Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork hit and run, looking for a cyclist

• 27-08-2014 5:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭

Saw this on Red FMs page on Facebook, sadly has been coming in Cork

HIT & RUN - "Hi guys hope u can help. My 68yr old mom was hit by a cyclist yesterday afternoon near the Coal Quay. He ploughed into her and then tried to leave the scene. A member of the public tried to stop him but this clown pushed his way through and left the scene while my mom was left in the gutter. Shop staff, my aunt and passers by took care of her and helped her to a taxi. The taxi brought her to the hospital. The driver refused cash (a Cork taxi driver) She now has a dislocated broken wrist. She will need surgery. I'm totally mad. If any of your listeners saw anything please go to the guards. Tall skinny scruffy guy with maybe an English accent. Plz help me"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭shaka

Coal quay and tk Max across road surely have CCTV ? Hope your mum is ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,527 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Same thing happened to my kid in terenure. Cyclist went thru red red while kid was crossing with my wife on the green man. She tended to her son and yer man hopped on his bike and off he went. I would havw wrapped the bike around him if I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,210 ✭✭✭gzoladz

Not surprised... There are ixxots everywhere... The behaviour I observe every morning from a minority of cyclist on then the Grand Canal bicycle lane is shameful.

They don't even respect parents (crossing the road correctly) walking their children to school and they put all the other road users (including other cyclists) in danger.

I have seen some pedestrians loosing it, and I don't think this will end up well in the long term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Summer cyclists - can't wait for winter tbh. Dublin city centre is a nightmare with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

its not just the summer, i see cyclemuppets every day breaking red lights in dublin city centre. i never go across untill i check there's no numpty bearing down on me or the others crossing the road.

Hope you mam fells better soon & that karma catches up with the muppet in question!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

You can't buy etiquette and discipline on the BTW scheme, unfortunately.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

If anyone has any info in connection with this, please contact the Gardaí. Nothing will be gained by turning this into another anti-cyclist rant