Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

places to spend 3-4 days

• 31-08-2014 5:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭

hi all ,myself and herself are planning a few days away
    but we cant decide on a location

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

6480 wrote: »

In or out of Ireland ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

To add on to that, have you anything that you like to do? Does ye want shopping/spa/relaxation or something more fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Westport and clime croagh Patrick
    Cycle green line to achill
    Was there last week had lovely time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Amsterdam.......for the culture!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Dawggone wrote: »
    Amsterdam.......for the culture!!

YA the culture :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Find somewhere there's an agricultural event happening
    Can be claimed against tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Didn't know that. Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭johal

you should go to venice, you will not forget it nowhere else like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Bordaux is a stunning fun place. I think RyanAir fly there too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 139 ✭✭Deano7

Beef lads shouldn't have a tax problem this year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

All you need is a pic of a cow
    Went to NZ on hmoon tax deductible

His and her relaxation Kelly's Roslare
    Budget relax Hodson Bay Athlone brilliant breakfast and good dinner
    Beer and craic KK recommend Zuni for grub and bed top notch
    Belfast good
    Paris beautiful
    London nice but tiring
    Rome cooler this time of yeark
    Rent a canal barge Amsterdam, once red light seen not much else tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Deano7 wrote: »
    Beef lads shouldn't have a tax problem this year

Careful now. .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

Trust you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Belfast good
    Paris beautiful
    London nice but tiring

Was going to recommend Harveys Point hotel Donegal for R +R, lovely place out in the wilds, but then thought he's not as old as me ( is there anyone) but it is nice for a treat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Think I'm a bit lost... Thought this was farming ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Killarney is a nice spot.
    Don't like Belfast too much like London
    Birmingham/newcastle great spot if your going with crowd of lads
    Heading to lanzerote next yr I hope

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,208 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

if only going away for 3-4 days i wouldnt want to be spending the guts of a day in airport or getting to the place we are going. Was at a wedding in the knightsbrook hotel in Trim last month its really nice , lovely food and golf course, spa treatment centre and leisure centre, reasonable enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,208 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Markcheese wrote: »
    Think I'm a bit lost... Thought this was farming ...
    us farmers need a break sometimes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

try out the Dunraven arms in Adare in limerick............ you be dissappointed and neither will herself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭cjpm

Stradbally Co. Laois, 23, 24 and 25th of Sept. She'll love it....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

The ice house in ballina.The river lee hotel in cork.
    Outside the country Berlin or Vieanna are lovely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Next year the Bavarian Central Agricultural Show and Festival is on in Munich from the 17 to 25 Sept. Just happens to coincide with the Munich beer festival.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Faithlegg in Waterford, lots to do local too. of course anywhere in Wexford is great, friendly locals as well!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭Bigbird1

Belfast good
    Paris beautiful
    London nice but tiring

Much to do in belfast?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Killarney is great if you haven't been. Do a couple of nights in the river bank hotel there for value for your sightseeing then one night in the Europa for a bit of a expensive luxury treat.

Bigbird1 wrote: »
    Much to do in belfast?

Went with Mrs a few years back great spot. Stayed in the Hilton
    Titanic
    4 W's
    Palace bar
    Black cab tour
    All round nice spot was surprised myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Sorry if u have an audit be ready to pay up
    Revenue not that sum,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

I'm going to stick my neck out here and suggest Dublin! Proper city break, thousands of restaurants doing amazing things with Irish game, fish veg, berries, bread, fruit and flesh. (You're well produced produce given justice!)

Had one of my farmer friends and his wife here for three days and they were blown away. Early birds are super cheap, got a great hotel deal. I pointed them in the right direction for good shopping, food, atmosphere and culture.

The food was cheaper than they'd normally pay. The pints were more expensive than they'd normally pay. The wine was slightly cheaper than what they payed in their nearest restaurant.

They went for a central hotel, no taxis or LUAS rides, all around the South William st. area, everything walkable. Car was parked and not touched for the three nights (midweek, better value - Wednesday, Thursday and Friday). Fairly broadminded couple. She's not Irish, He's into his history, did the hop on-hop off bus tour hopping off only at locations they researched and were interested in.

Both of them were fairly happy to be a motorway away from kids, farm and home if anything disastrous happened. They did get a DART to Howth for a fish restaurant and that went well, hassle free.

I think they enjoyed visiting my place as much as I enjoy visiting their place. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭TUBBY

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I'm going to stick my neck out here and suggest Dublin! Proper city break, thousands of restaurants doing amazing things with Irish game, fish veg, berries, bread, fruit and flesh. (You're well produced produce given justice!)

Had one of my farmer friends and his wife here for three days and they were blown away. Early birds are super cheap, got a great hotel deal. I pointed them in the right direction for good shopping, food, atmosphere and culture.

The food was cheaper than they'd normally pay. The pints were more expensive than they'd normally pay. The wine was slightly cheaper than what they payed in their nearest restaurant.

They went for a central hotel, no taxis or LUAS rides, all around the South William st. area, everything walkable. Car was parked and not touched for the three nights (midweek, better value - Wednesday, Thursday and Friday). Fairly broadminded couple. She's not Irish, He's into his history, did the hop on-hop off bus tour hopping off only at locations they researched and were interested in.

Both of them were fairly happy to be a motorway away from kids, farm and home if anything disastrous happened. They did get a DART to Howth for a fish restaurant and that went well, hassle free.

