Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Motoring Offence

• 01-09-2014 2:15pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35

Ok. I'm hoping someone can help me. So a good few years ago 2004 I was in court for a driving offence, and got done for driving with out care and attention. So I got a fine. And two or three years later I was in court and got banned for a driving offence for two years.

So Sunday morning, yesterday I was up early as I didn't sleep that night and was in a bad mood. So I came to the T junction at the main road. And a car passed, I drove up close behind them and got bored so pulled a hand brake turn behind them and then headed in the opposite direction and pulled another one and then drove off in the direction I came. So I was stopped in the village and he came back and turns out he was a garda. He took my details and said he will be in touch.

So my question is what will happen. As I have previous offences. I know what I done was wrong. Me and him were the only two on the road. So what were the chances of meeting a garda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,764 ✭✭✭cml387

You ask two questions.

The second one, the probability of meeting a garda is more of a mathematics question and belongs in the Maths forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

It's up to the garda discretion what he'll do next. Some just take details and leave it at that. If he decides to chase it up, your past certainly won't help the situation....

All you can do is wait and see what happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

5 year driving ban, hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Have you ever considered public transport? Sounds like driving isn't really for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I'd expect a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

rossy wrote: »
    Ok. I'm hoping someone can help me. So a good few years ago 2004 I was in court for a driving offence, and got done for driving with out care and attention. So I got a fine. And two or three years later I was in court and got banned for a driving offence for two years.

So Sunday morning, yesterday I was up early as I didn't sleep that night and was in a bad mood. So I came to the T junction at the main road. And a car passed, I drove up close behind them and got bored so pulled a hand brake turn behind them and then headed in the opposite direction and pulled another one and then drove off in the direction I came. So I was stopped in the village and he came back and turns out he was a garda. He took my details and said he will be in touch.

So my question is what will happen. As I have previous offences. I know what I done was wrong. Me and him were the only two on the road. So what were the chances of meeting a garda.

You will be invited to the court. This is what will happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

How do you know he was an off duty copper? Does he know you personally? I wouldn't have given him any personal info for an event that happened behind him. It would be different if you pulled a stunt in front of him. Tell him to take a fcukin hike. If it goes further tell the judge a back brake locked up and you needed new brake pads!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 rossy

jca wrote: »
    How do you know he was an off duty copper? Does he know you personally? I wouldn't have given him any personal info for an event that happened behind him. It would be different if you pulled a stunt in front of him. Tell him to take a fcukin hike. If it goes further tell the judge a back brake locked up and you needed new brake pads!!

He flashed his badge. They are not foolish enough to believe that. I wish they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

What were you actually thinking?

Were you going to run this car off the road or looking for some reaction as you could then have a fight.

Maybe you should have learnt from your past motoring problems.

Why would you go off driving in a bad mood next time go for a walk to clear the head.

Hopefully you will learn and try and actually behave on the road.

It might have been at the Garda's discretion until he ran a pulse check, and discovered your past history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

Tailgating and 2 handbrake turns. Looks like a summons is on the way for dangerous driving, considering there was other traffic around. It may be mitigated in court but your previous bad history won't work in your favour.
    Dangerous driving.

53.— (1) A person shall not drive a vehicle in a public place in a manner (including speed) which having regard to all the circumstances of the case (including the condition of the vehicle, the nature, condition and use of the place and the amount of traffic which then actually is or might reasonably be expected then to be in it) is or is likely to be dangerous to the public.
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2010/en/act/pub/0025/sec0069.html#sec69

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 612 ✭✭✭ForstalDave

you could be lucky but if he looks at your history i doubt it and sorry to say you deserve what you get dangerous driving is dangerous driving next time learn not to do stupid things just cause your having a bad day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Jack_Reacher9

OP Do you think you should be banned? I would consider myself a fairly good driver and have even had a go around various tracks to de-stress; but i would never consider doing a manouvre like that on any road. Especially considering you were in a reckless frame of mind - if it was early in the morning you could have hit a whole host of people on the way home or going to work, school etc.

I'd say man up and accept the punishment and learn this time that your actions have consequences.

I have had to swallow that pill a few times, just learn from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I sense alot of Bus W*nker in your future OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

TG-meme.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

slimjimmc wrote: »
    Tailgating and 2 handbrake turns. Looks like a summons is on the way for dangerous driving, considering there was other traffic around. It may be mitigated in court but your previous bad history won't work in your favour.

Dangerous driving.

53.— (1) A person shall not drive a vehicle in a public place in a manner (including speed) which having regard to all the circumstances of the case (including the condition of the vehicle, the nature, condition and use of the place and the amount of traffic which then actually is or might reasonably be expected then to be in it) is or is likely to be dangerous to the public.

