Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Woman Who Won 30 Million Euro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

UCDCritic wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/irish-lottery-winner-ill-build-giant-olympic-swimming-pool-30543699.html

She has a good heart but a bit misplaced I think.

If she really wants to help people there are professionals who could manage the money a lot more wisely and make it work a lot better.

Giving the money to professionals would be even more selfless than just giving it away without much thought and then taking credit for it.

Good luck to her anyway.

But for who though? Her, or them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭UCDCritic

But for who though? Her, or them?

They could use the money in a better way to help people.

I'm sure they would know how to invest it better than she does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Fair f*cks to her, other people would use their winnings on a ridiculously expensive and tasteless mansion, she's doing something that the whole public would enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

They could use the money in a better way to help people.

I'm sure they would know how to invest it better than she does.

Yeah, in weapons and cigarettes and by sponsoring companies which restrict the availability of medicine to the third world?!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 628 ✭✭✭Chance The Fapper

Have we not had like 5 threads about her at this stage?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Links234 wrote: »
    Fair f*cks to her, other people would use their winnings on a ridiculously expensive and tasteless mansion, she's doing something that the whole public would enjoy.
    Well something tells me an olympic pool in Strabane may not be the most economical decision. It's one thing having the money to build it and another thing having the money to keep it open and maintain it. If you can't do the latter then you may as burn the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

Jayzus, if she wants to invest in her home town why not? At least she is not sitting on it earning interest and the woman has sincere ideas about how to promote her home town economically. And yes, i'd do the same if I won that much dosh ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,916 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Its common knowledge in the NW that this doll is, how can I say this politely, "not all there".

This will never come to pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

moxin wrote: »
    Jayzus, if she wants to invest in her home town why not? At least she is not sitting on it earning interest and the woman has sincere ideas about how to promote her home town economically. And yes, i'd do the same if I won that much dosh ;)

tbh sitting on it earning interest is probably overall a better thing to do that expending it on something useless. She could pay a local firm €5m to dig a big hole and another local firm €5m to fill in the big hole again and it might do as much good to d'area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

If I won that much money I would build a pool as well...

Only I would fill it with even more money and then swim around in it Scrooge McDuck style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Does Ireland have an Olympic sized pool, Blanchardstown has one right .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,866 ✭✭✭Hooked

Pretty sure the one in UL is...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 483 ✭✭daveohdave

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/irish-lottery-winner-ill-build-giant-olympic-swimming-pool-30543699.html

If she really wants to help people there are professionals who could manage the money a lot more wisely and make it work a lot better.

Giving the money to professionals would be even more selfless than just giving it away without much thought and then taking credit for it.

Good luck to her anyway.

Indeed, because consultants are super efficient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

A fool and her money ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Hooked wrote: »
    Pretty sure the one in UL is...

Olympic standard pools[edit]
    Dublin
    National Aquatic Centre, Abbotstown, North Dublin[1]
    University College Dublin, Belfield, South Dublin[2]
    Limerick
    University of Limerick, Castletroy. The first Olympic standard pool in Ireland.[3]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Is it a giant Olympic pool or just a standard one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

diomed wrote: »
    A fool and her money ...

Harsh.

She's trying to do something positive for people other than herself. I wouldn't use it in the same way but surely any action to benefit other people should be applauded.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Where do her intended market/customers fly in from ... Dublin or belfast.

Long way to go for the sake of not having to turn around during a length.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

A fairly large proportion of lottery winners are broke in 5 years. They don't live like a person who has that level of money, they live like a person who has earned that level of money and can maintain it.

A swimming pool is both a huge investment in terms of build cost but its maintenance costs are astronomical. It can easily chunk away at 30 million with no incoming revenue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Everyone who buys a lotto ticket should get a share of the winnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Links234 wrote: »

...until it becomes a burden and falls into disrepair. Nice idea, but I doubt it has been thought through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭Calibos

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Everyone who buys a lotto ticket should get a share of the winnings.

Not sure if serious??

So basically mathematically speaking you are suggesting people buy their €4 ticket and collect their 1 cent share of the winnings in return every week. Zero chance of winning millions out guaranteed 1 cent return.Not sure you understand how lotteries work :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

She is stupid, she could simply have set up a trust or simply manage it herself and use the money generated to fund things.

