Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you still enjoying flying?

• 26-08-2014 9:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭

I love the actual flying part, but I'm in two minds about the airport crap associated at both ends. Sitting in an airport waiting on our departure, we had checked in online, so no many queues at the baggage drop nor at immigration or security, Just got a text from the airline with my free wifi access code for the flight. So everything has been simple and quick, but i think that i have really lost the enthusiasm for flying as a passenger.
    Is there a solution?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,420 ✭✭✭✭athtrasna

Might not be an option but I flew two weeks ago in the middle of the day. The airport was mobbed. I'd had the foresight to book not only priority security but lounge access too...it only cost me an extra €14 and it was worth every cent for the peaceful oasis I had, with light snacks and drinks. I was totally chilled out by the time the boarding call came.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,301 ✭✭✭Gatica

I don't like aeroplanes and the horrible smell when they start up the engines, and the recirculated air inside, where everyone's bacteria is shared around, it's gross....
    Don't think there's anything to be done about that. But I imagine if it's only the waiting around part that bothers you then all the priority stuff you can afford should help you.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

There are rare moments when you get to see sights that relatively few others do (or it certainly feels that way). But the ridiculous airport customs, immigration and especially security checks, coupled with outrageous airport prices (€30 pizza in Oslo airport anyone?) is the downside and the physical & mental price you pay when travelling by air these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

I've been lucky enough to have millions of air miles under my belt as both an economy and and business class passenger, most of them paid thankfully by my employer but plenty by myself also.

I've kind of slowed down now with kids and wife around but still get a buzz from travel. We were flying through a hectic Atlanta a few months ago and even my wife remarked how much I seemed to be at ease and even enjoying the process of travelling when most would be stressing out.

Certainly having an iPad or similar helps as well as the increased availability of wifi both on board and on the ground helps pass the time. I still like the process of flying and tbh the thought of 8 or 9 hours uninterrupted time watching movies and documentarys while being served food and drink is still ok for me at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

smurfjed wrote: »
    I love the actual flying part, but I'm in two minds about the airport crap associated at both ends. Sitting in an airport waiting on our departure, we had checked in online, so no many queues at the baggage drop nor at immigration or security, Just got a text from the airline with my free wifi access code for the flight. So everything has been simple and quick, but i think that i have really lost the enthusiasm for flying as a passenger.
    Is there a solution?

Me not so much anymore. You know, I remember a time when I could not wait to book my flights, go travel & explore! My holiers this year were going to be a cycling holier and I'd a new car bought to take on the challenge and take the ferry to France.

Since my Late Loving Dad passed away, that inner drive is gone. That thrill and excitement I used get when flying / planning a flight is gone. The fun at the airport; the very thought of just dropping my backpack/suitcase and exploring was there since my teens and I made full use if that inner drive with my explorations too :)

It's gone though since Dad passed away for some reason. It might come back some day, but it sure ain't there at the moment.

Nah, I don't particularly enjoy the thought of flying these days tbh! My life has changed in so many ways since Dad passed away; this is just another aspect that's changed. Could be temporary though.

Interesting thread here,
    Thanks,
    kerry4sam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I like the connections, go to my favourite place for gluten free food (French Meadow Bakery at ATL), just a bit of comfort for me. Havent tried the lounges at ATL yet because the layover to Dublin can be 4-5 hours.

The actual flying is getting better with the paid extras, seats, priority boarding, etc. and I get my special gf meal on board as well that is a delight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

I enjoy flying and the airport experience a lot better when I'm on my own, I can chill out do my own thing even when surrounded by loads of stressed out travellers, its a weird kind of solitude. I love a good solo adventure.

If I'm travelling with friends or family its a completely different story, gone is the freedom. I don't have kids but the thought of flying with them sounds like torture to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Forgot to add, I like watching people as well as weird as that sounds. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 freelife2014

when traveling far from home,I would like to fly

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,763 Mod ✭✭✭✭ToxicPaddy

I travel very frequently with work, flying at least 2-3 times a month, often more and I love flying.

There is just something nice about airports as you're always going somewhere when there :)

Getting to/from and through an airport is as important as flying itself.

For me you definitely need the following:

Good quality luggage (glides not dragged)
    Efficient packing (don't bring unnecessary crap)
    Check in in advance
    Express security option (worth any money)
    Lounge access
    A good book/tablet with tv shows or movies.
    Give yourself plenty of time for check in/transfers.
    Patience. (Most important)

The last thing I want is stress at an airport. The chances are you're surrounded by people who are in that exact predicament. Why add to it?