So doing handbrake turns on completely empty road with no other traffic, hardly can be considered dangerous driving then. Am I right?

CiniO wrote: »
    So doing handbrake turns on completely empty road with no other traffic, hardly can be considered dangerous driving then. Am I right?
    That's a bit like the tree falling in the woods. If no one observed your handbrake turns, was an offence committed?

At the very least if he's on the road with the copper it isn't empty and as such he poses a threat by driving like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

It wasn't, but to answer your question it may or may not, but the definition considers many factors including the "amount of traffic which then actually is or might reasonably be expected then to be in it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

No you are not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

slimjimmc wrote: »
    It wasn't, but to answer your question it may or may not, but the definition considers many factors including the "amount of traffic which then actually is or might reasonably be expected then to be in it".
    No you are not right.

Not to mention that the phrasing "with regard to.... the nature, condition and use of the place " preclude's cinio's point of view on this.
    Seems that one of the law knowitalls of the forum doesn't actually knowitall!

What did the copper actually say to you? I presume he was driving his own private car? Years ago while driving from Limerick to Waterford two guys in a car got offended because we overtook them (I wasn't driving). They kept tailgating us and flashing their lights, we kept driving faster to get away from them but their car was a lot faster than our car and they got in front and kept slowing to a crawl and generally acting the maggot. When we got to the usual congestion in Waterford the two jokers got out of their car and flashed the badge accusing us of dangerous driving blah blah, we told them to fcuk off... Never heard another thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

So you've been driving for at least ten years,have previous convictions and are still acting the maggot? As a mother of three children who regularly walk,cycle and drive on the roads I would ask you to cop the F--k on and go do some push ups or something if you're in a bad mood. A bad mood? Give me a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

just avoid the summons, plain and simpe and you can avoid them legally too if your smart about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

just avoid the summons, plain and simpe and you can avoid them legally too if your smart about it

Please ellaborate further?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Popcorn-Truck.jpg

This should be good.

I hope i brought enough for everyone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭daveohdave

fineso.mom wrote: »
    So you've been driving for at least ten years,have previous convictions and are still acting the maggot? As a mother of three children who regularly walk,cycle and drive on the roads I would ask you to cop the F--k on and go do some push ups or something if you're in a bad mood. A bad mood? Give me a break.

As a mother of 36 I agree with 12 times the authority. Won't someone think of the children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

The book is going to be thrown so hard at you that I suggest you run head first into the nearest library just to get used to what it is going to feel like.

What a complete numpty. People like you are a danger to others and should not be allowed a sharp pencil never mind a car.

Awesome post history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

daveohdave wrote: »
    As a mother of 36 I agree with 12 times the authority. Won't someone think of the children.

Jesus thats a lot of kids

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Haha comment of the week:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭Turtle-TM

I can't work out whether this is trolling or just some little knacker who thinks he can do what he wants on the road. do you by any chance drive a 2002 A4 1.9tdi with a body kit on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭fineso.mom

Fair enough,forget the kids,,,,,as 'another road user' I would ask that you cop the F..k on etc etc.:)

Turtle-TM wrote: »
    I can't work out whether this is trolling or just some little knacker who thinks he can do what he wants on the road. do you by any chance drive a 2002 A4 1.9tdi with a body kit on it?

Again, post history. The one about the fake licences is the best.

Hey OP, how's your insurance these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

Turtle-TM wrote: »

I think it's a 1998 mitsubishi mirage 1.5L petrol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,323 ✭✭✭mikeecho

TG-meme.png

www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=63903461&postcount=1

Rossy 09-01-2010, 22:19
    Any Hot girls 18-26 in ClaremorrisHi im just wonderin if any nice girls from claremorris would like to meet up with me sometime. im 25 and 5'7" athlethic build go to gym regularly.Have pics will send on request!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭cadaliac

Again, post history. The one about the fake licences is the best.

Epic - just epic.

There's never an articulate lorry speeding around the corner when you want there to be one. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

There's never an articulate lorry speeding around the corner when you want there to be one. :(

they may be well-spoken, but their reliability leaves a lot to be desired

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

If it goes further tell the judge a back brake locked up and you needed new brake pads!!

So his car is not roadworthy instead?

Cabaal wrote: »
    So his car is not roadworthy instead?

I was being sarcastic Mr rolleyes.... Humour escapes most people on this site.

Wossack wrote: »

Ha ha, I like it.

Wossack wrote: »

I get jokes!!

bada....

I get jokes!!

bada....

That's 3 people so far. A minor miracle for Boards....

Lol.....from my time on Earth I have learned that there is an indirect correlation between how funny you are and the amount of people that get your humour; silly little planet.