Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Value of stock bull?

• 12-09-2014 11:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭

Have a guy coming to buy two stock bulls later, but have no idea what they're worth. Both 4 yr olds, Hereford and an Angus (canadian Angus, tall and big frame). Hereford good condition, fit to kill. Angus would take more feeding, but would be worth feeding. At a guess, average weights 850+kgs. Anyone any idea of their value?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Have a guy coming to buy two stock bulls later, but have no idea what they're worth. Both 4 yr olds, Hereford and an Angus (canadian Angus, tall and big frame). Hereford good condition, fit to kill. Angus would take more feeding, but would be worth feeding. At a guess, average weights 850+kgs. Anyone any idea of their value?

500 kgs DW at 2.60 . 1300

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Why not bring them to the mart if you are unsure of their value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Why not bring them to the mart if you are unsure of their value.

Can't go to the mart due to health reasons, the place makes me sick!

500 kgs DW at 2.60 . 1300

Thanx butcher boy, would they kill out as high as 500kgs dead weight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Sold fr 920 kg in mart score 2.7- had been working hard 1100e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

lad im doing relief work for has some jerseys and friesan stock bulls for the hook on mon will let you know what they get

Sold for €1350, each!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Sold for €1350, each!
    good price im sure they have earned there keep at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Markcheese

trixi2011 wrote: »
    good price im sure they have earned there keep at that

How much will it cost to replace them though??

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    How much will it cost to replace them though??

Agreed, but I've kept them for the last few winters and they're a pain in the ass. Having to have two places for them(they don't get on!) and trying to keep them away from culls etc. will replace them with two younger bulls nxt yr, and will have to winter them again. So looking forward to this winter with no bulls!

Sold for €1350, each!

good man ,they are a hard sell at the moment,was it to feed or kill them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

This lad nearly 24 months 600kg .. Going to throw him into mart Saturday .. Have no more use for him

photo_zps1a794e51.jpg

He will never be over big but I wonder what he's worth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Surely he'd be worth more for breeding than the factory ? If he has much of a pedigree...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Markcheese wrote: »
    Surely he'd be worth more for breeding than the factory ? If he has much of a pedigree...

He not registered Mark .. Out of Ardlea Dan ADX and a non reg cow .. If I get 1200 I be delighted ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Bodacious wrote: »
    He not registered Mark .. Out of Ardlea Dan ADX and a non reg cow .. If I get 1200 I be delighted ..

You'd be surprised how many people still run scrub bulls. He'd have a lot more breeding than those!!

Bad time of year to sell a breeding bull though.

.Kovu. wrote: »
    You'd be surprised how many people still run scrub bulls. He'd have a lot more breeding than those!!

Bad time of year to sell a breeding bull though.

He owes me nothing at this stage.. Bulled 7 heifers and few cows and then hired him out for 8 weeks .. Cash him in now , he dead quiet and first calf out of him is a right good calf but feeding or breeding (wrong time of year unless autumn calving for heifers) ... Was nearly going to cut the ring out of him of going for feeding but if a man wanted him for breeding he'd prefer ring on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

He owes me nothing at this stage.. Bulled 7 heifers and few cows and then hired him out for 8 weeks .. Cash him in now , he dead quiet and first calf out of him is a right good calf but feeding or breeding (wrong time of year unless autumn calving for heifers) ... Was nearly going to cut the ring out of him of going for feeding but if a man wanted him for breeding he'd prefer ring on him

I'd leave the ring in him. If a feeding man buys him it'll hardly bother him that much. If he wants he can take it out.
    If you did want to take it out is there not just a little screw to take out rather than cutting.

Thing is Bodacious, he's a nice looking bull for breeding, he's got length and isn't the height of a stallion. I know a neighbour of mine gave more for a similar bull a few weeks back but he wouldn't be the best cattle man around.