I have been known to arrive at an airport 3 hours before a flight. Why? Cause I'm under no pressure, a little extra longer in a baggage drop queue is fine. I've got my book.

Once through security, straight to the lounge, grab a tea/coffee/cold drink and a snack, find a nice comfortable seat in a quiet corner and I relax.

On the flight, I find it best to only bring what you need as carry on. So if you're on the place last, there is no struggle to find space in the luggage bin for your luggage as it can all fit in your seat pocket or comfortably at your feet without cramping your space.

On the flight a small pillow/neck pillow is nice to have especially on long haul. Music and good noise cancelling headphones also a necessity as is a tablet with movies/tv shows and again if long haul a battery recharged pack in case no power points are available at the seat. Also bring a bottle or two of water. Nothing worse than relying on the egg cups of water most airlines give you for drinks :P

Once on board and settled, I'll quite happily sleep, read, watch tv/movies, eat and sleep some more for as many hours as it takes. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

I dont mind the stop overs once they are <3 hours. Nice to stretch the legs and nip in to a restaurant for grub and a whiskey. I usually end up plane spotting at the departure gates with the earphones in.

Flying itself im fine with although im feeling a little more ropey with landings as I get older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

It's funny, I enjoy the whole airport process more than the flight itself. I love having a browse around the shops and if I've a good book to keep myself content with, I'm fine.

I can't sleep on planes at all for some reason so long haul flights are a bit of a pain in the behind, although having good in flight entertainment makes a world of difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I actually enjoyed my flight up here, no drama at checkin, immigration or security, used the business lounge to relax, had a nice business seat, but i traded this with an off duty pilot for the takeoff and landing, so i got to sit in the cockpit. Longest delay was 30 minutes waiting on baggage and a quick run to a different CDG terminal, last two to check in for that flight, last two to board. So all-in-all a 9:30 minute journey.

On the way back, planning to stay in Paris for a night or two as the flight connections are tight. Also plan to use airport genie to make Dublin airport a little bit less painful.

Lets see how this one goes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭Ed_Stephens

I'm finding it harder and harder especially since treating myself to business class long haul a few years ago, now I usually pay for lounge access and bring sleeping pills. It's not the actual flight itself, I usually breeze through security as well but just the idiotic behaviour of people in airports and planes not to mention parents who think the plane is a playground in the sky for their kids.

I quite like catching up on a few movies though, like what someone else said, patience, plenty of patience but as you get older that starts to go away lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

I travel back to Ireland a fair bit from NL.

The worst part in Ireland is getting to the Airport IMO, Shannon, Dublin and Cork airport would be well served by having a railway line stopping at them.

Comparatively Schiphol and Dusseldorf are served by a direct regular train, I can get a train every thirty minutes from Eindhoven Station and hop off down stairs in Schiphol a few minutes walk from the terminal.

Dusseldorf I can grab a train 5 minutes walk from the office in the Media Hafen

Even in a tiny airport like Eindhoven, there's an express bus and a stop bus on a dedicated bus lane the whole way to the city center, so its only 20 minutes door to door.

In Dublin/Cork its a Taxi, with the Taxi driver moaning about everything from the foreigners stealing his trade to the gubberment or giving out about not taking short fares :P Or the Dublin Bus/Bus Eireann ... "Timetable ? LOL we just drive around" Bus Eireann your worried about your bags getting nicked from the luggage compartment.

Airports are pretty easy to me at this stage, I have a big with a zip off front that I put everything in my pockets into, so I just dump two bags in the security trays and walk through.

At Eindhoven I can be from my front door to the Gate at the terminal in 30 minutes :)

At Schiphol I can be at the gate in 2 hours.

In Dusseldorf I can be at the gate in 45 minutes after leaving work.

In Dublin or Cork I rent a Car and drive there as the Public Transport / Taxis are so unreliable.

One more thing is that flying in the Schengen Zone there is no passport control when you land, so if you fly from Amsterdam to Lanzarote for example you just walk straight out. Whereas when you fly to or from an Irish Airport you may have a wait on the other side if other flights come in at the same time.

Airplanes are a bus to me at this stage, its the people that can make the experience shítty.

For the food thing I just get something from the supermarket, last time I flew I just got a pack of Sushi,a Chocolate Croissant and a bottle of water. Drank the bottle of water before I went through and then refilled it on the other side at a drinking fountain, nice little meal on the plane for a fraction of the price.

