Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cannon Ball Run Galway. Saturday 13 Sept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

http://www.cannonball.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=64&Itemid=2
    this might be of interest to some of ye,tomorrow eve on the prom in galway.
    :D:D:D
    (tip : bring a camera :D)

After being 3 hours late, and still no show, a lot of people went home. Very poor show all round.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

galwaytt wrote: »
    After being 3 hours late, and still no show, a lot of people went home. Very poor show all round.

Times look wrong alright, 2 hours from salthill to cahir today? Could take you 2 hours from limerick to cahir on a sunday, everyone driving that road is on horse tranquilizers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I don't understand how that happened.
    I watched them leave ballina yesterday. The last of them were on their way and outside the town before 4. 2 hours should bring them to Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

They were on Tuam rd around 18:15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭MaxFlower

They were here http://binged.it/1y2vbhC at 4.45.
    Hung around for a little over an hour. Behaved pretty badly (speeding in a 50km/h, dangerous overtaking, drifting, urination in public). Gardaí had to stop some of the drivers.

But hey, its all for charity, so that makes it ok I guess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Pretty surprised to hear the drivers are at that. Or was it some hangers on spectators?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Pretty surprised to hear the drivers are at that. Or was it some hangers on spectators?

Don't mind to hear a bit of making as long as it's safe messing. From what I did hear, there was potential for accidents where they were flooring the pedal in crowded streets. All low speed stuff but put a very average driver in a Ferrari that may not even be him own and silly accidents can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

ba_barabus wrote: »

Really? I amnt surprised at all. Anytime I've egged on a much faster car, eg an audi r8 or an m5 (by literally giving him the thumbs up, not acting the dickhead) he's planted it.
    People watching the cannonball expect to hear the engines roar, not softly hum through the street. They want to hear and see them opened up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Really? I amnt surprised at all. Anytime I've egged on a much faster car, eg an audi r8 or an m5 (by literally giving him the thumbs up, not acting the dickhead) he's planted it.
    People watching the cannonball expect to hear the engines roar, not softly hum through the street. They want to hear and see them opened up

That's a bit different to the above description. What's described above sounds like young lads messing about in car parks, come on like the guy mentioned public urination. They were hardly revving the nuts off themselves that much :eek:

You're right though, I shouldn't be surprised. I passed a lovely F430 yesterday outside Newry with the bonnet propped open with a lump of wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

From being at a few of these events, both in Ireland and the US, you get generally two camps of people. Those that actually own and love their cars, act responsibly and take the rap when they get caught (i.e. speeding etc). And lads and lassies, who have too much money, don't care and will put other peoples lives in danger. The 'in it to win it' type of mentality and a length measuring competition thrown in there as well. Sadly, the latter camp while being the smallest gets the most press coverage. Sad really.

I don't know the story here but I'd imagine there would be a rogue element attracted to the noise and motors on show, and with nothing else to do on a Sunday bar drink Dutch Gold, it could be mixed up with the genuine folk. Any reports or feedback of the Irish Cannonball have always been immensely positive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

ironclaw wrote: »
    From being at a few of these events, both in Ireland and the US, you get generally two camps of people. Those that actually own and love their cars, act responsibly and take the rap when they get caught (i.e. speeding etc). And lads and lassies, who have too much money, don't care and will put other peoples lives in danger. The 'in it to win it' type of mentality and a length measuring competition thrown in there as well. Sadly, the latter camp while being the smallest gets the most press coverage. Sad really.

I don't know the story here but I'd imagine there would be a rogue element attracted to the noise and motors on show, and with nothing else to do on a Sunday bar drink Dutch Gold, it could be mixed up with the genuine folk. Any reports or feedback of the Irish Cannonball have always been immensely positive.

A friend of mine is the chap who started/runs the Cannonball - it generates great money for charity, puts on a show for people and gives car enthusiasts a chance to see some lovely metal. The positives far outweigh the negatives and with the best will in the world, there will always be a few "challenged" individuals. Huge effort goes into staging it and to me, it's a great event. Fair play Mr AB. :)

I did see a chap with a silver m5 doing donuts on the main route out of ballina. It was a little over the top. Probably 100% safe as a few of the cannonball cars were in front and behind him but I could see how it would frighten the crap out of an older person coming along.

A friend of mine is the chap who started/runs the Cannonball - it generates great money for charity, puts on a show for people and gives car enthusiasts a chance to see some lovely metal. The positives far outweigh the negatives and with the best will in the world, there will always be a few "challenged" individuals. Huge effort goes into staging it and to me, it's a great event. Fair play Mr AB. :)

Absolutely agree. I don't know AB personally, but always heard good things. If anything lads, the Irish Cannonball is tame compared to the US side of things. The Irish daily leg would be what we would do before lunch. Its quite something when your GPS says 'Enter freeway and continue for 260 miles' We leap frogged a group once out of Dallas for a 300mile leg to lunch. Keeping to the speed limit (or so) it took us about 4 hours. They arrived (Having left 90 mins after us) only 40 mins later. Your talking averages of 100mph+

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Went to see it in Cahir today and they were very late arriving but I was in pure heaven, loved when the guys/girls revved those engines nothing like the sound of a Lambo :D although I wouldn't call a Fiat Abarth a super car but the rest were magical :D A few of us followed them onto Tullamore and to see all those cars on the M8 was breath taking but I must say the majority of them were speeding and mixed in with Sunday drivers was an accident waiting to happen but I loved it and hopefully next year will participate in it. :) I'm still drooling over my photos :D

