Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Comfort food

• 01-09-2014 6:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

My family cat had to be put down an hour ago. 17 years age. well gutted.

Any suggestions on comfort food? Whats your comfort food AH? Any1 got any jokes or good news stories to make me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Jesus christ, I thought the thread was gonna be about how you ate your cat :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Links234 wrote: »
    Jesus christ, I thought the thread was gonna be about how you ate your cat :eek:

Would have been some eating in her mate..she was a tubby 1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

You should have a tin of Whiskas in remembrance.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

There's probably some catfood in the press going to waste. Eat that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Specialun wrote: »
    well gutted.

Would make a very nice set of strings for a tennis racket or violin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭The_Pretender

A couple of bags of Cheese & Onion crisps with a flake or if need be a twirl crushed up and sprinkled in on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Sorry about your pussy OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

Would make a very nice set of strings for a tennis racket or violin.

Jaysus lads, he said he was gutted. Bad out ,no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Sorry to hear that OP. Never nice having a family pet die :(
    Get yourself some hot wings and a beer :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

TheBrinch wrote: »
    Jaysus lads, he said he was gutted. Bad out ,no?

Once they're gutted you still need to skin them before you put them in the oven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

BANNED

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

My comfort food is normally pastries. Or anything filled with cream or custard. Cakes too. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Cheese. Always cheese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

Linguine pasta with prawns, onions, garlic, yellow pepper and pesto.

You'll forget the mangey cat ever existed after eating that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I'm very sorry to hear about your cat... it's always sad when they go :(

Not sure what comfort food to recommend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

Right now I feel like shepherds pie.

You probably don't feel like cooking. Order your favourite take away. Pizza?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

A big plate of chicken wings followed by a coconut snowball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Ahh, sorry about puss, it's awful when they pass. Not sure food is gonna fill that cat shaped space in your life though. But you could try crisps and a tub of Ben and Jerrys carmel sutra icecream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,513 ✭✭✭✭Lucyfur

Aww sorry to hear about your cat :(

The night my dog died I had a bottle and a half of wine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

I NEED wings now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Chocolate and tonnes of tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,929 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

When my dog died almost 3 months ago, I just went for biggest and fattest taco chips, fully loaded and covered in cheese. When I was done with that, it was a quarter pounder. It was all covered in tears...

Be strong OP, it's hard to see beloved pets to die. Been there, done that. You will need some time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

This would probably be most appropriate given the circumstances. All you're missing is the chocolate sauce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Sorry about your cat OP.

When my rabbit died years ago my mam gave me a packet of M&Ms. It helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

If it was a dog then I'd have sympathy for ya. For a cat, I wouldn't even splash out for a glass of pink lemonade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,585 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

17 is a pretty old cat. Don't go mental on sugar free sweets though or you'll need wretcheddomain's suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,072 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Noodles. There's nothing that noodles can't make better. Apart from IBS

I recommend a nice beef noodle soup - http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2014/01/taiwan-eats-taiwanese-beef-noodle-soup-recipe.html

Preferably get someone else to cook it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

The Fear leads to me comfort eating four star meal deals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Four Star used to have this Pizza that had BBQ sauce instead of tomato sauce? Then it had chicken pieces, peppers and a whole load of other stuff and it was the ultimate feast!

Trying to lose a bit of weight at the minute, but the second I hit my goal one of those bad boys will be my reward! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭mickrock

Kit Kat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Sorry to hear about the cat.

Sausages and mashed potatoes is my go to food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Specialun wrote: »
    My family cat had to be put down an hour ago. 17 years age. well gutted.

Any suggestions on comfort food? Whats your comfort food AH? Any1 got any jokes or good news stories to make me :)

Sorry for your loss. 17 is a grand age. Your moggy was obviously well cared for and loved. Take some solace in the fact that she had a great life.

It takes a bit of time to get over. Gather the family around, they are probably down too, and do something together. Order in your favourite take out. Go to your favourite local restaurant or pub. Get some food in, have a few glasses and tell stories about your pet. Sharing grief and having a few laughs over tales of the deceased, be they feline or human, always helps me.

Chin up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Tin of Lidl wild red salmon. Open on the level; drink all the juice; empty tin into a bowl; add some mayonnaise and possibly some ground black pepper. Mix well. Eat slowly, with a teaspoon. Salty tears? In the bowl, mix again.

Soz, my dead cat joke account is overdrawn. Flat cat, if you will...

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Me thinks the poster has seen the preview for Jamie Oliver new show,
    And is taking the piss!
    That or they are Shilling?
    Edit:kinda funny that this thread was started the same
    Night the his new show started?!
    Or is it just me that thinks this? :)
    Lmao

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

A few cans of whatever you drink , a snackbox then in honour of your cat stalk the sparrows in your garden for a while , then maybe find a shed roof to lie on in the sun for a few hours.

Sorry for your loss.