A few annoying things:

People taking on a ridiculous amount of carry on and then getting annoyed when you rearrange the baggage so you can fit in yours because they have their stuff sprawled all over the place using 3 baggage spaces, going a step further they could have even put their additional hand luggage under the seat in front.

People that jump back on their seat without even checking, saw a guy get his Macbook Pro screen folded in half this way, non reclining seats on Ryanair are a big plus for me.

Morons that hold up the queue at security arguing that Shampoo is not a liquid its Shampoo

People that hold up the whole boarding process because they want to take out their things from the carry on luggage whilst blocking the aisle.

Agree with everything you said, though personally I really like reclining seats. One of the things that I hate about Ryanair actually. Sitting vertically or doubled over for 3 hours is uncomfortable.
    I think as long as people put their seats up for drink/meals, landing and take-off, I've no problem with them reclining in front of me either. I'm not very big or tall though, so maybe that makes a difference to other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Gatica wrote: »
    Agree with everything you said, though personally I really like reclining seats. One of the things that I hate about Ryanair actually. Sitting vertically or doubled over for 3 hours is uncomfortable.
    I think as long as people put their seats up for drink/meals, landing and take-off, I've no problem with them reclining in front of me either. I'm not very big or tall though, so maybe that makes a difference to other people.
    have to half agree with you.
    I've never had a problem with people reclining in front of me, but quite possibly I've just got lucky that any airline I've been on doesnt have seats which recline all that much.
    Sure, aer lingus seats recline so little now that I am never sure if im reclined or upright myself.

but to answer the question, I find it so much better flying now than 10 or 15 years ago.
    Mainly the improvement in capacity at Dublin airport combined with the introduction of online checkin, and I suppose the opening of the port tunnel in Dublin meaning a fairly reliable connection to the airport.
    Ironically I'm normally checking in at the desk with the kids meaning I dont benefit from the online checkin directly, but it removes so many from the queues that the checkin is often done in a minute (including queuing).

and I've seen some mention that the withdrawl of free food/ drink is a step back from previous years.
    I'd actually argue the opposite as I'd gladly pay the likes of Lufthansa for something when I'm hungry, but in the evening they often only have some poxy biscuit or something, which is free but no bloody use if youre hungry.

I'm 5'1" and hate people reclining at me. Similarly I'll never recline. Some airlines have seats where you recline into your own space not back on top of the person behind you, I think these should be mandatory!

I'm not a fan of recliners either especially if you've a little tv in the back of the seat in front of you. There's precious little room in economy as is, personally I think it's a bit rude when the second the seatbelts sign goes off after takeoff then the person in front of you reclines as far back as possible. Not great when you're on 10+ hour flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

lc180 wrote: »
    If I'm travelling with friends or family its a completely different story, gone is the freedom.

At least with friends and family, you can exercise some degree of influence over the situation. Work colleagues are the worst of the lot, especially if they're more senior. In my last job I travelled one time with a guy who insisted that it was grand to leave for the airport at the last minute, even though I was giving him a lift. This meant that I was stressed from the off, and didn't have time to eat, so I was starving until I could grab something on the plane.

Afterwards he had the cheek to start giving out when he had to wait for me to pick up my checked-in bag (I don't know how he managed to live out of one little bag for two weeks, but I suspect he only had a single change of clothing, which was not an approach I wanted to follow).

lc180 wrote: »
    I don't have kids but the thought of flying with them sounds like torture to me.

It's not as bad as I feared, though a lot of course depends on the mood of the child. They just need a lot of attention and distractions. Our little fella is not yet 2, but he's been to Spain, Australia and Malta and he was grand. I wasn't with him on the trip down under, but over and back to Malta I had him on my lap, and as long as I kept pointing stuff out to him, he was happy enough. As soon as we took off, he kept on saying "up!!!" and "sky!!!".

We always plan to arrive with loads of time to spare too, so we aren't stressed, and that rubs off on the child, big time. He occasionally kicked the seat in front, but each time I stopped him and told him that he was hurting the man in the seat - partly for the benefit of the guy in front, but also because the message eventually gets through.

Older ones are apparently a lot easier to manage if you just give them a tablet each...

fricatus wrote: »
    Afterwards he had the cheek to start giving out when he had to wait for me to pick up my checked-in bag (I don't know how he managed to live out of one little bag for two weeks, but I suspect he only had a single change of clothing, which was not an approach I wanted to follow).

