Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Nerd movie's landed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Tomo.Murphy

Not a fan of digital movie downloads myself. I'll probably wait for the DVD and Blu-Ray release.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

Not a fan of digital movie downloads myself. I'll probably wait for the DVD and Blu-Ray release.

Same here, I'll hang on & get the blu ray version when it's available. Delighted this is done though, from watching the updates it seems to have been a massive drain of time for James...hopefully now we'll get more regular content from him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

I watched it. Been a big fan of his for years. Fair play to James, this is a real labour of love for him and after watching the project take shape over the last few years its easy to see how much work he put into it.

As for the movie itself... It's not great. I can forgive the poor acting and the cheap look to the whole thing, that's kinda part of the appeal. It's let down by a terrible script that's all over the place and crucially, just not very funny. I think I laughed once, maybe twice. It's fun spotting the cameos, and James himself is great as the nerd. You'd just wish the script was better, that they'd spent more time honing it, or went in another direction with the character. And at 2 hours, it's just far too long.

I didn't like
    that the Nerd is a celebrity in his own universe. Really breaks the immersion in the movie, and it just seems a little egotistical. He keeps talking about "the fans" and that's the thing that keeps the whole movie going, but it just doesn't work. And the ET review at then end isn't great either.

So all in all, a disappointment. Still worth checking out, $9.99 isn't the worst price in the world. Actually, you should probably go rental at $4.99, as I don't think I'll ever watch it again, and I won't be getting the Blu ray after seeing the movie even though I had planned to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭moonlighting

Just seen it there. Not great to be honest. Some of it was just stupid, It wasn't all bad but it did come off as cheesy and lame in parts.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,168 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1m1tless

Pretty bad movie, not a patch on the series.

Roar wrote: »
    As for the movie itself... It's not great.
    Just seen it there. Not great to be honest.
    Pretty bad movie, not a patch on the series.

Uh oh...that's not good to hear.

I've kinda thought this movie should be the nerd characters swan song really. The episodes over the last two years haven't been a patch on the older stuff, & I think the nerd as a character, just might be done unfortunately. Now maybe the movie was keeping him ultra busy (I'm sure it was actually), & that stunted work on regular episodic material...but it's been a while since I've watched a new nerd episode & thought it was anything other than just ok.

The problem for James is the nerd is his bread & butter. Board James, for example, wouldn't have near enough draw (even though those are very enjoyable)...people want the nerd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,426 ✭✭✭Roar

I think the appeal of the early episodes was that you felt he was genuinely angry at those games - that he had played through them as a child and all the frustrations of those terrible came rushing back to him when he played them as an adult. We've all been there.

The newer episodes just seem forced, and therefore not as funny. It's like he's trying to find things to be annoyed about, as opposed to genuinely hating them.

And what I think is an issue as well is that now he does all the behind the scenes stuff, you just see him as a normal, geeky guy. With a wife and kid. Once he lifted the lid the character lost a bit of its allure - you realise it's just a character.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Myrddin wrote: »
    Same here, I'll hang on & get the blu ray version when it's available. Delighted this is done though, from watching the updates it seems to have been a massive drain of time for James...hopefully now we'll get more regular content from him :)
    Glad its over aswell, way prefer his regular channel stuff, even James and Mike Mondays where they just sit and play a game, cringed too much through the trailers so wont be bothering with the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,606 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

What possessed him to make a movie in the first place anyway? Seemed like an odd idea to start with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

To be honest I'd prefer a JonTron movie! Sprinkled with cameos from Yahtzee, Totalbiscuit but not that eejit Jim Sterling. Can't stand that f*cker.

I didn't know AVGN was that big of a deal to be honest!

o1s1n wrote: »
    What possessed him to make a movie in the first place anyway? Seemed like an odd idea to start with!

From the little I know of him, he's a big cinemaphile, & studied Film in college etc. He's been making low budget movies for years, I suppose the Nerd movie was his biggest challenge yet in terms of writing, producing, filming etc.
    I didn't know AVGN was that big of a deal to be honest!

Outside of the world of Lets Play's, he isn't. Much like a lot of other original content creators, the unwashed masses seem to get a bigger kick of watching people play games, shouting into mics, & filling up every single second of their videos with forced & unfunny commentaries. Personally, I'd rather watch original content every time over nonsense like pewdiepie & co.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

Myrddin wrote: »
    Outside of the world of Lets Play's, he isn't. Much like a lot of other original content creators, the unwashed masses seem to get a bigger kick of watching people play games, shouting into mics, & filling up every single second of their videos with forced & unfunny commentaries. Personally, I'd rather watch original content every time over nonsense like pewdiepie & co.

I get you, I don't like Pewdiepie and my favourite 'lets play' is actually a channel that posts videos without commentary. (Alzu gaming, I think the name is).

I think JonTron got sick of the Game Grumps thing (I'm sure because of Egoraptor and nonsensically shouting sh*t in to a mic). His reviews are hilarious, when he posts them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Rolfe was sort the first person do these type of videos really well, he really paved the way for all the youtubers that have come after him.

I actually really like the James and Mike Play videos each Monday, I'd rather see more of that than a return to the Nerd.

Not expecting much from the movie, but I'll definitely buy it as I want to support him as it looked like a it was a huge amount of work to get done.

DinoRex wrote: »
    I actually really like the James and Mike Play videos each Monday, I'd rather see more of that than a return to the Nerd.

Definitely, I've enjoyed those vids myself...more so than any recent nerd vid. The two part Batman NES one they did was brilliant :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Tomo.Murphy

I feel like he reined it in a little in his newer videos. They're much more tame than his older stuff.

I still enjoy them. I enjoy most of the content he puts out tbh, but it feels like there's something missing from his newer nerd videos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭elfy4eva

I saw it yesterday, I wasn't expecting much and it didn't deliver much either TBH.
    Almost a 2h run time I was dying for it to end.
    I liked the transition to a cheesy monster movie bit at the end. (I think that he would be much better to do a plain old monster movie next time).

I think the nerd should retire to his web videos though. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

No its really not much good. The Nerd is a great character, or looked great anyway, and Rolfe played it well, but the rest.... was just awful. Be interesting to see if he goes back to regular videos now.