Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf Grips

• 11-09-2014 12:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭

Wondering if anybody had advice on golf grips........

When I got my current set of golf clubs I got fitted for them and they also fitted the grips ( Ping clubs ). I'm not really in a position to change the clubs and the grips really do need to be changed.

Am just wonderign if there is really any major difference in any of them and if anybody had any recommendations?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

When i got a new (secondhand) set of irons there earlier in the year they came with new cheap horrible narrow grips on them. Played with them for a while but hated them.
    I got a new set of grips in the local golf shop and he measured my hands before fitting the new ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

I found 'Pure' grips from the states and I love them. Not only are they quite good value for money but they have a much higher rubber content than any other grips - so they say anyway. But it seems to be true because they feel much tackier than anything else I had and the tackiness also seems to last.
    I got the P2 wraps for €40 (plus 12 for shipping) for 13 and I'm very happy with them. Fitted them myself and not only was it the cheapest re-grip so far but also seems the best grip I had including multi compounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭Fatswaldo

Great idea, gives clubs a new lease of life. Grips of all sizes and types are easily available on line. Ive done my own clubs and several other sets for friends. I currently use Black Widow Tour Silk II, changed them in March this year and so far so good. I like them a lot. Easy to do with plenty of online instruction vids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭ryaner777

Boskowski wrote: »
    I found 'Pure' grips from the states and I love them. Not only are they quite good value for money but they have a much higher rubber content than any other grips - so they say anyway. But it seems to be true because they feel much tackier than anything else I had and the tackiness also seems to last.
    I got the P2 wraps for €40 (plus 12 for shipping) for 13 and I'm very happy with them. Fitted them myself and not only was it the cheapest re-grip so far but also seems the best grip I had including multi compounds.

Hi Boskowski,

Which site did you order them off ? I've tried their own site but they seem alot more expensive

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭HB2002

ryaner777 wrote: »
    Hi Boskowski,

Which site did you order them off ? I've tried their own site but they seem alot more expensive

Cheers

Was just on to their site too and it seems to be about €60 excluding delivery. I've emailed them to get a price for delivery.

Fatswaldo wrote: »
    Great idea, gives clubs a new lease of life. Grips of all sizes and types are easily available on line. Ive done my own clubs and several other sets for friends. I currently use Black Widow Tour Silk II, changed them in March this year and so far so good. I like them a lot. Easy to do with plenty of online instruction vids.

Is it easy to fit them?
    Club pro quoted me 3 quid a club to fit them......

www.hirekogolf.com

I found some great deals on grips and fitting kits on this site.

I've email them a price for postage. Has anyone ever heard of them ? Website seems legit

www.hirekogolf.com

I found some great deals on grips and fitting kits on this site.

I've email them a price for postage. Has anyone ever heard of them ? Website seems legit

Went on to the site to have a look at the grips and am thinking of buying a trolley now!... free shipping... free Bridgestone golf balls
    about €140 for the lot........

http://www.hirekogolf.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=Buy+a+Flip+N%27+Go+4&utm_source=Featured%20Homepage%20Flip%20N%20Go%20With%20Free%20Balls&utm_medium=Featured%20Homepage%20Flip%20N%20Go%20With%20Free%20Balls&utm_campaign=Featured%20Homepage%20Flip%20N%20Go%20With%20Free%20Balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

The site is in the USA and they won't ship to Europe unless you contact them by phone (and you won't get free shipping and will probably be caught for customs duties).

If you want to order Hireko stuff here in Europe then best to go with http://www.nordicagolf.com/ although I have never dealt with them myself.

I normally order from gamola golf and they are reliable. http://www.gamolagolf.co.uk/

Are you sure it's free shipping to ireland ? Be careful with customs as well

Hi Boskowski,

Cheers

I actually got them of ebay where for some strange reason they're cheaper. I got them from this guy: http://www.ebay.ie/sch/one0wonder/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=25&_trksid=p3984.m1543.l2654

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

HB2002 wrote: »
    Is it easy to fit them?
    Club pro quoted me 3 quid a club to fit them......

27 quid for 9 irons sounds ok to me..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,035 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Whats the durability like on the Pure grips ,I heard the multi compound ones wear out after less than a year .