Easy, 7 sets of Jocks and Socks, T-Shirts, Shirts, pair of Jeans and Trousers, Pyjamas and 2 jumpers with a trip to the launderette on the weekend.

10 Kilos of clothes in plenty for 2 weeks.

That's what I do anyway, haven't checked in a bag in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,698 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

By far the most frustrating thing is kids kicking the back of your chair infront of their parents for a solid 2 and a half hours and the parents saying nothing.

that's very annoying I agree but trumped by big fcuker beside you constantly farting and elbowing you just as you almost get to sleep on a long haul.

glasso wrote: »
    that's very annoying I agree but trumped by big fcuker beside you constantly farting and elbowing you just as you almost get to sleep on a long haul.

Sat next to an American guy on long haul, kept invading my wifes space, arm hanging over the arm rest, legs sprawled out either side under her leg space, leaning over towards her seat, he was just a fair bit overweight.

So we swapped seats and i used him as a pillow, he was plump and very comfy. :pac:

athtrasna wrote: »
    I'm 5'1" and hate people reclining at me. Similarly I'll never recline. Some airlines have seats where you recline into your own space not back on top of the person behind you, I think these should be mandatory!

Sounds like a good compromise.
    I recline back as soon as I'm able to. I don't recline as far as possible, only far enough that it's comfortable to sit in. I guess if it bothered me when someone reclined in front of me, then I wouldn't do it to someone else either.
    I think there's lots of parents that both do everything to make the journey easy for their children and passengers in front, and that do nothing when a child starts roaring or kicking a seat in front.
    Was on a flight from US and the child literally screamed at the top of his voice for 50% of the flight. He kind of calmed down in the middle of the flight and started again towards the end. There was no calming it down, I reckon it must've been sick or in a loooot of pain. Parents should really not make their ill children travel like that, it's not just unfair to others, it' really very unfair to the child. I cannot explain otherwise, why it was screaming so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Parents should really not make their ill children travel like that, it's not just unfair to others, it' really very unfair to the child.

Let's get some perspective. The child could have been crying for all sorts of reasons. I don't know how old it was, but it could have been colic, an ear infection, a simple case of ear-popping like everyone gets, teething or any number of things. Besides, children's bouts of sickness can develop (and clear up) very suddenly. The child could well have been fine at check-in.

Even if the child had a cold or 'flu, do you think that most people are going to cancel a flight and re-book at the last minute, and pay an extra night in a hotel or whatever? If it's a family of four coming back from the US, the cost could end up being a fortnight's or a month's salary.

It mightn't be nice for other passengers, or nice for the child either, but in my experience, the worst position is reserved for the parent who is trying everything to calm the child and putting up with the disapproving stares from other passengers - even if nobody is staring, you imagine they all are. It's an awful feeling.

Most people really don't have an alternative, so just write it off as part of the experience.

fricatus wrote: »
    Let's get some perspective. The child could have been crying for all sorts of reasons. I don't know how old it was, but it could have been colic, an ear infection, a simple case of ear-popping like everyone gets, teething or any number of things. Besides, children's bouts of sickness can develop (and clear up) very suddenly. The child could well have been fine at check-in.

That's fair enough. I've just never seen anything like it. It was an >7 hour flight, he cried, actually screamed/screeched at the top of his voice for at least 3.5 hours of it. I've been on enough flights in my lifetime to have heard other children crying on flights. They usually cry for a few minutes (and I mean just cry, not absolute scream their head off unless it's a temporary tantrum), at most an hour, then whimper a bit and quieten down. This was nothing like that, this child was really inconsolable.

In any case, I can understand going ahead with a flight when they're a little unwell. I personally would rather cancel flights than put that child through such hell and misery for several hours if he was genuinely in a lot of pain.

I'm all in favour of a completely separate section for parents with kids, it really is so unfair on other passengers and it's somewhat unfair on the kids as well expecting them to sit still for 8+ hours on a long haul flight.

British Airways tried that a number of years ago, they had a family section on flights, it didn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Love flying - always have and always will!!

I fly about 3/4 times per month - mostly short haul (UK & Europe), and about 8/10 long haul per year - even the hop from Dublin to London is still a thrill!

I think if you go in with the mindset you are going to enjoy it, you will as long as plan a bit, prepare to travel and have plenty of patience.

