Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean Quinlan escapes jail over pub brawl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,932 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I think Quinlan was wearing the beige jumper. I think he initially tried to break up the fight, but got a punch thrown at him, so he decided he'd start throwing punches as well. The guy in his group who threw the first punch though was an utter scumbag. Totally pre-meditated and out of the blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

I dont know which guy he is in the video, but its shocking none the less.
    Hopefully no trainer books him going forward.
    His Racing Post data suggests hes a journeyman jockey at best.

If that was him in the hoody and body warmer then he deserved to get 5 years, what a scum bag that guy was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,932 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

If that was him in the hoody and body warmer then he deserved to get 5 years, what a scum bag that guy was.
    That's definitely not him. The lad in the hoody looks to be only 18 or 19 and has a completely different hairstyle to Sean Quinlan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

I think Quinlan was wearing the beige jumper. I think he initially tried to break up the fight, but got a punch thrown at him, so he decided he'd start throwing punches as well. The guy in his group who threw the first punch though was an utter scumbag. Totally pre-meditated and out of the blue.

If that's him in the beige jumper, then he was not trying to break up anything. He was lurking at the beginning and immediately took the side of the scumbag who threw the first punch against the landlord when he came outside the bar and then against the guy who got involved with the initial scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Aubrey loves Joe

How that lad who threw the first punch and threw the stool at the end didn't get jail i don't know. Th dirty scumbag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

gets away scot free?

what a scumbag that lad was in fairness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Great bunch of lads cowards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Can't believe they avoided being banged up. Shower of scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The landlord from about 52 seconds onwards is class, needs some WWE commentary added to it!

kfallon wrote: »
    The landlord from about 52 seconds onwards is class, needs some WWE commentary added to it!

Love the smack of the pool cue he gives the scumbag across the back of the head :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭FIVE2_THREE

I personally don't mind a jockey who likes to scrap. that's the kind of guy you want on your horses. with all the cut throat tactics jockeys use during races odds are they would think twice before trying that on Sean or they may get one to the face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

I would have followed them and rang the lads to get a van. Dunno how any of the three got off.

As for the three **** leaving the barman to it, should have hopped on the scumbag and hit him til the cops came in to rescue him.

I personally don't mind a jockey who likes to scrap. that's the kind of guy you want on your horses. with all the cut throat tactics jockeys use during races odds are they would think twice before trying that on Sean or they may get one to the face.

Are you really trying to condone the scummy behavior? Hopefully the jockey club take a firmer stance and ban him for life.

I never once used the word condone. What I said was I like a jockey who can stand up for himself when needed.

Getting into a rough race and smacking the **** out of someone in a pub is two different things.

Au contraire the weight room can get very heated after a race. arguments of getting checked and cut off can become very heated.

Bollox

A shoving match in the weighing room cannot be compared to sucker punching and mob mentality of kicking someone when down. As i said hopefully he will.never have to.worry about the weigh room again, deserves a lifetime ban for his scummy behaviour.

Bollox

A shoving match in the weighing room cannot be compared to sucker punching and mob mentality of kicking someone when down. As i said hopefully he will.never have to.worry about the weigh room again, deserves a lifetime ban for his scummy behaviour.

My,My how long have you been around racing ? worse things have happened ON THE TRACK DURING A RACE. Lester once stole the whip from a rider DURING A RACE. Willie Carson once had a reputation of pinning horses in. and they are mentioned as two of the greatest ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Why should he get a ban from racing. I think its awful behaviour but its unrelated to racing

same reason any sportsperson would get a ban, bringing the sport into disrepute.

My,My how long have you been around racing ? worse things have happened ON THE TRACK DURING A RACE. Lester once stole the whip from a rider DURING A RACE. Willie Carson once had a reputation of pinning horses in. and they are mentioned as two of the greatest ever.

LOL @ Again comparing that to kicking a semi concious person in the head. You're obviously a fan of his and you won't see any harm in his scummy behaviour. Good to see he is being investigated and will probably lose the couple of rides a year he gets.

ht tp://ww w.theguardian.com/sport/2014/aug/29/british-horseracing-authority-sean-quinlan-affray-conviction
    Most of his rides in recent seasons have been supplied by the Staffordshire trainer Jennie Candlish, whose yard is about five miles from the Priory pub, and it appears that his future there may now be in doubt. The jockey reported that Candlish is discussing the matter with her owners and would meet with him at some point next week.

same reason any sportsperson would get a ban, bringing the sport into disrepute.

if that was the case alot of lads in Kildare would be banned before they even got the ride. Ill give it them, them jockeys can scrap

So can guards, bouncers, builders and a lot of people in other professions, doesn't mean they should get away scot free with assault.

