Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ONE FC 19:Reign of Champions 3pm-8pm GMT 29th Aug

• 29-08-2014 12:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭

MAIN CARD (Online pay-per-view)

Shinya Aoki (155) vs. Kamal Shalorus (153) – for lightweight title
    Nobutatsu Suzuki (170) vs. Ben Askren (170) – for welterweight title
    Koji Oishi (145) vs. Narantungalag Jadambaa (145) – for featherweight title

Christian Holley (154) vs. Roger Huerta (155)
    Cristiano Kaminishi (205) vs. James McSweeney (205)
    Herbert Burns (145) vs. Hiroshige Tanaka (145)

nobutatsu-suzuki-ben-askren-one-fc-19.jpg?w=1000

20140813_ONE-FC-19-Dubai-org-replacement.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,480 ✭✭✭Devastator

This is on premier sports live also(this maybe UK only channel). I didnt know & turned on at start of McSweeny fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭califano

Devastator wrote: »
    This is on premier sports live also(this maybe UK only channel). I didnt know & turned on at start of McSweeny fight

Shocked a bit to see the soccer kick(legal) live. Forgot that was legal here, Jasus

Impressive win for
    Ben Askren
    , the other lad wasn't in it. How long did it last about a minute?

1m30s ish. Cant get any more convincing than that.

Nope, if he keeps up this form he could(or should) get a call from the UFC when his contracts up

Devastator wrote: »
    Nope, if he keeps up this form he could(or should) get a call from the UFC when his contracts up

With all the insults hes flinging in the direction of D White and the UFC its looking unlikely. If performances were anything to go on he'd be there ages ago. He seems to have a chip on his shoulder and cant help himself unleashing the verbal rage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Plastikman_eire

He was supposed to be a safe bet to move to the ufc after his bellator contract was up, but Dana said he was boring and they weren't interested. So I think the chip on his shoulders is somewhat justified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

this on now again on premier sports
    an hour gone, two hours left

may as well have a look

lol, seconds later the soccer kick (wondered where he ended up)
    hate seeing that, ridiculous that its legal here, total bollix that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭p to the e

All gifs gotten from Bloody Elbow.

Ana Julaton vs. Ann Osman
    FancyFatherlyGourami.gif

Dejdamrong Sor Amnuaysirichoke wins by R1 RNC
    EvergreenCheapHellbender.gif

James McSweeney def. Cristiano Kaminishi
    EnchantingWeirdHeron.gif

Roger Huerta (should have been stopped earlier IMO)
    AdmirableAcceptableDeinonychus.gif

Aoki (doesn't seem to be showing on Boards for me so here's the link just in case:
    http://t.co/B3wkWF8M4j
    CoarseFaroffAustraliankestrel

Askren vs. Suzuki
    MasculineColdEnglishsetter.gif

mailburner wrote: »

lol, seconds later the soccer kick (wondered where he ended up)
    hate seeing that, ridiculous that its legal here, total bollix that

I'm a big fan of 4 four point attacks.

I dont get why people are so sensitive about soccer kicks and stomps; they look a little distasteful, but dont appear to deliver any greater force and(based on my admittedly basic grasp of physics), if anything, much less force than a round house to the head while standing.

I think it's silly that knees to the head of a grounded opponent are banned under NSAC rules..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,003 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

I'm a big fan of 4 four point attacks.

I dont get why people are so sensitive about soccer kicks and stomps; they look a little distasteful, but dont appear to deliver any greater force and(based on my admittedly basic grasp of physics), if anything, much less force than a round house to the head while standing.

I think it's silly that knees to the head of a grounded opponent are banned under NSAC rules..

didnt know this myself

soccer kicks is one thing but soccer kicks to the head to a downed opponent I just find distasteful and unnecessary
    I would have thought that kicking a downed opponent in the head would have
    been worse but I'm no expert there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,230 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

but dont appear to deliver any greater force and(based on my admittedly basic grasp of physics), if anything, much less force than a round house to the head while standing.
    If be surprised if they didn't generate more force on average. The hips are a lot less restricted in that position.
    Id be interested to see proper measurements with accelerometer though.

Knees on the ground are banned to prevent spinal compression. Really obvious call that.

didnt know this myself

soccer kicks is one thing but soccer kicks to the head to a downed opponent I just find distasteful and unnecessary

I could be wrong(and i'm open to correction by anyone with a greater understanding of the subject), but I am assuming that a roundhouse thrown from standing, which travels through a complete arc before landing on the target, would generate greater force than a soccer kick which when thrown usually only travels a foot or two?

Mellor wrote: »
    If be surprised if they didn't generate more force on average. The hips are a lot less restricted in that position.
    Id be interested to see proper measurements with accelerometer though.

Knees on the ground are banned to prevent spinal compression. Really obvious call that.

I imagine a soccer kick could potentially generate greater force alright, but it isnt like a fighter is taking a penalty, in reality they appear to be thrown without set up and from very close range.