I have extremely sweaty hands so have to wear a Footjoy rain glove at all times and a good grip is vital to me .
    I currently use tour velvet grips as I find them good but I have been thinking of switching to leather grips as they are supposed to be great for sweaty hands.

Zardoz wrote: »
    Whats the durability like on the Pure grips ,I heard the multi compound ones wear out after less than a year .

I have extremely sweaty hands so have to wear a Footjoy rain glove at all times and a good grip is vital to me .
    I currently use tour velvet grips as I find them good but I have been thinking of switching to leather grips as they are supposed to be great for sweaty hands.

Pure Grips just got back to me
    "
    We can ship to you from our warehouse in Sweden, shipping time is 1-3 days with Fedex and the cost is 11€.
    We carry all models, sizes and colors. Your cost, including tax, is
    Black Pro and P2 Wrap: €7,99
    Colored Pro and P2Wrap and all DTX (including black): €8.99
    Price is regardless of size.
    We offer a one year guarantee, if you wear them out or if they lose their tackiness we will replace them."

I actually got them of ebay where for some strange reason they're cheaper. I got them from this guy: http://www.ebay.ie/sch/one0wonder/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=25&_trksid=p3984.m1543.l2654

And are they legit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭leroythelegend

I regripped my clubs last year and I'm happy out with them, loads of youtube videos giving instruction.
    I went for the golf pride multi compund.
    I purchased mine at gamola golf and the delivery was very quick, they have a great selection. http://www.gamolagolf.co.uk/

Check out gamola ebay shop

http://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/gamola?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

Some great bargains and shipping is much cheaper than on their website

I got 9 sharpro grips for €25 inc delivery last night

After reading kevins blog I went for lime green colour to try and force myself to play good shots ;)

HB2002 wrote: »
    And are they legit?

How do you mean? As in are they real 'Pure' grips?

I wouldn't know 100% tbh, first time I tried them. Whatever they are, I like them more than any other grip I tried so far.

But I had some convo with the seller when I ordered my 13 and he was very keen and was wondering if I was willing to become some sort of Irish outpost of his 'Pure' ebay shop. He thought I might have loads of friends or just other club members who might be interested in them. But I'm busy enough in work and didn't think it was worth the hassle, I just wanted to try these pure rubber yokes cos they seemed great value and I read good things about them.

I never had any reason to question their legitimacy. I got the impression they're kinda the new kid on the block and the rubber content is their way of distinguishing themselves from the established brands. I didn't think there would be counterfeits for those. I simply assumed he probably got a wholesale rate or something. After using them for 9 months I still have no reason to believe they're not what they claim to be.

I got a new driver the other week - well the same I already have just with a stiff shaft and brand new, and I also got a 3 hybrid and will order a few more of those grips to have all my clubs in line.

Check out gamola ebay shop

http://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/gamola?_trksid=p2047675.l2559

Some great bargains and shipping is much cheaper than on their website

I got 9 sharpro grips for €25 inc delivery last night

After reading kevins blog I went for lime green colour to try and force myself to play good shots ;)

Ye I tried the sharpro myself last year. I read all the claims of being equal to the GolfPride Multicompounds. Well they are a decent multicompound grip. If you're on a budget (well, who isn't) they are an alternative to the GolfPrides. But they are not as good as the GPs. The material seems thinner, they don't feel as full and quite as tacky as the GPs. But I thought the difference was marginal. I thought while the GPs were 100% dearer they sure weren't 100% better, maybe 20%.

As for gamola, they're fine. I used them and they were very good. But I'm now with the 'Pure' stuff and it seems I will be sticking (ding ding) with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I typically re-grip my clubs once the OEM ones start to wear away. For as long as I remember I've been buying Golf Pride multi compound grips.

There is benefits being measured alright, but for myself I'm just run of the mill standard, so I typically pickup a set from ebay or adverts and then get the pro to fit them on. Works out relatively cheap.

Last time round I did it I paid something like €40 for the grips and then €20 for the work to have them put on. I think, havn't had it done in ages.

Plenty of independant sellers and pro-shops are trading on ebay and adverts now, so you can get decent prices and relatively quick shipping from Irish stores/pro shops.