I rarely check a bag in, and I've noticed I've become obsessed with finding the perfect carry-on bag - which if I don't find, I will design and make a fortune :)

My second obsession is packing - how little can I take without it becoming gross! With a bit of ingenuity (and the aid of the hotel laundry / wash hand basin) I've done 12 to 14 day business trips with just carry-on - a colleague once did a 21 day trip..........I hope to match that one day (buying stuff when you get there is cheating!).

There are certain airports that are a bit more of an endurance test (Heathrow & Frankfurt spring to mind) and others that are great, imo, to spend time in (Sciphol & Copenhagen) - Dublin is definitely in the former category, Cork in the latter!

Just went through Dublin Airport T1, purchased Fast track passes for 5.60... from arriving in the airport to inside security took about 15 minutes, there were 3 people ahead of us in the Fast track security line and i guess over a 100 in the main line.
    Thumbs up for the Fast Track service, now if only they changed the free cup of coffee to a beer, it would be perfect :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Jawgap wrote: »
    I rarely check a bag in, and I've noticed I've become obsessed with finding the perfect carry-on bag - which if I don't find, I will design and make a fortune :)

My second obsession is packing - how little can I take without it becoming gross! With a bit of ingenuity (and the aid of the hotel laundry / wash hand basin) I've done 12 to 14 day business trips with just carry-on - a colleague once did a 21 day trip..........I hope to match that one day (buying stuff when you get there is cheating!).

I've just done a 60 day trip with 7.5kg of luggage. I basically pack for 4/5 days no matter what the trip. Good laundry management is easy. My packing skills are now refined to Olympic standards!

On other points, I still mostly enjoy flying. I'm lucky enough that most of my long haul trips are paid for so I'm in business class which removes any pain.

Earplugs, eye mask, music, movies and reading material are essential. And lots of water.

I have no problem arriving at the airport 3 hours early for even a short flight - I'd rather be reading a book and drinking a coffee than stressing about a pile up on the M50.

Security doesn't bother me as I've put everything in the outside pocket of my bag and as I'm usually early the shampoo idiots don't get to me.

In fairness to Dublin airport it's massively improved in recent years. I still try to avoid Heathrow at all costs.

As for children, can't be helped if they're crying but the seat kicking will get a response from me to mammy or daddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

I find the whole flying business very tedious. A number of years ago I used take a minimum of 2 flights a week and it used drive me insane. I always turn up early and find somewhere to sit and read a book, but there's no comfort in it. I'd prefer to be reading that book in my own sitting room than with people milling around.

I just about have room in the seats when the seat backs are up. If someone in front of me reclines, I'm f***ed. In one particularly memorable case I was nearly that air rage passenger. The woman in front of me flopped the seat back the minute she could, actually injuring me as she did so (it took a year of physio to heal). I asked her to put the seat up a *little* so that I could actually move, which she did begrudgingly. She sat up a little more (but not fully) when food was served (meaning my tray was awkward to get at, but I managed), but she obviously wolfed down her food then fecked the chair all the way back again - while I was still eating.

Now covered in orange juice, I said FFS, or something similar, and she started ranting that I should have bought first class if I wanted "so much" space. I spent the rest of the flight contemplating looping my pashmina over her neck and twisting it. She spent the rest of the flight making bitchy, personal comments about me and my appearance to her companion (specifically about the fact I was covered in orange juice, and that I wasn't even wearing something clean in public - it was clean before the OJ!). Everytime she stood up and came back she made faces at me. Never in my life have I wanted to punch someone in the face so badly.

I still love flying but have been scarred for life after one long Aer Lingus flight LA-Dublin.

Flight was packed, OH and I were sitting in front of a Dad and his son Conor (or Damien as I christened him). Mom and Conor's twin were asleep down the back of the plane (didn't spot them til we disembarked). I'm guessing Conor was autistic or had some sort of special need but for almost 12 hours I had my seat kicked, my hair pulled, my ear shouted into. Dad's reaction "Conor the lady doesn't like that". Cabin crew's reaction "sorry there are no other seats" (last time I flew Aer Lingus long haul, the staff were so unhelpful, they knew the Mom was onboard, the sensible thing would have been for us to swap seats with Mom and the other child).

Conor/Damien finally fell asleep about 2.5 hours out of Dublin. My relief (at this stage I was tired, stressed and really frustrated) was short lived as breakfast was served 30 minutes later and HIS DAD WOKE HIM UP FOR FOOD :mad: I did explode at Dad at this stage, I'd pleaded, been polite, coped until that point. How fecking stupid and insensitive.

Have never been so glad to get off a flight in my life. I had so many people come up to me at the baggage belt and tell me how sorry they felt for me during the flight.