Just reading some of the comments on social media this morning. People complaining about being left for '3 hours' in the cold with their kids and moaning about it. As if the Cannonball is a seal that has dance to their tune and that them being late was an outrage. One person even made the comment that 'without crowds they'd be no event'. Absolutely sickening attitude from the majority of posters but sadly I'm not even remotely surprised by the Irish begrudging attitude. People can't even be happy with a free event.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Just reading some of the comments on social media this morning. People complaining about being left for '3 hours' in the cold with their kids and moaning about it. As if the Cannonball is a seal that has dance to their tune and that them being late was an outrage. One person even made the comment that 'without crowds they'd be no event'. Absolutely sickening attitude from the majority of posters but sadly I'm not even remotely surprised by the Irish begrudging attitude. People can't even be happy with a free event.

If it wasn't the free event, it'd be something else they'd be whinging about no doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

I mean, when do you get to see so many cool cars for free?
    Idiots to be complaining. Sure the owners even paid for the fuel to get there to show you their cars for free and you still have the nerve to complain? idiots.

Sorry, but you're the one that's wrong here.
    You're forgetting that the CR itself is what does the publicity, arranges the stopping points, and advertises the fact.

I like cars, love cars even, and good events. The cannonball run is not a car event. Poor driving, risk taking and law breaking makes it rich man's version of what goes on in Civics at cross roads in the wee small hours. .... and someone will eventful get hurt.

I'm not a begrudger- but I wouldn't bring my 911 within an asses roar of it.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

I waited around myself in Salthill for nearly 2 hours before running out of patience. The organization was a bit patchy to be honest. Fortunately I timed my journey home perfectly as I managed to get a birds eye view (and ear!) of most of them at the junction on the Tuam road. A great sight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

You're forgetting that the CR itself is what does the publicity, arranges the stopping points, and advertises the fact.

I like cars, love cars even, and good events. The cannonball run is not a car event. Poor driving, risk taking and law breaking makes it rich man's version of what goes on in Civics at cross roads in the wee small hours. .... and someone will eventful get hurt.

I don't get your angle to be honest. It's a free event that is funded by the participants themselves. You'll get clown's at any car related event you go to, thinking otherwise would be naive.

Gumball and Gold Rush both publish their routes. Bullrun don't, but that's the whole point of their particular rally. But never, not once, at any of the check points have I heard cries of 'Your late' and 'It wouldn't be an event if we the crowd didn't show up' These are lads and lassies who pay to attend the event, pay their ferry / transport, pay their fuel and then many make donations again for the charities in question. I would bargain less than 1% of those that turned up to gawk at these cars made a donation to the charities in question but probably 99% grabbed a freebie that was going from the various sponsors. If you want to see more supercars than you'll ever see at any motorshow in Ireland, turn up and be patient. If not, stay at home and look at the photos on line. But sweet jesus, don't go online and complain about them being late. I'm sorry, its way out of line.

Yes, it is a rich mans version of what goes on in the wee hours in Civcis, at least, the part that makes the headlines. To be fair, the vast majority of drivers I've ever met have been complete gentleman / ladies, both on the road and in the club after. I've seen more than one polite altercation at the end of dat hotel pool / checkpoint where a driver was told to so down and stop being a plank. And they complied. At the end of the day, at every pre-rally drivers meeting, the first words are 'Its not a race' and it isn't. None of these events want the bad press and they all take action against drivers that bring the events into disrepute.

I'd encourage anyone to take the low entry fee of either modball or Cannonball, and do it once. Its an experience, just drive it as you see fit and enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Anybody attend between Birr and tullamore yesterday??

..... It's made Joe Duffy now. ...

Ode To The Motorist

..... It's made Joe Duffy now. ...

Cant listen to that show..
    What are they saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

What are they saying?

Jaysus Joe there was a ferrari with no NCT on it, he could have killed someone

EazyD wrote: »
    I don't get your angle to be honest. It's a free event that is funded by the participants themselves. You'll get clown's at any car related event you go to, thinking otherwise would be naive.

"Angle" ??
    I have no angle. I'm all for motor-related social activities. And charity raising ones in particular. I participated in one only 2 weeks ago myself.

But I do expect consideration of the public they want, and actively encourage, to attend.

And I expect the participants to exercise caution and respect for that audience, in particular on the road. Doing doughnuts on an industrial estate is just acting the yob.

It's no coincidence I think that this event is used as an opportunity by those beyond the reach of AGS to do that which HM constabulary would lock you up for. A look at the colour of a lot of the number plates will tell you that. ..

Ode To The Motorist

What are they saying?

Undertaking on the motorway, on the hard shoulder. ... to stay ahead of their buddies. ...

It's not the speed per se, it's the stupidity of it..

Ode To The Motorist

Undertaking on the motorway, on the hard shoulder. ... to stay ahead of their buddies. ...

A lot of that goes on at most (virtually all) car runs though.
    I think the problem is that the audience here were not the usual car show audience and didnt know what to expect.

..apparently it's on 2 dash cams....... Interesting. ..

Ode To The Motorist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭Comhrá

Where are the damn high-horse-brigade when you want them???

Never one to be seen when this sort of stuff happens........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

Much as I love the event, events of this type will always attract a bit of an hooray henry London cityboy element.