Adverts can be a bit of a rip, being 80 quid for a set of 10-13. But if your the sort that likes to have some return to an irish place it's the safest bet.

I normally buy sets from Ebay.com, and they normally come from a US pro shop or mega store.

I've always been weary of going for brands outside of the "known". And I've just ended up sticking with Golf Pride for aslong as I can remember.

I'll also admit the sad part that I like to have my grip colours match my bag of the time :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Redriddick

Lads,
    What are the pure grips like???
    I see a guy on adverts selling them and might be interested in getting some.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,577 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

What a coincidence, I'm organising today to get my irons done and going for Golf Pride multi compound onto my Ping G20's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

slave1 wrote: »
    What a coincidence, I'm organising today to get my irons done and going for Golf Pride multi compound onto my Ping G20's

Just treats have a deal. For 6 of these grips fitted for 18e. Seems ridiculous. Surely they can't be real?

Wilson grips are €18 on that deal and golf pride are €35

Ahh i see now. Read it to quickly.

Still seems pretty cheap so good deal if they are not the cheap Chinese knock offs.

That's where I just ordered mine, 6 is fine because I don't use that many irons and the rest of my clubs are new, phoned them and seem sound with quick turnaround so another necessary expense taken care of at a good price...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭ShivasIrons

Wilson grips are €18 on that deal and golf pride are €35

I'd be very very wary of multi compound grips at that price.

The Wilson grips should be fine.

I'd be very very wary of multi compound grips at that price.

The Wilson grips should be fine.

That's what I was thinking myself ..

Jeez lads, JustTreats are now JustGolf, I've bought Oakley, Bridgestone gear (legit) as well as great value green fees, a website like this is a deep discount model so expectations are of a low low price else they would have dried up by now.
    If someone wants to get out there with some publicity or move excess inventory this is the way to do it given JustGolf's distribution list of ready to buy golfers.
    This crowd (probably just a solo effort from some guy or two mates) probably want to move excess inventory at a quiet time of the year, bring in some trading cash and use that cash to finance further purchases at greater margin, that's how a good business operates when required...
    €36 for 6 grips, is that really that significant a loss line that would drive someone to peddle counterfeit goods? A quick search shows these on sale from reputable US based suppliers at $7 a pop...€6 fitted does not appear that mad, yes on the better value for money side of things but not warning bells time IMHO. Are grips now giffen goods?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

Hi all, can anyone give any reccomendations on the best golf grips to get, and value for money? Current grips are losing their "tacky" feel and have started to harden and feel plasticy, and because I tend to have a light grip, it's not ideal, a few times in winter playing in rain, a club has slipped out of my grip, even with a glove on. Have scrubbed them to wash any residue off them, rubbed with light sand paper etc, but the rubber is just perishing it seems.

Are golf pride tour velvet the go to, most common grip? Any other reccomendations? Woudln't even mind grips in yellow or red or white. Hoping to buy online (any good websites to check?) and either fit them myself, or pay a pro a few euro per club to fit them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭delboykelly

I had Winn Dri Tac grips and they were unreal......for about 2 months... Then they wore down to the iron,,, they were destroyed in about 4 months. Bad value for money. They were class when they were new, lovely soft feel and a really tacky grip. Anyway got the Golfpride multi compounds next.... Top notch. Can't see me switching again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭JIdontknow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭stockdam

Learn how to change your own grips and then change them regularly. It's hard to give advice on grip type as different people prefer different grip types. New grips are always better than grips that are way gone.

Here's a useful thread about fakes.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057398707/1/#post94724186

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,275 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

stockdam wrote: »
    Learn how to change your own grips and then change them regularly. It's hard to give advice on grip type as different people prefer different grip types. New grips are always better than grips that are way gone.

Here's a useful thread about fakes.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057398707/1/#post94724186

Think you might have posted the wrong link there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Norfolk Enchants_

JIdontknow wrote: »
    Yup have Lamkin crossline tour on all my irons and some woods, I would happily recommend them, they are vastly underated and are very well priced.
    Also every Tom, Dick and Harry have Golf pride multicompond and as such they are vastly over rated and overpriced.