Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Any advice on a Nissan silvia s14.?

• 13-09-2014 1:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31

Hi guys
    I'm Thinking about buying a Nissan Silvia s14 because I've wanted one for quite a while.. I'll get a non turbo or turbo (not too pushed once i get one but I'd rather a turbo one) but I'm just wondering are they heavy on petrol etc and what's the difference power wise. ? I have heard that the non turbos come in at roughly 150 - 165 bhp but not sure about the turbo one's. ? I don't no a whole lot about silvias so any advice on what to look for in them and what there like on juice and power would be appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,522 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

[sensible hat on]
    Have you priced insurance, your username makes me think it won't be cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 fireblade93

colm_mcm wrote: »
    [sensible hat on]
    Have you priced insurance, your username makes me think it won't be cheap.

Haha yea I have priced it I'm 21 with a full license and I've priced my insurance and it is 1200 regardless of it being a turbo or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭ElKavo

Hey Fireblade, I had two, 200 sx s14a (facelift model) There great! and an s14. the turbo ones use the sr20det engine and produce 200 bhp hence the name. You should be able to pick up a nice clean one up for about 5k. Do a good inspection on these as a lot of them have been "power slid" into kerbs and what not. There was one up on done deal or car zone a while back. It may still be up. My preference was red with cream leather but each to their own. Mods are easy enough to come by as the are user in drifting. You can easily enough get 300bhp out of the engine but they are not the strongest out there so I personally wouldn't try for much more than that.

What more can I say. Go for it I never had one issue of mechanics or electrical problems with either of mine anyway...

I also payed 2500 for insurance on my first one... Now wife and kids have drained all stupidity out of me and replaced it with sensible instead :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

personally i wouldn't get a non turbo. if you're paying s14 tax and insurance bill's and getting s14 garda attention, i'd want the turbo. a bit like boy's driving is200's with the altezza kit of non turbo glanza's, it just makes very little sense.

Thanks for all the advice guys really appreciate it.. and just letting you know I would love to get a turbo s14 that's what I'll e looking for but if not ill buy a non turbo one and drop an sr20det into it.. I've got all the info I need so far except for how are they on juice.? I'd like to know for both turbo and non turbo ones I think there lighter on juice than an altezza and is 200 anyways but just looking to see if I can get some sort of idea

Thanks guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

i dont know. if you're looking at an s14 and concerned about fuel bills, it mightn't really be the car for you.

I understand what ya mean but I'm asking out of curiosity. I've had a bit teg type r and an ep3 so petrol isn't an issue ill be able to run it I'm just wondering cos it'd never heard anyone saying if there good or bad on juice

It used to take me a tank and a quarter a week to get too and from work, Leixlip to santry and any other faffin around. Not always at speed limit though...

ElKavo wrote: »
    It used to take me a tank and a quarter a week to get too and from work, Leixlip to santry and any other faffin around. Not always at speed limit though...

Ah that's alri so ha.. was yours a turbo or non turbo just asking.? My dc2 was harder than that on petrol so if that's the case I'll be grand to run it.. It just I never heard anyone saying how hard they were on petrol so I'm curious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

I had a non turbo 14A, was grand on juice, but my advice would be to get the turbo.

Ah that's alri so ha.. was yours a turbo or non turbo just asking.? My dc2 was harder than that on petrol so if that's the case I'll be grand to run it.. It just I never heard anyone saying how hard they were on petrol so I'm curious

Turbo and modded to 240 bhp. Blitz nur spec exhaust on it. Lovely thump out of it..;) Seriously I would buy another one in the morning if I had the free funds! The s15 is also a very tasty looking car and there are a number of the wide body ones around too. Mine was the s14a which had the face lift. the s 14 which i also had had different front lights ( rounder and not as menacing)

Thanks for all the advice guys really appreciate it.. and just letting you know I would love to get a turbo s14 that's what I'll e looking for but if not ill buy a non turbo one and drop an sr20det into it.. I've got all the info I need so far except for how are they on juice.? I'd like to know for both turbo and non turbo ones I think there lighter on juice than an altezza and is 200 anyways but just looking to see if I can get some sort of idea

Thanks guys

There is also a twin turbo conversion you can get for them :rolleyes:

ElKavo wrote: »
    Turbo and modded to 240 bhp. Blitz nur spec exhaust on it. Lovely thump out of it..;) Seriously I would buy another one in the morning if I had the free funds! The s15 is also a very tasty looking car and there are a number of the wide body ones around too. Mine was the s14a which had the face lift. the s 14 which i also had had different front lights ( rounder and not as menacing)

I completely agree with everythin you have just said. S15 is my dream car but don't have the funds at the moment as any of the nice ones are going for roughly 9k - 11k at the moment so I don't have that money to hand out for one, I'd get one in the morning if I had the money for one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Bit o.t but I'm wondering what company is insuring a 21 year old on dc2 and ep3? I'm a clean full license as full no claims and can't get a quote on a ek9

kona wrote: »
    Bit o.t but I'm wondering what company is insuring a 21 year old on dc2 and ep3? I'm a clean full license as full no claims and can't get a quote on a ek9

I went through Campion insurance on a young drivers scheme and they got me insurance one I had all the EDT lessons done, currently I'm insured with Asgard through campion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

I'm getting 25-28mpg from mine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I have a non-turbo 33 skyline and my ins company pulled serious faces about insuring it. Im in my 40's.. full no claims and driving since 17... I always wonder how lads get insurance on the like of these..and €1200 sounds VERY cheap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭hi_im_fil

You just have to be pushy with them