until they started mixing the 2 for a better buzz.Maybe even a councillor as they listen and are free.Your local doctor will organise that for you if you ask.

I had no relationship with my father over his drinking and he died alone.I saw him get the shakes.Saw him hallucinating and thinking rats were in the room so he bought a dog as he knew if the dog did not move there was nothing there.Saw him 2 stone underweight in a old folks home at 49.This is the future if you go on the drink again as the body will break down.

That's why I can't stress the b1 vitamin enough,alcohol effects the central nervous system due to a b1 deficit,alcohol basically stops its production in the body and leeches it out of it,this last bender I was on one of my work mates asked me do I suffer with my nerves which I never have before.a friend of mine was going through withdrawal and was on the verge of convulsions but had the sense to ring himself an ambulance,when they arrived he was in his garden on his hands and knees with the shakes,they immediately gave him a shot of librium and b1......alcohol really is an evil bastard