Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you consider this rude?

• 15-09-2014 3:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭

Something bugging me, I had a house party last friday for family and friends.
    One friend arrived late, stayed for a few minutes then informed me she was heading to the pub to meet a mate and that she would be back. I was a bit taken aback but fairly tipsy so didnt take too much notice of it. She arrived back then at 2am just as things were winding up.
    I thought about it on saturday and I am pissed off

Would you consider what she did rude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Well she did just use you as a place to go when the pubs etc. closed so yeah, it's rude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,387 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Yeah, maybe pub first and then go to your gaff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Maybe she wanted to sleep with you and went away for some dutch courage first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Maybe she wanted to sleep with you and went away for some dutch courage first.
    Nah my wife wouldnt approve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭wardy2

Using you for free drinks at 2am...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

What really annoys you about it though? How did it affect you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Maybe it depends on the formality of the party, how many people were there (was she actually missed), etc.

I wouldn't be overly concerned to be honest.

Rude? Perhaps, but it's not like she got up from the table at a dinner party and left (is it?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

I would be a bit put out to be honest.

The fact that you are thinking about it and posting about it suggests to me that she has previous form for this type of thing..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,985 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

You should have asked her to call or text before arriving after the pub.

Then,
    turn off all the lights/music, and tell everyone to be really quiet, change into your dressing gown, and when she knocked at the door, tell her sorry it was all over.

Then,
    get everyone at the party to constantly be updating their social media with updates/pictures about how great the party is, making sure there is always a clock in view for every picture that was taken.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,641 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Winding up?

Winding down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Pig Ignorance IMO

21/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭indigo twist

I'd build a bridge and get over it OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭DredFX

Well, she did come back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,695 ✭✭✭December2012

Rude. Really rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,429 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Post on this thread, OP. We'd all understand :(

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057290018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,875 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

So your party was too lame at 9 or 10pm but was just about right for a late beer at 2am when all other options were exhausted?

Tell her to go eff herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Keisha07

Sounds like she didn't want to be at your party, don't think I would have been keen to let her back into the house. She turned up was seen by the host, legged it and came back when there was no where else to go, yes it was rude wouldn't be asking her again to a get together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's a pretty minor thing to be really annoyed about tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

What is this thing of people needing to have their feelings validated by the internet? You obviously found it rude, since it's still bothering you, and enough to start a thread about it, isn't that enough? It's generally best not to let other people tell you how to feel. Maybe in her mind she was trying not to let either person down, but then she's kinda underestimating you if she thinks she can pass herself off by making an appearance. It mightn't be intentionally rude but it does hint at selfishness and a lack of cop on. Bit hard for anyone to judge except you, you know her and you know if this is a pattern with her. You either forget about it and move on or you talk to her so you can clarify how you feel.....orrrrr you say nothing, you harbour resentment and you become passive aggressive online :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Probably intended to come back sooner, was having a good time and felt her presence or otherwise wasnt going to be the be all and end all of your party.

Not rude, probably would have been more rude if she didn't show up. Drunken logic no doubt informed her that sure it was only early and things would be in full swing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Yer Aul One

have you considered having funner parties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Nah my wife wouldnt approve

Does you wife have any idea that you fancy your wan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Maybe she doesn't like you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

I would be disappointed with myself if I ever got annoyed at something so trivial.

Life is obviously very good OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Could she just have brought her friend to the party, instead of her leaving to go to the pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

You must have little to worry you OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

There's a million reasons why this could be perfectly acceptable and a million why what she did was not at all fine. I'm a bit busy but here's two of each:

Reasons why it wasn't acceptable:

1) On her way to your gaff she ran over your neighbour's dog and for those few minutes that she was in your house, she spent them worrying about getting rumbled. It was then that it occurred to her that she better go and clean Zeus's blood off her car bumper before someone seen it and so lied to you about having to go and meet a friend at the pub.

2) She only went to your house cause she was broke and when she got there, the bitch noticed that your sister's purse was open and decided to help herself to €40 (2 x 20s). As she then had enough to go elsewhere, she headed off and only wanted to return at 2am so she could check and see if your sister had twigged that some her cash was missing.

Reasons why it was acceptable:

1) She's a fcuking horndog nympho. Mad for sex and not just any sex, crazy mindblowing rough sex and it's only when she's had a few JDs that she can ever reveal this side of herself to men and have the courage to ask them to pull her hair, slap her around etc. She thought that night would be different, she really did. She so badly wanted to attend your get together and for once hook up with a guy and reveal her deviant desires without the need for inebriation. She was wrong. When she got to your house and realized you were all teetotal, her heart started pounded and the desire for alcohol and wild sex got the better of her. She had to get out of there. Just ninety minutes later, she was down the alley way at the side of one of your locals being shagged and choked senselessly by a farmer as two bouncers and a shopkeeper looked on.

2) When she got to your house, she went to use your facilities and as she sat there peeing, she noticed something odd about the hook on the back of your bathroom door.. it had an eye ball directly underneath it. She pretended not to notice, then jumped up and quickly opened the door only to see your old man standing there with his strides around his fecking ankles, pulling the bejaysus out of himself. Naturally she had to leave, and fast, but she didn't want to spoil your night and needed time to think, about whether or not this was something she should tell you about and so that's why she said she had to go to the pub and meet a friend(this excuse is even more acceptable if she didn't grass up your old man when she arrived at 2am).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭chooey

Yeah that's rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭TheCoolWay

You should have just taken a h*****b and left it at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

OP, she's the worst of the worst. She's even worse than Hitler. You wouldn't catch Hitler doing that. I mean Hitler never left a good party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

It depends what type of party it was.

If it was a proper party with decent wine and either a sit down meal, or at least cold buffet set up and posted invitations then I would find it rather rude.

If it was just a load of people, a lash of cans, bad music and frozen "party mix" appetizers then it wasn't rude. That she threw her head in to the place at all is a bonus.