Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

European stag locations.

• 24-08-2014 7:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49

Hey ppl. I'm organising stag weekend and although Newcastle is a right possibility. Most of us have been there and were thinking somewhere in Europe maybe Prague, Amsterdam, Berlin etc any of ye have an ideas as too where to go. Also the stag does not drink beer. CIDER ONLY. so there has to be cider available. All help appreciated.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

johnroake wrote: »
    CIDER ONLY. so there has to be cider available. All help appreciated.

Tramore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Cider only stag?, be some smell off the lot you.

Go to Leitrim, you'll fit in with the smelly locals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

The West Country in England is good for the cider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Marks and Spencer cafe in Clonmel, Tipperary. Some laugh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Also the stag does not drink beer. CIDER ONLY. so there has to be cider available. All help appreciated.

Clonmel. In Europe. Has Cider. Lots of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Cidre? France naturalmente

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,963 ✭✭✭Meangadh

Don't understand why people go outside of Ireland for hens and stags, but anyway- if it's cider ye're after then I wouldn't bother going to mainland Europe, stick to the UK. Brighton and Bath are supposed to be nice but I haven't been. I like Edinburgh and York. Newcastle always seems to attract stags though so I'm sure it's popular for a reason.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Brussels.
    Dirt cheap at the weekend and bars don't close. Plus 60% of the population are female and everyone speaks English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Clonmel. In Europe. Has Cider. Lots of it.

Marks and Spencer cafe in Clonmel is the best place for a stag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭sblythe

I hear The democratic people's republic of Kilkenny is nice this time of year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭The Peanut

Edinburgh, any English City, Cardiff.

You'll be tied to Irish pubs in most European cities if you need cider; go to Dingle, Kilkenny or Galway instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Carlingford, Co Louth. Lovely wee place.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Hey ppl. I'm organising stag weekend and although Newcastle is a right possibility. Most of us have been there and were thinking somewhere in Europe maybe Prague, Amsterdam, Berlin etc any of ye have an ideas as too where to go. Also the stag does not drink beer. CIDER ONLY. so there has to be cider available. All help appreciated.

I'd recommend Liverpool. Much cheaper than than most places to get to. You can be there in 45 minutes on LearyJet and probably for 40 quid a man if you book in advance. Book it when there isn't a home game at Anfield or Goodison (or either) and accommodation shouldn't be a problem. No shortage of cider there either. And certainly no shortage of saucy scouse babes to flirt with.
    I have lived in Amsterdam and it's no cheaper than dublin. Usually 5.50 to 6 euros for a pint of lager. Magners pint bottle can run you 8 or 9 euros in some of the Irish pubs so the stag could have a costly few nights. In Liverpool he will be spolied for choice at good prices what with craft beers and ciders now becoming popular there too.

Prague is not really all that it's cracked up to be and the Czechs are pretty sick of bladdered drunk Brits ripping up their city. I know you lads are Irish and we're not as obnoxious and disrespectful as our cousins in Blighty but the Czechs don't always see the difference. Also there are a lot of ripoff strip joints in Prague where you could run
    into trouble if you're not careful or are wasted and not on your guard. They lure you in. You have a lapdance, run up a tab which when you go to pay is mysteriously 5 times what it should be with bottles of Moet for the dancers on it. And if you have a problem with this bill then Yuri and Viktor on the door will soon make you see that there is no mistake.

I've been to Berlin and to be honest it's a strange place. It's just way too spread out. Cologne or Hamburg would be better choices. I also hear good things about Krakow in Poland. Friendly people, cheap beer and food, pretty women. Again you might struggle there to find cider except in the Irish pub and do you really want to spend the entire weekend in some plastic paddy tavern ?
    Not that you're going to exactly be immersed in a foreign culture in Liverpool, but Liverpool and Glasgow pretty much tick all the boxes for a boozy weekend. Why break the bank when you're just going for a piss-up. You can go to more exotic spots like Barcelona, Budapest, etc on a lad's proper holiday some other time where you can spend a week or 10 days and take your time to look around, explore a bit of the culture and have the craic.

Just my 2 cents worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

If it's cider you're after than France would be your best bet but it ain't going to be the most fun, more a cultured weekend.

Tbh you'll find cider in any Irish bar in any European city. Having lived in Prague I can vouch for it being a great destination for a stag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Cork. Best lap dancing club in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Bundoran.

/thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭geret

is it red deer you're after?

Most of Europe, the Caucasus Mountains region, Asia Minor, Iran, parts of western Asia, and central Asia. It also inhabits the Atlas Mountains region between Morocco and Tunisia in northwestern Africa, being the only species of deer to inhabit Africa. Red deer have been introduced to other areas, including Australia, New Zealand, Chile, Uruguay and Argentina.

there are a few deer in the phoenix park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

Was in a strip place in Prague and the bouncers scared my mates so much they insisted on leaving after 5 mins. Was quite strange , loads of doors and alleyways to navigate to get into the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Royce McCutcheon

And sometimes just one Stagg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

go off somewhere for a laugh and go cract
    try some where cheap in poland or try ceska prague

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

The West Country in England is good for the cider.
    That'll be Bristol, then.

Oooooaaaaaaarrrr!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 49 Faux Socialist

Go to some kip like Albania or Bosnia and ride cheap hookers. Catch some sun for yourself aswel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭GY A1

Go to some kip like Albania or Bosnia and ride cheap hookers. Catch some sun for yourself aswel.

have aride around toww:cool:

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Just don't go to anywhere in America.

Cops: "Young guys, having fun and from another part of the world and not bowing their heads in subservience when they see a POE-LEESE officer?? Smash up their party and arrest 'em for something!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Egginacup wrote: »
    Just don't go to anywhere in America.

Cops: "Young guys, having fun and from another part of the world and not bowing their heads in subservience when they see a POE-LEESE officer?? Smash up their party and arrest 'em for something!"

Well that escalated quickly! :eek: