Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

S7 - EP10 "Thank You" Series Finale [*SPOILERS WITHIN*]

• 25-08-2014 4:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭

Jaysus I'm half way through this and I'm struggling to keep going, a wedding, ye that's great, one of the most ridiculous weddings ever at that.

Eric and Pam thing with the yakuza tied up in 10 seconds even though it dragged on the entire season.

Have to head out now so the 2nd half of the episode will have to wait, and I'm not even pushed to see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

So we don't know who the dude Sookie was with that got her preggers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Awful awful finale, and basically awful season overall. The only reason it wasn't as bad as Dexter's ending was because Bill didn't turn up alive at the end as a lumberjack.

Painful to watch. Really enjoyed this show at the start, went downhill but still very entertaining and watchable. This season though. Shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

I'm generally unsatisfied by most tv finales but the true blood was one of most boring I've ever watched. Bill was an interesting character,even in some of terrible later seasons but this season he really just sat around feeling sorry for himself. Predictable everyone who remained alive, on the side deemed good, had a happy ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

i actually thought if sookie used her light it wouldnt have killed bill and he would have become human again,

it was a bit ridiculous that we know how all the relations turned out bar the main ****ing characters, 7 seasons of a show centered on sookie stackhouses ****ed up relations with vampires and werewolfs and we dont even get to see the guy who finally made her happy,

there was no need for the jessica hoyt wedding, why didnt we see jasons wedding,

its not the worst final ive ever seen, but it could easily have been done much much better than it was, i do wonder are some of these finale scripts written in a drinking celebratory celebration and at 10am the next day they realise they actually havent written it yet and just patch some **** together,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,564 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

It could've been worse, but it could've been much better.

The fact that we get to the end of the series without caring about any of the characters is never good.

I think the time jump was a good idea, though after all that happened in the short period of time the series was set over, are we to believe that nothing has happened in 3 years? Of course with the history of the show, loads could've happened and all the side characters would still survive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I really thought that bill was going to turn human. Jessica said he was warm, then Sookie being able to read his thoughts (which she didn't think was important enough to mention at all, wtf?!) all seemed to be pointing in that direction.
    I don't know if the actual ending was any better tbh.

I wasn't expecting much from the final episode but it still managed to disappoint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

The only good part of this entire episode...

True-Blood-Series-Finale-Eric-Northman-GIFs.gif

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Awful stuff. They actually had a wedding in the finale involving a minor character who left the show years ago?!

They had Bill act like an utter selfish git and have Sucky kill him violently rather
    than, y'know, do it peacefully like Godric. Or heal him as we all expected him. What a tosser.
    Even worse though is how he still managed to make it all so very very boring. Eric/Pam aside did anyone do anything at all this season but sit around moping and whining about their love life?! Astonishing this is the level of crap highly paid writers came up with given months to prepare. We here would have done better.

Then there was Sam's cameo, making Jason actually dull (and fall in with a highly unlike able character who brought nothing to the show). No scene for Lafayette (who had little to do as it was this season).

The only decent scenes this episode solely belonged to Pam / Eric. Their characters were actually too busy doing something to be even arsed turning up for the wedding or to witness "Kill Bill". Bit of a shame though - I'd have liked to hear Pam shred them with verbal barbs at the highly contrived weddings and all. Throughout the episode, as we struggled to stay awake, we kept asking aloud: "I wonder what Pam's doing". Because, by the end, I didn't give a crap about any of the other cast. That is a bad legacy to leave behind.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Once I knew there was a wedding I just skipped to the final ten minutes. Don't feel I missed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭NinjaTruncs

Terrible episode, I didn't realise it was the final until the end when they tried to wrap everything up. I'm not quite sure why they bothered with the final scene it didn't appear to wrap anything up and only showed their lives had moved on.

The
    Pam/Sarah Newlin
    scene at the end seemed out of context,
    if Pam and Eric were now super reach why bother selling time with Sarah, 100K would be a pittance to them, if it was to degrade her why bother charging

4.3kWp South facing PV System. South Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,564 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Because they were making Nu Blood and she was the cure. So if they made time with her cheap or free then every vamp would come looking for the cure. As it was only the rich could afford a cure while others would need to buy the Nu Blood.

