Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just stolen in Limerick

• 29-08-2014 3:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭

integra silver

IF YOU SEE IT REPORT IT .............STOLEN FROM WORK UNDER THE CAMERAS COOL A BREEZE

Bastards! Sorry to hear that. Where in Limerick? Any pics? Will keep an eye out over the weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Joeface

I work in Raheen industrial estate , I will give the footage to the gardai first

Joeface wrote: »
    I work in Raheen industrial estate , I will give the footage to the gardai first

Me too. I'm here right now in fact

looked at video time , stolen at 12.30 ...i was at my desk , so not really just stolen , Stolen today should be the heading

Busy time around here too. You should put this in the limerick forum also

• Site Banned Posts: 638 ✭✭✭imurdaddy

I'll keep an eye out, im around the city today. Had it happen me a few years ago, Sickening!

oh yeah will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

integra silver

IF YOU SEE IT REPORT IT .............STOLEN FROM WORK UNDER THE CAMERAS COOL A BREEZE
    Scumbags!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

integra silver

Posted this on hondahaven website

thanks for that

Any mods is it a dc1 or dc2 ? Anything that stands out from it ??

well this is the image from the last time it was stolen in 2011
    https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/23451/142493.jpg, fixed after that but some
    damaged paint work front passanger side bumber , off hand thats all i can think off. I will pull some images off cctv in awhile , just waiting on An Gardai to arrive.

Sicking , car was packed in a space at the rear of the building , Guy drives slow and camly round the front and out , i think he even idicates as he exits. No one even noticed

Was it alarmed or immobilized ?? Silver integra not many about il ask the lads too keep an eye out. It would sicken my sh!t aswell iv a black dc2 so feel ur pain . Any other cameras around the area to see where the guy cam from ?

mods feel free to remove ,

otherwise this is what i have

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

scum!!!!!!!!!!

Pity the cameras wherent better quality , hope it's found in good nick, keep us posted :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Awful quality cams. Hope its found

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

It's been stolen twice? Sounds like it may be something personal, unless Limerick really is that bad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's been stolen twice? Sounds like it may be something personal, unless Limerick really is that bad?

Sigh! :rolleyes:.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

How did the thieves get past the immobiliser?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭ian87

I'll keep an eye out for you. Take a spin up to southhill maybe? I believe that their is a certain person or persons up there who steal cars to joyride and upload their antics to a dedicated "southhill joyriders" page on YouTube..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

How did the thieves get past the immobiliser?
    These Honda's don't have one. Neither do Civics etc(unless they were originally Euro spec export models) Many if not most Japanese cars of this vintage don't have immobilisers.

The Honda doorlocks wear badly with time and can be opened easily without the key(without a slimjim type tool too). Plus the Integra's like this one have other security flaws, EG you can open the bonnet quite easily from the outside. This means that as standard from the factory they're farcically easy to steal. I could show you how in under a minute. With the usual crappy alarm install add another minute to that. Tops. Add in that they're not exactly slow in the 1.8 examples(esp the Type R) and spares like engines, seats(recaros in the R) and wheels fetch a pretty penny on the secondhand market, so they are one helluva target.

Simply put these cars need a third party alarm immobiliser like a fish needs water. Not fitting security to these cars and similar is akin to wrapping it a big red bow, with a note attached saying "Dearest Scum, please take my car. Yours, Naive person".

The problem then becomes one of getting a good quality alarm/immobiliser and most importantly of all getting it installed properly. In my experience and humble the vast majority of third party car alarm installations are little more than expensive noisemakers. Non battery backup siren under bonnet bolted to bulkhead, alarm brain under steering wheel panel with exposed wiring with a bit of insulation tape wrapping , but with a dirty great fuse holder leading to the wire cutting the starter motor. Piss easy to bypass.

But never mind all that, what's done is done and I hope the OP has some luck and gets his car back. It's a real bloody kick in the nuts when this happens. :(

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

I hope he gets his car back soon too. If proper anti theft measures weren't added after the first time it was taken you'd wonder though.

I added a kill switch to the f-kin car

But somehow in daylight while i was in work I didn't hit the switch yesterday , which i probably the only time i didn't. and that just happens to be the day this prick robs my car .

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Thumbs up on the kill switch, they can slow your scum down, but with these yokes and similar you really need layers of security. They're just too damned easy for the mouthbreathing scum to steal. Needn't cost much either and some "tricks" are free. TBH I dunno why Honda even bothered with keys and doorlocks for them, they may as well not have them.

Keep an eye out on Donedeal and Adverts etc for parts. The 1.8 engines are popular as are wheels as both bolt onto Civics. Hopefully someone will see her and report it. I feel for you man, I really do. I know what it's like. :(:( Even 14 years on it boils my blood just thinking about the scum nicking my last one. :mad:

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

I remember a friend from school telling me his neighbour had two eg (baby) civics robbed and both found burnt out in southhill with tea spoons stuck in the ignition barrels. Two separate incidents of course

They don't even need to go near the ignition barrel lock part SG. It breaks off remarkably easily so they just bypass it. If for some reason they can't do that(unlikely), they just go downstream of the ignition lock/barrel part and cut the wires and "hotwire" it that way. With some third party alarm "installs" the installation itself makes it easier to do this. For other car models the scum sometimes even bring a part of the ignition loom sourced in a scrapyard along with them.

So the usual MO is case the car, to see if it's alarmed(look for alarm LEDs and stickers. Stickers even tell the scum the type of alarm and likely install location), or if it has any other obvious security like wheel locks and the like. If not, game ball. Open the car door lock with a screwdriver, get in jam screwdriver into seat foam between legs(quite often if a stolen car is recovered the drivers seat has a hole or holes in it from this), crack open the plastic trim around the steering column, break off the lock, insert screwdriver into now lock free ignition barrel and up she starts. Drive away. Takes a minute or less. If alarm is present, pop bonnet first, snip the wires or take a hammer to the siren, now they can take their time. Follow the same procedure as above only source the "immobiliser" wires which is piss easy in 90% of alarm installs. Drive away.

Obviously I've not detailed everything here, but it's pretty much that easy. Think about it, the type of oven chips fed greasy faced lowlife mouthbreathing scum that steal cars are hardly candidates for Mastermind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

balls joe sorry to hear that...hope the frakker is caught

Car was recovered this morning . Condition unknown as it will be a few days before I get it back

shall keep ye posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Fingers crossed she's still in decent enough nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,838 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Was it just robbed for a joy ride or to get home, seems odd for a joyrider to be just wandering along in an industrial estate like raheen...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

Guy joined boards after witnessing the arrest
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057279808&page=2

Great news! Hopefully all is ok.