Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf Shot App

• 05-09-2014 10:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭

Hi lads I just downloaded this and was just wondering if someone could tell me how best to use it for tracking your stats.

Do you have to enter each club you use, and weather you hit FIR's GIR's etc as you're playing your round surely this would cause slow play and piss your playing partners taking your ph out all the time!
    Just wondering how other lads use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

benny79 wrote: »
    Hi lads I just downloaded this and was just wondering if someone could tell me how best to use it for tracking your stats.

Do you have to enter each club you use, and weather you hit FIR's GIR's etc as you're playing your round surely this would cause slow play and piss your playing partners taking your ph out all the time!
    Just wondering how other lads use it.

You need to enter score, putts, club used and fairway hit or not (or left, right , long, short on all bar par 3s). Also if sand hit and penalty incurred

All other stats are worked out. Enter once you get home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

alxmorgan wrote: »
    You need to enter score, putts, club used and fairway hit or not (or left, right , long, short on all bar par 3s). Also if sand hit and penalty incurred

All other stats are worked out. Enter once you get home.

You'd want to have some fcuking memory for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭SEORG

You'd be surprised, it's not that hard to remember...take a photo of your score card on the phone and you'll remember most of it easy enough.

SEORG wrote: »
    You'd be surprised, it's not that hard to remember...take a photo of your score card on the phone and you'll remember most of it easy enough.

Remembering you hit your 2nd long left on the 1st and you came up short left on the 18th and everything in between?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭SEORG

Remembering you hit your 2nd long left on the 1st and you came up short left on the 18th and everything in between?

Yeah, knowing the score on each hole is half the battle..

You don't need to know that much. Just your tee shots. How many total shots and how many putts. It will work out the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

i just do it after each hole after i fill in my scorecard.....far easier to remember

alxmorgan wrote: »
    You don't need to know that much. Just your tee shots. How many total shots and how many putts. It will work out the rest.

Oh rite, that's not too bad then i guess.

I can also remember every shot of my round which helps. Unless I've had a poor showing which haunts me at night :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I do them all from memory also when I get home, too slow otherwise on the course, sometimes I keep short notes on the scorecard and just take a photo at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Yeah always just complete from home straight after myself.
    • What club you tee off with
    • Where the tee shot landed (hit, miss left, miss right)
    • how many total shots on the hole
    • how many putts
    • how many penalty shots
    • how many bunker shots

I might not remember every exact shot I hit, but those details are usually pretty fresh in my mind after a round.

From giving the above details it'll be able to calc your FIR, GIR, Putts Per Hole, Putts Per GIR, Scrambling & Sand Save % numbers

Its more straight forward than it sounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭benny79

fair play lads I dont think I could remember all that after a round!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,829 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

fair play lads I dont think I could remember all that after a round!

Give it a go Benny, you'll be surprised how easy it is to remember when you've got the score for each hole (take a photo of the card or use howdidido).
    It's hard enough to do with the scores but very easy with them... It'll all come flooding back unfortunately!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

PARlance wrote: »
    Give it a go Benny, you'll be surprised how easy it is to remember when you've got the score for each hole (take a photo of the card or use howdidido).
    It's hard enough to do with the scores but very easy with them... It'll all come flooding back unfortunately!

...On that hole I had a 9, was it 3 or 4 shots to get out of the green side bunker :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I could easily talk you through every shot of my round

I usually replay them if I can't sleep at night :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Whyner wrote: »
    I usually replay them if I can't sleep at night :D

+1, how I get to sleep almost every night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,426 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

slave1 wrote: »
    +1, how I get to sleep almost every night

+2

Takes me a long time to get to sleep.

80 odd shots. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Paddy1234

+2

Takes me a long time to get to sleep.

80 odd shots. :p

+3

I play the whole round back in my mind on Sat night. Can remember every shot with ease and it puts me straight to sleep.

hi lads I used it on 2 rounds. just added the score and that in when I was on the tee box of following hole. once you get the hang of it, it only 2 sec's. but Its not recording my recovery shots! fairways hit 33% 27% left 4% right. GIR 7% & recovery 0%??

I think I might be entering stuff wrong I take it the arrows are straight, Left, Right, Bullseye(which I take is straight down the middle) and the last arrow is facing back towards you so I presume this is if your tee shot is OOB

hi lads I used it on 2 rounds. just added the score and that in when I was on the tee box of following hole. once you get the hang of it, it only 2 sec's. but Its not recording my recovery shots! fairways hit 33% 27% left 4% right. GIR 7% & recovery 0%??

I think I might be entering stuff wrong I take it the arrows are straight, Left, Right, Bullseye(which I take is straight down the middle) and the last arrow is facing back towards you so I presume this is if your tee shot is OOB

Bullseye is a fairway hit. And the up and down arrows are missed long and missed short...i.e. through the fairway or short of it. There is nothing for OOB bar the penalty counter.

Recovery zero....did you managed to get up and down in regulation ?

I have got up and down in regulation with my hc! as a 5 on a hole that I have a shot on I enter if I hit sand etc just weird the way nothing is recording!

Is the left & right arrows missed left And missed right?

I have got up and down in regulation with my hc! as a 5 on a hole that I have a shot on I enter if I hit sand etc just weird the way nothing is recording!

Is the left & right arrows missed left And missed right?

Yes left and right are fairway miss left and right

Not sure why it is not recording recovery but not sure it takes handicap into account when calculating them either. Any recovery in gross regulation ?

NO Both stats for the recovery are 0% purple for scrambling & yellow for sand saves, which I defo had 1 on a par 3, for a 4 with a shot obviously. maybe its not taken my HC into account.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭cairny

NO Both stats for the recovery are 0% purple for scrambling & yellow for sand saves, which I defo had 1 on a par 3, for a 4 with a shot obviously. maybe its not taken my HC into account.

The scrambling stats are done off scratch which is a bit annoying alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Anyone having issues syncing this app? Keeps giving me this error message and won't sync fully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭gypsy79

Just checked mine....working grand

I would log out and log back in

Failing that delete app and reinstall from itunes