Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Very tired legs heart rate low

• 10-09-2014 9:24am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭

So been cycling more and more gave up running so I could cycle more. I use a HR monitor and when riding on flat I can really push my speeds but my legs konk out before my HR does. Its the same with hills if im on a steep incline11-12% I feel exhausted mentally and legs are about to fall off. I look at my HR to find its only 160BPM. Is there sonething im doing wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Climb more hills. You'll never win. The hills always win. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Kinet1c

What distance are you cycling?
    What's your cadence(rpm)?
    What are you eating/drinking before/during the cycle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭RHJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

If your legs are exhausted and your HR (compared to your own personal max) is low, then I'd guess that you're pushing too high a gear.

Lower gear and higher cadence moves more of the work-load to your cardiovascular system.

You can go too far that way though and end up with a really high heart-rate while going quite slowly. So it's a balancing act.

[edit]get out of my head RHJ![/edit]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

No, this is more or less normal, especially if you are in high gear. When running at steady pace, my legs don't feel tired at all and my HR is more or less at 160 (183max).

In cycling you can vary the muscle power / aerobic effort balance using gears. Next time change to easier gear and spin fast uphill - your legs should take it better and the HR will raise.

Also, in cycling you do not have to use energy to lift your body weight - this makes it a much more dynamic effort, as you can choose its intensity almost from 0 to 100% and still move forward.

Alek wrote: »
    ...stuff...

That's a really interesting way to look at it, Alek. I ran before I cycled but never really thought about those differences like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭BMKN

I use large chain ring and usually 3rd or 4th gear in cassette. Im bad on ratios. I usaully eat 25grams carbs every 20mins rides longer than 90mins. I love climbing long steady climbs i power through them. I dont have cadence for my Garmin yet will prob get it soon. Im a bit of a grinder i find I go slower on high cadence

I started running after cycling for a few years, but I am not sure if my observations are valid at all ;-) Please note I actively hate running and only do it to keep in shape when I can't cycle :D

BMKN wrote: »
    I use large chain ring and usually 3rd or 4th gear in cassette. Im a bit of a grinder i find I go slower on high cadence

You can work on your cadence and IMO you should. Your best cadence is individual (and situation dependent) but I bet you're way below what would would best for you.

Im a bit of a grinder i find I go slower on high cadence

This is the feeling we all had at the beginning. Technically cadence of 65 is most effective, but will make your muscles tired very shortly. I would recommend to train your muscles to at least 85rpm - ideally 90-95.

After a few weeks of doing this I've found I can take any hill faster when spinning than mashing. I raise from the saddle to mash only on supersteep, short feckers (>17%) or when sprinting.

Also, general effort is lower when sitting in the saddle, as you are not lifting yourself.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

So been cycling more and more gave up running so I could cycle more. I use a HR monitor and when riding on flat I can really push my speeds but my legs konk out before my HR does. Its the same with hills if im on a steep incline11-12% I feel exhausted mentally and legs are about to fall off. I look at my HR to find its only 160BPM. Is there sonething im doing wrong?

Are you moving from primarily running to cycling?

I've experienced similar moving in the other direction. When running, my legs would give out long before my HR got very elevated.

I put that down to being aerobically fit but not adapted for running, i.e. I don't have the legs to match the lungs yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭BMKN

Are you moving from primarily running to cycling?

I've experienced similar moving in the other direction. When running, my legs would give out long before my HR got very elevated.

I put that down to being aerobically fit but not adapted for running, i.e. I don't have the legs to match the lungs yet.

Ive been cycling for 3 years done about 40000km so its not fitness

3 years done about 40000km

13000 km a year? Fair play. I think I should be taking tips from you :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭uberalex

I'm not really much of a cyclist, but could some resistance training on your legs help? Maybe something in the squats/leg press/deadlifts?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,270 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

uberalex wrote: »
    I'm not really much of a cyclist, but could some resistance training on your legs help? Maybe something in the squats/leg press/deadlifts?

Not really. Low rep training builds strength and uses a different energy system.

Keep it simple for now, the best way to train for any sport is by working on the technique. As others have said, work on your cadence. Get yourself spinning at over 90rpm and you'll be grand. The speed will come back.

they/them/theirs

The more you can increase fear of drugs and crime, welfare mothers, immigrants and aliens, the more you control all of the people.

Noam Chomsky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

The low heart rate with hard effort are indicators of overtraining and it is very likely if you are doing a lot of high intensity with that kind of Kms. You may have a slow cadence issue though. Try taking a break for a few days and when you come back try and average a cadence of 90 increasing to 100 and using smaller gears up hill.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

As others have already said work on increasing cadence. A few years ago I was typically in the 70s, then increased it to the 80s. Last winter I was pushing it to the mid 90s and the last week or two I've been into the high 90s. the legs are recovering much quicker now than they used to and I'm finding I can put in the same type of overall effort at the end of the week as I can at the beginning after a few days rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭G1032

I use large chain ring and usually 3rd or 4th gear in cassette. Im bad on ratios. I usaully eat 25grams carbs every 20mins rides longer than 90mins. I love climbing long steady climbs i power through them. I dont have cadence for my Garmin yet will prob get it soon. Im a bit of a grinder i find I go slower on high cadence

Do you not constantly change gears to adapt to conditions?

No road is flat really so I'll change gears to keep cadence above 80 at a minimum. Average cadence for me over any given ride would be 85 - 87. Working to try to get that higher but it's a work in progress.

Anyway, I'll use most gears on a ride and do spend a fair chunk in the front 39 ring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,454 ✭✭✭hf4z6sqo7vjngi

When you say low heart rate are you comparing this to your previously trained hr levels for running? Have you performed a LTHR test on the bike?

Often people cannot hold the same hr on the bike as they can on the run and naturally enough hr will be lower on the bike. For me personally my hr whilst running will always be 5 or 6% higher, across zones and MHR.

EDIT: My point is what you may consider a low hr on the bike could in fact be at or above threshold hence why it hurts so much, depending on what hr values you are working off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Often people cannot hold the same hr on the bike as they can on the run and naturally enough hr will be lower on the bike. For me personally my hr whilst running will always be 5 or 6% higher, across zones and MHR.
    This.
    There's a ten-point difference for me between running and cycling. On the bike I'm tipping into "putting in good effort" HR range around 170BPM, but running I don't hit that until around 180bpm.

Likewise, race effort on the bike for me is ~185BPM, while running it's ~192BPM. Cycling at 192BPM is hammering up a hill and I can maintain it for 5-10 minutes at an absolute max, but in a running race I can sit at 190-195 BPM for 40-odd (painful) minutes.

So I wouldn't put too much stock in what you know about your HR from your running experience. The stresses on the body differ in both disciplines.