Knees from north south could present a danger of spinal compression, but Im not sure they land with enough force - even extreme examples like Coleman/Vovchanchyn, or Mcgee/Gabriel(the bout that resulted in knees on the ground being banned) no compression injury was inflicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,230 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I could be wrong(and i'm open to correction by anyone with a greater understanding of the subject), but I am assuming that a roundhouse thrown from standing, which travels through a complete arc before landing on the target, would generate greater force than a soccer kick which when thrown usually only travels a foot or two?
    I think you are right about the arc , but that's only one if a few factors i imagine. Like Hip flexors restricting the leg.
    If you run/step into the soccer it'll increase the angle to a wide arc too.

I angle of contact us important too.
    Definitely one for spirts science though ;)

if forced to pick I would rather take a punch to the head than a downed kick...dunno why, doesn't sound as bad :eek::D

I seen a video(or something on tv) once that explained this. I dont know the technical terms but it explained about it being to do with the amount of head movement available. If your standing up and get punched in the head the whole top of your body(from hips) can move which lessens the impact but if your on the ground and get kicked only your head moves, so your neck acts like a pivot and therefore apparently its a bigger impact.

I think thats the general gist of what they were saying

Currently One FC better than UFC!

http://www.bloodyelbow.com/2014/8/29/6084611/ben-askren-asks-ufc-for-his-free-title-shot-after-joe-soto-steps-in

Just a few hours ago Ben Askren was doing horrible, horrible things to Nobutatsu Suzuki, stopping him in the first round to claim ONE FC welterweight gold. He has now returned to his hobby of taking shots at the UFC.
    Following the news that Renan Barao had issues with his weight cut, apparently passing out during the process, and was out of his UFC 177 title rematch with T.J. Dillashaw and unheralded Joe Soto was stepping in for a shot at the belt, Askren took to Twitter.
    "@danawhite @lorenzofertitta well if you guys are just giving out free title shots to anyone I'll take one,"Askren tweeted.
    Askren was ranked in the top ten in the world when he was let go by Bellator and a UFC signing seemed only logical. Instead, the promotion passed on him, with Dana White stating, "He's got some work to do, he can fight in another organization and work his way up and go from there."

haha they should just let him in for novelty value. Im sure he would make the nice with Dana once they meet up?.

Anyone that walks onto George Clinton & Parliament Funkadelic deserve a place in the UFC imo :D

Askren doesn't seem to be helping the situation though lol

http://www.bloodyelbow.com/2014/8/31/6089391/ufc-177-dana-white-open-to-ben-askren-in-ufc-askren-responds
    Despite the bad blood between former Bellator and current ONE FC welterweight champion and the UFC, Dana White seems happy to let bygones be bygones. Askren though, predictably, seems willing to carry on with firing shots on social media.

Despite passing up the opportunity to sign Ben Askren when he was arguably the hottest free agent in the sport, when asked at the UFC 177 post-fight media scrum (which can be viewed in it's entirety here) whether 'Funky' could eventually find his way into the UFC, Dana White seemed open to the idea.

MMA Fighting's Ariel Helwani pressed him on the matter, saying he found it hard to gauge just where Dana stood on the matter from his tone.

Dana responded as such,

"Listen Ben Askren said a lot of stupid **** (you know) when he left but I don't care about stuff like that.
    We'll see how the kid fights...We'll go from there

Dana also commented on whether the insults and criticism Askren has slung the UFC's way dating back to his Bellator days would hold much weight when it comes down to potentially signing the former Olympian.

"Contrary to popular belief, well I do hold grudges if you're a real idiot I'll hold a grudge 'til the day I drop dead. But fighters? I don't really do that with fighters. These guys are built different then everybody. They're tough guys and this is what they do for a living and they're gonna' say stuff like that.

Dana provided an example that would hopefully be a good sign to any fan that is hopeful to one day see Askren, currently undefeated in 14 professional bouts, fighting the best opposition in his division.

If Tito can come back to the UFC, anybody can come in here, believe me. 'Cause there's nobody on Earth I hated worse than Tito.

(You) Don't have to like 'em to do business with 'em.

This bodes well for Askren, as he didn't reach out for the olive branch but instead swatted it away with a typically sarcastic tweet:

Askren is currently two fights into a six-fight contract with ONE FC, the premier mixed martial arts organisation in Asia, and without a get-out clause in his contract from what I'm aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

didnt know this myself

I think it's banned over here cause of the potential damage. Jesus could you imagine a downed opponent on all fours not getting the chance to stand up and Jose Aldo taking maybe a quick 4-5 steps then landing a soccer kick. He'd probably kill him

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    I think it's banned over here cause of the potential damage. Jesus could you imagine a downed opponent on all fours not getting the chance to stand up and Jose Aldo taking maybe a quick 4-5 steps then landing a soccer kick. He'd probably kill him
    I was just looking at this video compilation of soccer kicks from Pride that I found on youtube and that never seemed to be the case though, most of the time they seemed just like a regular low kick.. the stomping ones and kness look far more brutal, but even so I dont think they compare unfavourably to a roundhouse highkick in visual violence, of course you'll never know for sure unless you do the physics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,931 ✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Have to say, I'm not the squeamish type, but the stomps are pretty brutal looking.

The soccer kicks I could understand are probably not any more damaging than a head-kick, but they LOOK nasty and would be a PR disaster for the UFC to re-introduce.

They've worked very very hard to break the 'no holds barred cock-fighting' image and this would drag it back.