I think they enjoyed visiting my place as much as I enjoy visiting their place. :)

what hotels would you recommend JR. Lots on the grab one and deal rush type websites but none very central.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I was in Spain for the 1st time last year for afew days in a small city south of Barcelona, lovely place, fantastic weather even in Sept, lovely coffees for 90cent, plenty to do, whether you want to party or just relax. I'll happily go again in the future. I'm off to Italy in 2wks time for afew days, again the weather drawing me there, alongside the food, and plenty of mountain trails and then stuff to do in the sea. The good thing about going in Sept is the tourist season is slower so less hassle and cheaper, weather good but not crazy hot, and it's nice to escape then considering it will be a fairly solid run up until Xmas back on the farm otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Went there too on the honeymoon but didnt claim for tax, I suppose I was all lovey dovey then .did a bungee jump while I was there and someone asked me "was your wife not worried about you".no I said it would have been fastest money she would ever make.by the way hard to beat west cork, better weather and we dont try and squeeze the last penny out of you like the kerry crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,057 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

TUBBY wrote: »
    what hotels would you recommend JR. Lots on the grab one and deal rush type websites but none very central.

As a Dub, I don't check out hotels here!! But, I'm pretty sure my friends got some sort of deal in the Drury Court hotel. Could have been an online deal... Not sure, but I will ask them when I'm on to them again.

You're dead right avoiding non-central hotels. The last thing you need is somewhere where you have to drive/taxi to the city centre. Some of them are designed specifically for people that missed their flights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Is the great Devon steam fair on soon supposed to be great for diesel heads :D, was in Barcelona recently and will go again brilliant place, if going abroad try travel republic for deals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

In New York with herself since last Friday heading home Tuesday.truly amazing city with sonething to do day and night.food and drink dear in center manhattan but better quality in downtown(little Italy and Chinatown).doing all the tourist things in ground zero today,still eery but some transformation from 2011,was here last in November 2001.id quite happily come here for 4 or 5 days every 2 or 3 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Was in New York for a week this year, my uncle lives there though so I've been loads and didn't do anything touristy this time except for broadway. Just caught up with family and did a lot of shopping.

Going to Toronto the 19th of September though, want to go see niagra falls and do touristy stuff there, like the CN tower, go to a hockey game, and shop!

For breaks around Ireland my favourite places have been
    - west cork for the scenery but kind of boring after a day or two. Also, fota island!
    - Galway. This is prob my favourite place. So many beautiful hotels. Love the G hotel in Galway, such an accessible town too, great nightlife, culture, salt hill, great restaurants. Traffic is a bit of a nightmare though. The spa in the G is kind of crap though. If you're looking for a decent spa then...
    1. Seafield (Wexford)
    2. Farnham Estate (Cavan)
    3. Delphi Mountain Resort and Spa (Galway - this is the one my boyfriend likes the most because there's stuff that he's into too. It's beautiful check it out)
    4. Monart (Enniscorthy - can be hit and miss though, and there's better value in the others)
    5. Killinard - (portarlington) they've got a golf course too but it's kind of boring unless you're just there for golf/spa. It's near enough Kildare (Japanese gardens, curragh, stud farm, shopping) and Dublin though.

I don't really know what else to recommend. Anytime we go away around Ireland, it's just for spa weekends so there's the top 5 I'd recommend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Is the great Devon steam fair on soon supposed to be great for diesel heads :D, was in Barcelona recently and will go again brilliant place, if going abroad try travel republic for deals

The great Dorset steam fair, it ended yesterday :(http://www.gdsf.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Why pick 3 areas and drive to each

Say do sligo, westport, galway home

Was down in crookhven near mizen head 2 years ago. 6 hours plus from mullingar. cork city was half way. stayed in a lighthouse :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

Why pick 3 areas and drive to each

Say do sligo, westport, galway home

Was down in crookhven near mizen head 2 years ago. 6 hours plus from mullingar. cork city was half way. stayed in a lighthouse :D

crookhaven is lovely, we camped one year which wouldnt be for everyone. was in new york before, its a weird wonderful place and you either hate it or love it. didnt like paris, she didnt like london.

the truth is you'll prob get a flight to spain for as cheap as you'l stay in a four star place here for a few days and get herself a couple of spa treatments.
    any of the radissons are lovely.
    lakill idea of doin three towns in three days is something id like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

_Brian wrote: »
    Bordaux is a stunning fun place. I think RyanAir fly there too.
    Ha, heading there in the morning with work. Probably only see the inside of a factory though. Ryanair do fly direct from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

visatorro wrote: »
    crookhaven is lovely, we camped one year which wouldnt be for everyone. was in new york before, its a weird wonderful place and you either hate it or love it. didnt like paris, she didnt like london.

the truth is you'll prob get a flight to spain for as cheap as you'l stay in a four star place here for a few days and get herself a couple of spa treatments.
    any of the radissons are lovely.
    lakill idea of doin three towns in three days is something id like

I just get bored and spa breaks are not my cup of tea.

Donegal is fantastic but only been as far as Kilcar (there your one from sex and the city has a house) and letterkenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

I just get bored and spa breaks are not my cup of tea.

Donegal is fantastic but only been as far as Kilcar (there your one from sex and the city has a house) and letterkenny

well she loves a day in the spa. facials and the likes. if shes happy then shes's not annoying me, which makes me happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

visatorro wrote: »
    well she loves a day in the spa. facials and the likes. if shes happy then shes's not annoying me, which makes me happy.

I like this.
    Happy wife, happy life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Fcuk it go the whole hog and hit Vegas stayed in the bellagio when we were on h/moon loved it loved it loved it.