Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Back pain.

• 05-09-2014 9:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭

Right lads, after making a pure hoop of my back yesterday lifting a gate and I am absolutely crippled today. It's no the first time this has happened me and probably won't be the last either. It's something a lot of farmers seem to suffer from too. Any chance one of the mods could add a poll to see how many people it effects?

Would you say farming has been a cause of back pain you suffer from? 44 votes

Definitely, have recurring back pain and farming work contributed majorly.
    0% 0 votes
    Haven't back pain but I am fairly sure I'll end up with it.
    65% 29 votes
    I'm fit as a fiddle!
    25% 11 votes
    Not back pain but other ailments also caused from farming
    9% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

No need to put up a poll. Any farmer that says they haven't got a bad back is a liar.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

I'm 27 and my hip feels fcuked the last few weeks in the mornings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

Right lads, after making a pure hoop of my back yesterday lifting a gate and I am absolutely crippled today. It's no the first time this has happened me and probably won't be the last either. It's something a lot of farmers seem to suffer from too. Any chance one of the mods could add a poll to see how many people it effects?

Fishing is good for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

You want poll, you get poll :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

.Kovu. wrote: »
    You want poll, you get poll :)

Your a great girl!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Back is completely knackered. Miss spent youth picking stones on reclaimed land. No manual handling courses when I was younger.:D

When it's good it's very good but when it's bad it's very bad!!!! Do a bit of acupuncture. Last time I was off work for a week gazing at the ceiling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Your a great girl!
    I only realized yesterday that Kovu is a girl :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Sam Kade wrote: »
    I only realized yesterday that Kovu is a girl :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

I got crushed when loading cattle 20 years ago and I hurt my back as a result. I spent two weeks sleeping on the floor, and it improved after that. Every winter it would act up usually during frosty weather or if I stood in the same spot for a long time (listening to Hector at the ploughing one year). No back pain with the last 6 years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Mines ****ed.
    Partially farming, partially degenerative and then an RTA in '09 just finished me. I function reasonably but lifting or carrying are off the cards.

I keep meds in the house here all the time and I've needed morphine injections when things are real bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,072 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Not a back story :), but a guy I knew basically blew up his calf muscle when trying to shift a tree stump. Very big bruise.

He asked the doctor in A&E how it happened, and the doctor (foreign) said: "If muscle not burst, heart burst." :eek:

One of the things I have learned to avoid doing is trying to lift or shift anything while my back is twisted to either side - as well as the obvious general lifting advice to bend the knees and keep the weight as close to the body as possible.

A classic, everyday scenario: standing up straight, lifting shopping bag from trolley and then swivelling upper body 90 degrees to put it in the boot. Now, I lift, turn my feet 90 degrees then put it down.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Esel wrote: »
    Not a back story :), but a guy I knew basically blew up his calf muscle when trying to shift a tree stump. Very big bruise.

He asked the doctor in A&E how it happened, and the doctor (foreign) said: "If muscle not burst, heart burst." :eek:

One of the things I have learned to avoid doing is trying to lift or shift anything while my back is twisted to either side - as well as the obvious general lifting advice to bend the knees and keep the weight as close to the body as possible.

A classic, everyday scenario: standing up straight, lifting shopping bag from trolley and then swivelling upper body 90 degrees to put it in the boot. Now, I lift, turn my feet 90 degrees then put it down.

Originally hurt mine throwing rolls of plastic off the table of the wrapper. Standing on the belts and throwing them behind me, it was asking for trouble really looking back on it now and it's been gammy enough ever since. I seem to knock a twist out of it most years :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I've nothing major in comparison to some of yous here, but I can definitely see potential future problems, mostly due to the stupidly shallow pit in the parlour. It's about 6 inches too high, so you are non stop leaning, bending and twisting, esp with awkward cows. It knocked me out of athletics for several weeks last year, I had a minor hip problem with got exasperated by the parlour. Only reason I've left it the way it is is that I'm looking into new parlours any ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