So I'm always very wary of children on flights now, and will pay extra on long haul flights to get seats on an exit row with exit seats behind so that the experience will never be repeated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

I'm 6ft 5, when someone reclines in front of me, it feels as if my knees are about to break.
    I feel squashed in as it is without the front seat reclining.
    Doesn't help with a kid behind you kicking the chair either.

What ever flight I'm on if someone in front of me reclines, I ask them nicely to put it back to its position as its hurting me. Most are fine with it and apologise (I never expect an apology as how would they know) then theirs the ones who say you should of picked another seat

I try to book seats early (if seats are bookable) so I can get the emergency exit seats which have plenty of room.

For the ones that give back cheek, I give them an awfull flight, ie. constantly kicking their seats etc.... If I'm forced to sit on a flight and be uncomfortable and feel as if my knees are at breaking point because some arsehole in front of me won't put his seat back into normal position, well then enjoy the flight di*khead because I'm going to make you're life awfull for the next few hours :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Reclining seats and the associated etiquette were discussed on the BBC recently.....

http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-magazine-monitor-28943131

Personally, at night time on a long haul when the lights go out I don't mind people reclining their seats.......all other times people, imo, are just being tw@ts - if they don't respond to a polite request to return their seat to a more upright position, I generally become Mr Yoyo Fidgety McBumpy.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,908 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I love flying - usually if i'm going on holidays.

Get to the airport early - plenty of time to get through security and have a coffee.

The excitement of my kids is wonderful for me to watch...they will have been pre warned about behaviour etc so no one will be inconvenienced by them - no one going on a plane needs bold kids annoying them.

Now.......people, really what possesses people to lose their brains in an airport. Stopping at the top of escalators blocking everyone from getting off. Having nothing ready at the check in desk or when they are about to board the plane. In general people can be incredibly thick when travelling!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭ratracer

I don't mind flying, as in when the plane actually gets in the air. The airport experience bugs the sh1t out of me though. Endless queues for check in, idiots in front of me at the security check, why can't they be ready? People who can't take their seats promptly when they board the aircraft and hold up everyone else. After landing queuing for baggage reclaim, customs, passport control etc.
    These are all hassles I find irritating me more and more.
    I almost prefer to 'stay cation' or take the ferry these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

ratracer wrote: »
    I almost prefer to 'stay cation' or take the ferry these days.

+1 What the ferry companies say is true: your holiday begins when you close the boot of your car outside your front door. The general hassle you experience in airports has taken the fun out of flying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jaymcg91

I don't recline unless the person in front of me does.

On a flight back from NY recently the person behind me asked to me to put my seat back up (I'd only reclined because the girl in front of me did) - I said if they could get the girl in front of me to put hers up, then I'd be happy to. I'm 6 foot 3, and hate it when people recline, but I wouldn't expect somebody to sit upright if the person in front of them had reclined already - the claustrophobia would be terrible!

TBH I think long haul you have to expect it to happen, and you really should just pay for an exit row seat if it's THAT big of a deal to you, I understand the perspective that if the airline provides a reclining seat, then you have the right to recline it (even though it's a nightmare for me).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭chooey

Absolutely hate flying! It doesn't stop me doing it as I want to travel abroad but I'm petrified from the minute I'm at the airport until we land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭carolinespring

I don't mind flying, I am normally asleep by take off but I HATE the waiting in the airport. I get bored and fed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Flying is boring. Exactly like sitting on a bus, only without the option of getting off for a break and hopping on the next one.

I've a neighbour I grew up with who dreamed of being a pilot as a kid. Began with Aer Lingus about 15 years ago. When I asked him about the job recently, he liked the hours, the pay and conditions, etc. When I asked him about the actual 'flying' part though, his response was a bit more "Meh. Its like being a bus driver". Not entirely sure he wasn't serious..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Viva La Gloria

I go to a lot of gigs in the UK so tend to travel around on buses/trains/planes quite regularly. I mostly get the early morning flights to cut costs, but I'm getting so sick of getting up at 2/3am and waiting for the air coach, to then sit in terminal 1 (which I can't stand anyway) for ages and ages until they finally announce the gate number 40 mins beforehand. The actual flight itself is grand, and I often sleep for most of it. It's the getting up at stupid o clock and waiting and waiting to board a flight for which only lasts 55 mins that I can't stand. But the price difference between a flight at 6:30am compared to midday seems sometimes astronomical. Catch 22.