Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No one here

• 01-09-2014 3:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8

So I'm the only one in my appartment @ a student accomm so I've found it hard to make friends and its been lonely. Everyone else seems to have flatmates. I find it easier to talk to ppl in a group. I'm sure I'll make friends but it is very debillitatng socially not to have my flatmates. Hopefully there will be a party tonight. Any tips on how to break the ice? I've bought a lot of alcohol so here's hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

Walk into neighbours apart with beer .... Friends for life you wait and see!
    It's college lad everything goes, don't worry about it being awkward it won't !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 harrycorr95

haha yer cheers, hopefully there will be a party tonight at the complex, heard there was last night, I'll head down and bring the drink. A few shots will also help to loosen the inhibitions. Just so nervous is all :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

haha yer cheers, hopefully there will be a party tonight at the complex, heard there was last night, I'll head down and bring the drink. A few shots will also help to loosen the inhibitions. Just so nervous is all :/

Don't be lad it's worth it, trust me cherish first year and second year !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭justBlake

find a house party, knock on the door (optional), make sure u have drink in your hand, they'll know what the story is, youll be sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Blackpanther95

3fullback wrote: »
    Don't be lad it's worth it, trust me cherish first year and second year !

Oh no!!! heading into third year :( fun over is it?

Got on really well last night but I still feel isolated. I think I am the only one in my complex on my course so I haven't got as much to talk about as others. I had good craic but I feel I've made no friends. Is this normal? Do you think I have a better chance of making friends on my course/socs

Well, I'm (95%) certain that JustBlake over there is my best friend, and he was my first year physics lab partner- shear fluke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Casshern88

Its what your first week man? I think you need to give it a bit of time!!!

I understand this is all a new experience and its stressful but just go with the flow and try not worry too much its early days

your not going to make really close connections in one week / on one night out or how ever long you've been there so i would say yes its perfectly normal!! make sure you take every opportunity to have the craic with those in your complex and before you know it youll be calling them your mates!

I know its pathetic, I think its just homesickness/ unhappiness. I have mates at home its just a sudden change u know. And theres a few lads that are harassing me to talk to them (i don't want to because they bitch about everyone).

I've never had trouble making friends its just the crowd I'm surrounded by are into smoking, heavy drinking etc. Its negative as I'm the odd one out so ppl think I'm weird (1 said this when i said i didn't want a smoke). I'm hoping my class/ socs are different. And tbh i had high expectations of uni and so far although i get on well with most ppl, their not what I'd call friend material. I know its early but its just depressing and compounded by my home sickness i'm feeling pessimistic

I think people might think you have an elitist attitude or maybe they think you think you are better than them. You have to be careful how you reject people's kindnesses. Example "have another drink", "Nah man, I'll be sick all over the shop"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 masterwayne

Literally me right now. :'(

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

Give it a few weeks. You'll be grand.

My problem is the fact that I'm so new to the place and I don't know my way around it. I can get awful shy sometimes, and it just cripples me. However I feel much better now than this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭peterc1991

Casshern88 wrote: »
    Its what your first week man? I think you need to give it a bit of time!!!

I understand this is all a new experience and its stressful but just go with the flow and try not worry too much its early days

your not going to make really close connections in one week / on one night out or how ever long you've been there so i would say yes its perfectly normal!! make sure you take every opportunity to have the craic with those in your complex and before you know it youll be calling them your mates!

This.

After a few weeks if you go to your classes and join societies you will meet people in the same boat and obviously if you join societies you will find a lot of people with things in common with you.

Don't push it too much, some of the best things come when you are not looking for them. Don't be afraid to talk to people if you see them around a lot.

Eventually you will have new friends and you'll be wondering why you were so worried.

Sorry for the late reply. Since my op my flatmates have arrived and I have had great craic with them. With them, I have gone to more parties and I have socialised more. Although i get on great with them they don't seem to get on with each other. It has become awkward when their in the same room and its like I'm their only meeting place. I like them both and I'm sure they like me but i'm stuck. I've also met more people from the complex and they seem more down to earth then some of the others. Here's hoping everything pans out good but I'm nervous about my flatmates 'rivalry'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭QueenBee1

Don't worry about them worry about you! Not everyone will like each other so the best thing you can do is be friends with both but don't get involved or pass judgement on their friendship, stay nuetral!
    And good on you for making friends other than your roommates that's good going considering the first week isn't over yet! Societies and clubs day next week make sure to sign up and you will have more friends than you can count in no time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Sorry for the late reply. Since my op my flatmates have arrived and I have had great craic with them. With them, I have gone to more parties and I have socialised more. Although i get on great with them they don't seem to get on with each other. It has become awkward when their in the same room and its like I'm their only meeting place. I like them both and I'm sure they like me but i'm stuck. I've also met more people from the complex and they seem more down to earth then some of the others. Here's hoping everything pans out good but I'm nervous about my flatmates 'rivalry'
    Don't worry if your housemates don't get on with each other too much right now especially if you get on with them both. Wouldn't worry about any 'rivalry'. You will be able to look to your class mates and clubs and societies to make friends from next week so don't think too much about house mates..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

Hi I dont know what student accomadation you are in of if you are in a single room. My daughter is painfully shy she really wants to make friends and she has her friends at home but when she booked her acc nui she decided she would get a shared room, because she knew if she got a single there would be a danger that she would spend too much time in the room on her own. This is the third day over and as far as I know things are going ok. She says she see's people she would know from home but just sticks with the people in her appartment. You will be ok just give it a bit of time. Dont write people off as not beign friend material they could be the best guys in the world and maybe the guys that you say are harrassing you to talk are feeling exactly like yourself and are trying to make friends. So why dont you give them a chance. You have nothing to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭QuantumP

OP, I had a lad in my course who I couldn't stand for the first 3 years. In 4th year we were kind of forced together and we ended up becoming really great friends. Your perception is constantly changing and friends will come and go. Don't force it, just enjoy the ride! Good luck with your studies :)

OP, you sound like your "living in your head" a bit to much. In short: think less!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 4,621 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. G

I think next Wednesday is societies day - you should definitely attend that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

QuantumP wrote: »
    OP, I had a lad in my course who I couldn't stand for the first 3 years. In 4th year we were kind of forced together and we ended up becoming really great friends. Your perception is constantly changing and friends will come and go. Don't force it, just enjoy the ride! Good luck with your studies :)

haha good advice :pac:

I also had someone I couldn't stand in my year, we were in school together and absolutely hated each other. I wouldn't say we were the best of friends by the end of it but we definitely had the craic together, As the other poster said, stop over thinking. Just roll with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭justBlake

as Blackpanther95 said, me and him are best friends now, at this stage in first yr we had probably never even seen eachother, i dont think we even met till the 2nd or 3rd week in when we had to change lab partners and ended up with each other, you'll be surprised at the amount of friends you'll make throughout 1st yr, you'll make loads, and lots will only be people you'll say hi to, others will become good friends and the rest you wont even bother with. when I came to galway, I came from a completely different scenario to most people, I knew people from home in college but didnt get along with any of them bar 1. Give it time, i gaurantee you, by christmas youll be loooking back at this post and wondering how you were even nervous/finding it hard meeting people.

thanks i hope to make some mates on my course this week, here's hoping it goes well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

thanks i hope to make some mates on my course this week, here's hoping it goes well.

Dont worry you will be fine.