Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landsail tyres - any actual users?

• 12-09-2014 4:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭

Hi there

Wondering has anyone actual experience of using Landsail tyres?

I know the argument of cheap tyres/ditch finders etc so not looking to have that discussion just wondering about this particular brand.

Tyre supplier reckons they are quite good and not cheap tyres but "good value good tyres" !

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

which model of tyre ?

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Landsail/LS288.htm

ˆˆˆˆˆˆˆ compare the model you're looking at buying with a Dunlop/GoodYear etc using the above site.

That'll give you an idea of what you are gonna buy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭frankz

mikeecho wrote: »
    which model of tyre ?

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Landsail/LS288.htm

ˆˆˆˆˆˆˆ compare the model you're looking at buying with a Dunlop/GoodYear etc using the above site.

That'll give you an idea of what you are gonna buy

Thanks so much - I will check that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Currently fitted to my car since i bought it

Worst tyre ever. As soon as its wet youll end up in every wall, ditch and other vehicle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Currently fitted to my car since i bought it

Worst tyre ever. As soon as its wet youll end up in every wall, ditch and other vehicle

I've some firstspeed response ****e in the rear of mine, (rwd) they're fine if you like to get the tail out unexpectedly in damp conditions and scare the crap outta yourself, cos there is a car in on the outside lane of the roundabout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

mikeecho wrote: »
    I've some firstspeed response ****e in the rear of mine, (rwd) they're fine if you like to get the tail out unexpectedly in damp conditions and scare the crap outta yourself, cos there is a car in on the outside lane of the roundabout.

I had them on the back of a Corolla and experienced similar results at very low speed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

I noticed that the fitter chap popped Lin Longs onto one of the vans. I lolled. Then I checked the invoice...€70 for a Lin Long...laughter stopped a bit..wtf is a Lin Long??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

I noticed that the fitter chap popped Lin Longs onto one of the vans. I lolled. Then I checked the invoice...€70 for a Lin Long...laughter stopped a bit..wtf is a Lin Long??

I dunno but I'm guessing you won't live long with lin long!

Here they are actually

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I've had them before. Land sh*te.

Similar experience to doublerats tyres, which are more sh*te

The name didn't conjure up much faith in the quality tbh..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

frankz wrote: »
    Tyre supplier reckons they are quite good and not cheap tyres but "good value good tyres" ! .

I know you don't want that same old argument but I've yet to come across an honest tyre supplier in Ireland when it comes to making a sale of tyres. They always reckon they're quite good, not the best but good value. Sure he has them on his wife's car etc etc

Yawns wrote: »
    I know you don't want that same old argument but I've yet to come across an honest tyre supplier in Ireland when it comes to making a sale of tyres. They always reckon they're quite good, not the best but good value. Sure he has them on his wife's car etc etc

Thanks for that fair point.

Thanks for the feedback from users of Landsail.

On tyreriews website (above from mikeecho) they seem to get better reviews than bridgestone!

(From what I can see Firstspeed and Linlong seem to be different brands so I presume they are just general comments rather than answers to the Landsail question)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Spocks favourite tyre.
    Lin long and prosper!

"grand tyre, shur all the taxi drivers are using them"

Let boardsies know how you get on with them anyway frankz, if we don't hear back from you... We'll assume it didn't work out too good...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

frankz wrote: »
    Hi there

Wondering has anyone actual experience of using Landsail tyres?

I know the argument of cheap tyres/ditch finders etc so not looking to have that discussion just wondering about this particular brand.

Tyre supplier reckons they are quite good and not cheap tyres but "good value good tyres" !

Thanks.

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/

Firmly rooted in the budget tyre section with some ok reviews but some fairly bad reviews. Someone called them landslides lol. The mother put 4 of them on her accord even though I rotted her about chinese tyres for months beforehand. She's had a few slides and grief with seemingly hard to find slow punctures. They have 15k miles on them and will be off soon enough I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

When I bough car it had 4 triangle tyres good thread depth gripped great in dry but in wet car would slide accelerating braking or turning. It was the worse set of tyres I ever had on any car.

When I asked tyre fitter he said he describes them as economical high mileage tyres.
    More like economical with the truth.

Anyway replace all 4 with branded tyres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭A Law

Woman in the local tyre shop tried to tell me that triangle tyres where rated better than rainsport 3's when was in trying to price a set for myself.

"Ah shure they're great, everyones getting them.." yeah, 'cos ye don't stock anything except these crap. Our tyre lads, who are close, literally stock nothing but ditch finders these last few months. Getting them to order in Vredestein or the like is almost impossible. Time for new tyre lads methinks. Lin Long. Feck off.

Spocks favourite tyre.
    Lin long and prosper!

"grand tyre, shur all the taxi drivers are using them"

Let boardsies know how you get on with them anyway frankz, if we don't hear back from you... We'll assume it didn't work out too good...

No, you mixed it up. It was the landsail I was asking about.
    Dont know Lin long its a different brand altogether, dont know why people are joining up brands, if we do that we will be talking about 100s of brands
    http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/

Firmly rooted in the budget tyre section with some ok reviews but some fairly bad reviews. Someone called them landslides lol. The mother put 4 of them on her accord even though I rotted her about chinese tyres for months beforehand. She's had a few slides and grief with seemingly hard to find slow punctures. They have 15k miles on them and will be off soon enough I'd say.

Thanks for that, some great reviews and some poor.
    Thanks for the feedback from actual use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Two things I never scrimp on, tyres and teabags.
    It's served me well so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭ffocused

my current car came with Landsails on the back, they were on my 'to do list' for replacement until one day i did a 180 degree spin on a mildly moist roundabout. They were replaced the next day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Its hard not to put all Chinese tyres into the same bucket but with lack of real prove it is the only bucket.

Im sure one day they will make a good tyre under some brand nane. But they have been at it years and the wet grip is still appalling.