I'v voted no back problems but I can definitely see a few problems in the future.(ihope not though). The day job is very physical too so a lot of lifting. There's only so far you can bend your knees until your back has to take the weight like lifting a bag of coal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

back is fine, did hurt it once a few years ago lifting a trailer off the back of the jeep, got an injection and am grand since, touch wood. Dislocated knee and that makes a funny noise when i walk, so i assume i will have trouble there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

any other industry your not allowed lift more than 25kg i think it is. farmers going around throw 50kg bags of fert and meal round the place like eegits. pulling calves by hand is another act of lunacy. parlour used to be a potential crippler alright but its not as bad now iv spent a couple of euro on it. my back is stiff sometimes but its actually the way i sleep that has me that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭The Letheram

Haven't voted, but have a little story. Went to the physio through the club on Tuesday. He is new this year and I hadn't been before. My hamstrings were tight. He looked at them and said its not them causing the problem, the back is in ribbons, how long is it like this? I looked at him like he had two heads and said I didn't remember it ever disimproving. He proceeded to lecture me for 15 minutes about farmers never looking after themselves. Apparently throwing tyres up on a pit is a big cause due to the twisting movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

Back not an issue here really at all............I think , but I put out my neck out of line 1/2 per yr. Awful sore and severe musucalar pain there after. got injection as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Back is fine. ( i have a loader :D )

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

It's an occupational hazard, publicans have alcohol problems and farmers have back problems.
    Mine is ok atm but putting tyres on the pit put something out. After years of going to all sorts of 'experts' from medical doctors to chiropractors I eventually found a physio who also does acupuncture and it's under control. Part of the problem was fcukd up feet putting my pelvis and spine out of line, I now use orthotics (not cheap) in all my shoes/boots and they work for me.

We had a big long thread on 50kg bags earlier.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057110893

PM me if anyone want's physio details.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

The sad thing really is no matter how many stories are told here, young guys and gals will take the easy, rather than correct route when it comes to lifting. A bit like smoking, I suppose. Too late when the damage is already done.
    I have a bad back.:mad: It got really bad so eventually went to physio who said it was wear in the lower back. I did all the recomended exercises at the time and it worked a treat. Very carefull how I lift now. I also had really nagging pains in my hips. Convinced it was arthisis , as it's in the family, but since I stopped driving as much, rarely get any bother now.
    I think manual handling coarses should be taught to kids in primary school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭merryberry

Really tight glutes as a result of years of sitting all day at work. Led to lower back pain and tight hip flexors. Physio who I was going to gave me a few excercises for a foam roller and find it a great relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

my mother always had back pain but it got worse earlier this year, she had been going to a physio and changed the one she was going to. New physio wouldnt touch her ,sent her straight to a neurologist, it was nerve damage, needed an operation and she kept local chemist in business with the heat packs..... all fine now but was a very long road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

crushed foot, broken all my fingers, broken nose twice, dislocated my shoulders, broken ribs, cracked knee cap and a shortened thumb. i done the back maybe 10 years ago, i couldnt walk for 4-5 days and after that i was walking like a 90 year old. went to various hospitals, doctors, faith healers, quacks, chiros, physios and eventually got a lad that sorted it out around 4 or 5 years ago, ive only done it once since and that was pure piggery, went back to yer man and sorted the following day. deep heat bio freeze and diaphene came with me everywhere for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭merryberry

Miname wrote: »
    crushed foot, broken all my fingers, broken nose twice, dislocated my shoulders, broken ribs, cracked knee cap and a shortened thumb. i done the back maybe 10 years ago, i couldnt walk for 4-5 days and after that i was walking like a 90 year old. went to various hospitals, doctors, faith healers, quacks, chiros, physios and eventually got a lad that sorted it out around 4 or 5 years ago, ive only done it once since and that was pure piggery, went back to yer man and sorted the following day. deep heat bio freeze and diaphene came with me everywhere for a few years.

What lad fixed u?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

robert johnston a lad from omagh that has a clinic in trim every second weekend. it was either that or the operation at that stage so i was delighted i didnt have to go the other route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Back trouble all my life. Then one day I took a racehorse to get his back seen to and the "Doctor" says to me how bad was my back.
    Fine I said, as it was perfect at the time, but I was suffering from stomach ulcers.
    He reckoned that my spine was the problem and got me to lie down on the stable floor. He caught one leg and put his foot down hard on my back. Job done.

I've had no more back problems other than the odd muscle tear. Ulcers never bothered me again.

François was his name and he was Belgian. He mentioned that he used to go to Ireland once a year to treat horses in the big studs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Back pain and knee trouble from farming and the full time job