I'd leave the ring in him. If a feeding man buys him it'll hardly bother him that much. If he wants he can take it out.
    If you did want to take it out is there not just a little screw to take out rather than cutting.

hi j.o.,

doesn't it break off when you twist little screw closed on him.. had it in my hand this evening and never looked!

ill leave it in anyway

Thing is Bodacious, he's a nice looking bull for breeding, he's got length and isn't the height of a stallion. I know a neighbour of mine gave more for a similar bull a few weeks back but he wouldn't be the best cattle man around.

yeah he be a grand bull now for someone with heifers but I am clearing out on cattle numbers, booked himself and a big char 2008 dry cow in for Saturday (Balla), she fine cow but purposely held her dry as too slow to come bulling.. big feeding cow for someone

He'll be penned on his own. What harm to put a ntice of breeding on the gate to him?
    Non-reg-LM bull sort of thing.

He'll be penned on his own. What harm to put a ntice of breeding on the gate to him?
    Non-reg-LM bull sort of thing.

might do that ... thanks.

I sold a very good PBNR limousine heifer there before like that, no paper notice just verbal but there was a queue of lads into her pen and she was a pure pet.. I often wondered did she breed or get the knife.. is there a website or would you have to ring the dvo and ask about her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭tanko

might do that ... thanks.

I sold a very good PBNR limousine heifer there before like that, no paper notice just verbal but there was a queue of lads into her pen and she was a pure pet.. I often wondered did she breed or get the knife.. is there a website or would you have to ring the dvo and ask about her?

If you look up agfood.ie on a date when she was in your herd, it will tell you if she's dead or not and when she was killed if she was.

Also if you are a member of ICBF, the slaughter section might tell you how she killed out if she went for slaughter.

tanko wrote: »
    If you look up agfood.ie on a date when she was in your herd, it will tell you if she's dead or not and when she was killed if she was.

Also if you are a member of ICBF, the slaughter section might tell you how she killed out if she went for slaughter.

Was using my dads herdnumber then and neither registered with agfood or icbf .. I have the tag number and blue book filled out but that's it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

hi j.o.,

doesn't it break off when you twist little screw closed on him.. had it in my hand this evening and never looked!

ill leave it in anyway

I think when it breaks off it leaves a small screw that can be opened with a small phase tester screwdriver.
    I could be wrong though. It's been a while since I was that near one.

Man of my word..

Verdict E1050 ;-( 585kg, 23 months I took it reluctantly .... he had loads of admirers but as no papers went for finishing id say

I nearly took him home and get vet to cut him clean but that's another E100 and if he bulls something in the meantime on me or neighbours.. I took the E1050 less hassle and more grass for my weanlings, should have sold him in the summer when heifers scanned in calf but I only paid E900 for him and had him hired out for E250 so really I got 1300

got 1475 for cull cow 860kg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Our Ch bull turned from being a bit nervous to a complete and utter danger inside the few mths. 5 weeks ago him and the cows came into the shed. The cows came out, he didn't. He got ration for the last 5 weeks, and was killed last tue.
    17 mths old. U2+. 384kgs dead. He came into E1414.

Never as happy to see any animal go up the ramp!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Our Ch bull turned from being a bit nervous to a complete and utter danger inside the few mths. 5 weeks ago him and the cows came into the shed. The cows came out, he didn't. He got ration for the last 5 weeks, and was killed last tue.

Fair play, not too often a CH goes like that especially at that age.
    Least the AI bulls won't be a danger to the family

Farrell wrote: »
    Fair play, not too often a CH goes like that especially at that age.
    Least the AI bulls won't be a danger to the family

I think he found out we were using a good bit of AI and he wasn't impressed:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,360 ✭✭✭tanko

I think he found out we were using a good bit of AI and he wasn't impressed:D

368 c/kg, you did alrite there:).

tanko wrote: »
    368 c/kg, you did alrite there:).

370 I was told. I may check the docket.

sorry to hear that Genghis at that age you probably only bought him this season ,, safety first though!!

We bred him ourselves. He was a more than a half brother to our last lad who was grand and quiet. ( is there such thing as a 3/4 brother?) Be interesting to see what calves he leaves!
    On a positive note, his replacement is coming along nicely :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

We bred him ourselves. He was a more than a half brother to our last lad who was grand and quiet. ( is there such thing as a 3/4 brother?) Be interesting to see what calves he leaves!
    On a positive note, his replacement is coming along nicely :-)

You did the right thing anyway, had a young bull go wicked on me aswell last year. Only the one job for them lads!