He was tried by a court end of. We cant change what the court deemed to be a fit punishment. To be fair its difficult to understand what actually happened there in the video. We all make mistakes and while I think the video in whole was very loutish/scumbag behaviour I dont think a mans livlihood should be taken from him. We must respect the courts decision.

Should Paul Carberry be given a ban for lighting a newspaper on an AIRCRAFT @ 30,000 feet. Considered maybe more dangerous than throwing a punch but nobody wanted to see him because of who he is.

He was tried by a court end of. We cant change what the court deemed to be a fit punishment. To be fair its difficult to understand what actually happened there in the video. We all make mistakes and while I think the video in whole was very loutish/scumbag behaviour I dont think a mans livlihood should be taken from him. We must respect the courts decision.

Should Paul Carberry be given a ban for lighting a newspaper on an AIRCRAFT @ 30,000 feet. Considered maybe more dangerous than throwing a punch but nobody wanted to see him because of who he is.

Should have thought about that before he decided to help batter someone. As for Carberry, he spent 2 months in jail for his stupidity but yes i think he also should have been banned from racing.

suspended sentence and did comm. service teaching kids riding. no way should he be banned for one idiotic mistake. if thats the case Lester Piggot banned for tax evasion. Frankie for cocaine (years ago when he was with cumani). John Egan for threatning behaviour. The list goes on and on. If we banned people for breaking the law racing would have lost many greats(i dont include j egan on the great list)

Well i guess our moral compasses are on opposite sides, i'll never agree that scummy behaviour by the likes of him should be tolerated in any sport. If that was a footballer, rugby player, or athlete i would be calling for the same ban from the sport.

agreed its appalling behaviour. Should Timmy Murphy be banned after he turned his life around and did his time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Fair dues that landlord.

agreed its appalling behaviour. Should Timmy Murphy be banned after he turned his life around and did his time?

What's with all the whataboutery?

Because if you ban Mr Quinlan for what he did we would have to ban all the above. Jockeys are not the brightest people in most cases and are usually not well behaved either. They are maverick by nature hence their chosen profession. Jump jockeys are much worse and in a way alot of their behaviour is tolerated by trainers and less by owners but thats what they are. SQ acted in a thuggish manner and I feel the court should not been so lenient. But he should not lose his job over this. I also dont think he can compare SQ to a footballer but thats just my opinion. He is a glorified stable boy that gets the odd ride and nothing more

So because he has a tough job he should get leniency for his actions? Would you expect a rugby or hurling player to be allowed play on after behaviour like that? I personally would like (expect) to see them get lenghthy bans.

ill agree to disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Volvic12

I see your point but I disagree. Many a rugby player, Soccer player & GAA players have had issues with the law. That does not mean they should get life bans from their sports. E.G. this year there was a certain Dublin player that played on Sunday in a spot of bother for similar instance . He was dealt with in the courts - end off.
    Same with a Celtic player who is currently in the courts in Dublin.
    Same with a Samoain rugby player who is currently in the courts in Dublin.

These issues should be dealt with in the courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

The NFL went down the road of allowing the courts to deal with any cases of their players ending up in trouble with the law but now you have a situation where domestic violence on women is being treated "through the courts" in the same manner as possession of marijuana is.

If you merely leave everything to the courts you leave yourself open to accusations of having no backbone. One would think that a short ban would suffice here, rather than him being completely black-listed and never getting another ride for the rest of his life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Volvic12

Bateman wrote: »
    The NFL went down the road of allowing the courts to deal with any cases of their players ending up in trouble with the law but now you have a situation where domestic violence on women is being treated "through the courts" in the same manner as possession of marijuana is.

If you merely leave everything to the courts you leave yourself open to accusations of having no backbone. One would think that a short ban would suffice here, rather than him being completely black-listed and never getting another ride for the rest of his life.

I would have no problem with him receiving a short ban from Racing authorities. Just the suggestion of a life ban for this incident is ridiculous.