But they didn't need her to make nu blood anymore and there was a scene of them in the NYSE presumably have floated their company, 100K per servicing wouldn't have been much to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

But they didn't need her to make nu blood anymore and there was a scene of them in the NYSE presumably have floated their company, 100K per servicing wouldn't have been much to them.

I'd assume Nu blood isn't a full cure so time with Sarah is for the full cure. But I agree that 100k seems very little for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

Such a disappointing Finale. I didn't hold out much hope for it though, the show had gone down hill a lot. I'm glad she didn't end up with Bill but ending up with a no name was stupid. They should have just let her end up with Alcide for that matter!

I know people hate comparisons to the book but they should have just stuck to the book storyline!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

The ending went against the original story line too.
    Sookie wasn't able to date human men because of the telepathy yet she married some randomer who may or may not have been human.
    At one point in the series Bill made a comment about vampires being drawn to sookie 'like moths to a flame' because of her fae blood.
    Have the vampires suddenly decided to leave her alone? Otherwise nothing will have changed other than Bill being dead, pointless!

I don't think the book ending would have worked but at least the book tied up those two problems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Gal44

How do the books end? I haven't read them.. Worth a read?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭njs030

Gal44 wrote: »
    How do the books end? I haven't read them.. Worth a read?

Yep they are very good. I won't spoil the ending for you though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭mmmcake

Very unsatisfying ending, the whole season seems to be made by people who where just running out a contract, no one was really interested, just wanted to wrap it up and move on to other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

jesus the more you look back the more you realise how awful it was. I was rewatching some episodes, even the season with the witches had some great episodes, the season where Russel returned and ruined the idea of the Authority was still entertaining, mostly because of russell, but bloody hell this season was horrible.

No plot, no proper bad guy, trying to bring it back to sookie and bill when they werent the most interesting couple. even if sookie had used her faery ball to kill bill it would have been s much better because it would have made somewhat sense to what they tried to explain. The whole idea was her faery side attracted vamps so losing that by killing bill would set her free. So fine, do it, would make the ending less horrible. Yet she wont because "it is a part of her", and we see her end up pregnant with some randomer after horribly killing Bill.

Eh, because Bill is gone whats stopping vamps attracted to her blood? Whats stopping Eric going back? Bills whole reason for dying was to set Sookie free and she would be human, she basically screwed him over and yet somehow she lives happily ever after despite the fact nothing has changed and she is still vamp bait, but its ok some random lad has got her up the duff so she is happy out.

Bleedin horrible last episode,almost putting it up there with lumberjack dexter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

The only good part of this entire episode...

True-Blood-Series-Finale-Eric-Northman-GIFs.gif

That should've been the final shot. Very poor season, easily the worst. But better than Dexter.

New Blood isn't a cure it's a treatment so that Vamps will have to keep buying it.
    Yep they are very good. I won't spoil the ending for you though :)

BUT is Eric as badass in the books? That's the important question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

FunLover18 wrote: »
    That should've been the final shot. Very poor season, easily the worst. But better than Dexter.

New Blood isn't a cure it's a treatment so that Vamps will have to keep buying it.

BUT is Eric as badass in the books? That's the important question.

Eric is outstanding in the books. In my opinion he is the most interesting character. Plus the Eric/Sookie relationship has a much stronger dynamic in the books, its just generally much better.

FunLover18 wrote: »

Didn't the True blood guy, not sure of his name, say they had synthesized the cure but it was taking longer to modify it so it would be a treatment rather than a cure and make them even more money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

Didn't the True blood guy, not sure of his name, say they had synthesized the cure but it was taking longer to modify it so it would be a treatment rather than a cure and make them even more money.

I got the impression that it was going to take longer because they wanted to modify it into a treatment and not a cure. So they could make more money. Don't think it was ever their intention to release a cure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Late to the party, but what an awful, awful ending to a once great series.

So, so poor. Just...awful.