Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unexpectedly coloured calf!

• 25-08-2014 6:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭

How are ye on genetics?
    A whitehead heifer calved yesterday. She had a whitehead calf which is no big surprise, but what is surprising is that the rest of the calf is a chocolate brown. What do ye think? Wrong semen, wandering bull, or the red of hereford coming through? Calf should be angus off Mogelly Joe MLJ from Progressive Genetics. Cow is Friesen/Hereford cross. Its a nice calf, decent size and lively, but she certainly caused me to scratch the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

KatyMac wrote: »
    How are ye on genetics?
    A whitehead heifer calved yesterday. She had a whitehead calf which is no big surprise, but what is surprising is that the rest of the calf is a chocolate brown. What do ye think? Wrong semen, wandering bull, or the red of hereford coming through? Calf should be angus off Mogelly Joe MLJ from Progressive Genetics. Cow is Friesen/Hereford cross. Its a nice calf, decent size and lively, but she certainly caused me to scratch the head.

Could the WH heifer have Simm in her? I've seen that chocolate colour come through Simm.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Like GC, I'd think there is Sim somewhere in the mix.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Harrier1980

Sounds like a postman job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

I'd say HE coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

I put the AA bull KDU on a mongrel of a heifer a few years ago. The heifer was yellow with a white head and she had twins. One calf was a black white head and the other was a grey white head. I've also had a black whitehead cow have a black white head calf of an Ai Angus bull.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

WHO the DADDY!! Sorry couldn't resist :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

tanko wrote: »
    I put the AA bull KDU on a mongrel of a heifer a few years ago. The heifer was yellow with a white head and she had twins. One calf was a black white head and the other was a grey white head. I've also had a black whitehead cow have a black white head calf of an Ai Angus bull.

Have a WH COW in-calf to AI Angus bull hoping for a whitehead calf..OP I'd say it's the red of the whitehead coming throw maybe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

From my vague memories of genetics, the WH gene is dominant so it will always bring that though. She calved on her date yea?

I'd usually put that mousey brown down to a chx but throwbacks can happen!

Seen a ch to a ch bring an orange/white calf here before. That was an odd one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

KatyMac wrote: »
    How are ye on genetics?

Pic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Who knows what goes on.
    I have a lovely HEX red as red could be as a calf.
    12 months later he started to change to black. Now he's somewhere half way between red and black. For a while he looked like a feckin tiger.

It's kinda spoiled the look of him really.

Is the cow PBR or what's her exact breeding ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

_Brian wrote: »
    Who knows what goes on.
    12 months later he started to change to black. Now he's somewhere half way between red and black. For a while he looked like a feckin tiger.

Don't know her exact breeding as I bought her from a dairy man as a 2 week old calf. Mammy was a British FR and daddy a grand HR (red) stock bull. I bought 4 calves that were all black with whiteheads, she is the only one I kept. They are in a shed at the minute so a pic probably won't show the colour, I'll have a go later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

_Brian wrote: »
    Who knows what goes on.

I remember him! He's the strangest coloured animal I've ever seen. He was like a bovine zebra.....