I mean 30 million invested in a dividend share that gives say 4% dividends would give 1.2 million return before tax per year.

There she keeps the money but will make more over time than what she is doing with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Calibos wrote: »
    Not sure you understand how lotteries work :D

Currently only a select few get ridiculous sum of money at the expense of everyone else. If everyone got an equal share it would be much fairer and there'd be more winners.

Edit: When you think about it the lotto is an unjust redistribution of wealth from the mathematically challenged to the lucky. The government should step in and make sure everyone who plays the lotto gets a fair share.

Basically it sounds like this woman is the fictional fruitcake from the old lotto ads made real.

"if I won the lotto....I'd buy a Cloud" [stares wistfully at the sky with crazy darting eyes]

Advert ends with the tag line, "play to win the lotto today.....or else it could be her...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

She needs an accountant tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

All the money in the world couldn't help Strabane. Best thing to do is flatten it and start again or just move everyone out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Karl Stein wrote: »
    Currently only a select few get ridiculous sum of money at the expense of everyone else. If everyone got an equal share it would be much fairer and there'd be more winners.

Edit: When you think about it the lotto is an unjust redistribution of wealth from the mathematically challenged to the lucky. The government should step in and make sure everyone who plays the lotto gets a fair share.

The "share " would have to be less than or equal to the ticket price (obviously less to cover the cost of the tickets , machines, wages etc).

So what your saying is sell people a ticket to collect €3 for €4?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

She doesn't seem to be the sharpest tool in the box. Of all the things she could do with the money to benefit her community she seems to be going for the most ridiculous and least useful. It's her money, let her spend it as she likes. My guess is that in 5 years time she won't have a cent of it left, will be living in a council flat and on social welfare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Fair play to her. She doesn't seem to be financially wise about the impact of her money but at least she's trying to help people and put her luck to good use.

I'd probably need to win one of those €150m jackpots to do what I want to but if I did win that amount I'd build a proper community centre in the middle of the city. I'd place the emphasis on it operating for a social profit rather than for a financial profit, while still being economic. I'd have sports halls that are available for people who want a social outlet rather than people engaging in sports for competitive reasons. So for people who want a quick knock around in football rather than people who want structured tournaments and that. I'd have a theatre for cinema shows, debates, and grassroots community activities rather than for the perpetuation of the "arts" industry. I'd have meeting rooms for organisations to hold their meetings, or for them to plan their activities, etc.

There are places like this for the arts community, there's funding for sports organisations, there's community orientated debates organised by political parties, etc. But a lot of these activities aren't integrated and are not cross community but rather dependent on their own "scene." I'd much prefer an integrated setting for those that can't aim for full on club organisational setups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ChicagoJoe

Good luck to her anyway.
    Yeah like Sean Fitzpatrick, Fingers Fingelton, Tony O'Reilly (has he still his 'Sir' title since he went bust ? :D ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Good luck to her anyway.

For a considerable fee no doubt.

Fecking vultures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,081 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Silly idea but fair play to her for wanting to do something positive with her money. The amount of sports halls and leisure facilities that are closed up and down the country already (in Dundalk there is a state of the art Ice Dome, gym and indoor soccer arena boarded up). A better plan might have been to fund the running of a few such places for a couple of years rather than build a new boondoggle that will take years to complete and probably be shut down not long afterwards for the same reason as the others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

Ireland already has Olympic pools, what would make her pool in the middle of no where special?

The "share " would have to be less than or equal to the ticket price (obviously less to cover the cost of the tickets , machines, wages etc).

So what your saying is sell people a ticket to collect €3 for €4?

Already tried to explain it. Gave him an 'Out' of 'not sure if serious'. He didn't take it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Well something tells me an olympic pool in Strabane may not be the most economical decision. It's one thing having the money to build it and another thing having the money to keep it open and maintain it. If you can't do the latter then you may as burn the money.

I wouldn't be that harsh but FFS its Strabane! Its great doing something positive for the area and if any where needs it its there, why not a a few youth clubs and something to promote local employment (Strabane had the worst unemployment rate in western europe back in the day)