Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

gradual migration from summer gear

• 08-09-2014 7:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭

hi all,

like one or two others on this forum, i felt the first bike of winter this morning. I think that jumping into the full arctic monkeys isn't the right move yet either. so todays outfit:

padded shorts
    long sleeve jersey (no base layer)
    fingerless gloves

for tomorrow needs to be upgraded to:
    padded shorts
    winter gloves

but what base layer should I use? I have loads. the fishnet type? the helley hansen type that are glued on? i have never used base layers in conjunction with jerseys before, forgive the green question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭aFlabbyPanda

I've a thermal l/s for the morning and just wear normal rashguard/aldi/pennies thing underneath it.

Once it gets colder I'll swap out the rashguard for windproof or thermal base layer.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

You probably need to be moving on from the fishnet type base layers in the morning to something a little better insulating that will wick away the sweat when you do get warmed up.

Around 5 degrees this morning and was fine with a long sleeved jersey long sleeved base layer, 3/4 bibs and short finger gloves. For me the bigger issue at this time is being able to switch to something a little more summer-like for the return journey when it's forecast to be 16-17 degrees. I end up with only spring/autumn gear in the office with all the summer gear at home, so need to remember to switch it all back when I do drive in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

the return journey is a piece of cake. just wear the jersey. no need for the base layer. only other problem is that i don't have 5 base layers. and those HH ones are the guts of 30e each. are there cheaper options that still do the job reasonably well? I tried the aldi 'tube' base bayer. it was so tight (even though I'm 5.11/80kg and i bought a large), I had trouble breathing with it on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Everything long this morning, bib tights (with fleece), jersey and base layer (aldi compression thing), autumn/spring gloves (not insulating but with windstopper fabric). Was about right for me, maybe a gilet wouldn't have gone amiss at the start. I would be generally a wuss for cold weather so the above gear might be overkill for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

I think you have to work it all out for yourself, everyone's body temp is different.
    Someone mentioned wearing winter gloves tomorrow for example :confused:
    I didn't wear any today and was fine.
    Today was definitely the first 'cold' day though.
    I added a lightweight gilet over my short sleeved jersey and added arm warmers.
    I was too warm by the time I got into work.

are there cheaper options that still do the job reasonably well?

If you're in Dublin, the TKMaxx in Stephen's Green often has loads of base layers and sometimes cycling jerseys/ jkts in the men's sports section, might be worth a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭del_boy13

Felt the chill on the fingers this morning for the first few minutes this morning but soon warmed up. Had arm warmers a short sleeved base layer, a summer jersey on and shorts on.

Plan on getting the long sleeve base layers out in the next couple of weeks, still too early for the tights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭fillup

winter gloves? tights? thermal tops?
    It's still summer out there folks - it'll be a long winter if your layering up already

Do i need to remind ye of rule # 5?
    http://www.velominati.com/the-rules/#5

fillup wrote: »
    winter gloves? tights? thermal tops?
    It's still summer out there folks - it'll be a long winter if your layering up already

Do i need to remind ye of rule # 5?

Its fecking freezing at 6am.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I went out this morning at 5 and it was 6 degrees. Very little wind but when you slow down you can feel the cold.

This time of the year I usual wear a base layer, jersey and an autumn jacket (like the boards ls jersey from the last order)

The biggest problem I usually have is keeping the feet warm.

The 3/4 lengths will probably be out soon

This is me....

54145750.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭fillup

The_Sub wrote: »

Fairy Nuff - I'm still in me scratcher at that stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

fillup wrote: »
    Fairy Nuff - I'm still in me scratcher at that stage

Still in bed? Do we need to remind you of Rule 5? ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Still in bed? Do we need to remind you of Rule 5? ;)

what time would be acceptable?

What do people use to keep their feet warm?

No matter what I do I always find the feet getting cold. Usually not to bad but they can turn blue (and then go multi coloured in the shower!)

godtabh wrote: »
    what time would be acceptable?

What do people use to keep their feet warm?

No matter what I do I always find the feet getting cold. Usually not to bad but they can turn blue (and then go multi coloured in the shower!)

Yeah I suffer from cold feet (even in summer). In Winter I wear wool socks and make sure my shoes are not too tight. On really cold days I wear two pairs of overshoes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Kinet1c

Odd one but I'm fairly sure I watched a youtube video that recommended putting tinfoil around your toes as another pair of socks would probably make it too tight in your shoes.

I haven't watched it again, but from memory I think the tinfoil over toes might be in this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭Hunterbiker

SS top and arm warmers. If its warm for the return the arm warmers come off. I have a sleeveless too for 1st thing and stuff it in a pocket for the home leg.

Each to their own. BCMF may be along to promote the virtues of the Boards Winter kit thread at this point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 257 ✭✭seany15

The_Sub wrote: »

+1. Froze my knackers off this morning. Definitely full finger gloves and knee warmers on Wednesday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

A lot colder this morning - 2 x short sleeve jerseys with arm warmers, shorts, and fingerless gloves. Cold for about 15 mins - wouldn't have said no to a buff for my ears. Left at seven am and had lights on for the first 8km. Looks nice for the spin home though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭romperstomper

felt too warm yesterday with full-length base layer, full length aldi jersey (thin type) and full gloves but it was just about perfect this morning. won't be long til the tights are out and the jersey is a jacket though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Stuck on a gilet over a base layer and summer jersey at 8am - was brisk enough. Still in the shorts and summer gloves. Will migrate to leg warmers and light winter gloves soon methinks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Stick some newspaper under bib straps for the chillier mornings and then just throw away when you warm up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭loinnsigh

Stick some newspaper under bib straps for the chillier mornings and then just throw away when you warm up.

...alternatively do something less litter-y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

Are cycling tights waterproof?

Or does anyone cycle in waterproof trousers? Road bike couple of hours type cycling, not a commute.

I did it recently counter-intuitively and it was actually grand, wore a hole through the trousers mind

I mean if you're cycling for a few hours with a risk of rain is the done thing to allow your legs to get wet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

a148pro wrote: »

Or does anyone cycle in waterproof trousers? Road bike couple of hours type cycling, not a commute.

I did it recently counter-intuitively and it was actually grand, wore a hole through the trousers mind

I mean if you're cycling for a few hours with a risk of rain is the done thing to allow your legs to get wet?

You can get windstopper ones that would offer some water proofing. Generally not worn on road bikes - they can cause more harm than good - sweating, getting caught in gears etc. generally a bit of rain with the right gear is grand.

I have a pair of water proof trousers for commuting - biggest problem is getting ones long enough that don't ride up over my overshoes, letting water in. Mudguards partially cuts some if the water splashing off the wheels out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Yeah, allow yourself to get wet in good quality lycra and as soon as it stops you'll dry quick enough.

If it rains while cycling, your going to get wet. In winter, staying warm is what counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

thanks lads. back to the suffering so (I enjoyed my dryness).