Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If Marriage Didn't Exist...

• 24-08-2014 7:40pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭

If marriage didn't exist, what would you do instead or what would you replace it with? (And why)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

faceman wrote: »
    If marriage didn't exist, what would you do instead or what would you replace it with? (And why)

Starve....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,321 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Happiness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'd be out of work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

The gays would still be looking for equality!

Nonsense I tells ya!

*Joking of course, Marriage Equality all the way :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭downwesht

The Rose of Tralee.Simple!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

It would make no difference

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,769 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

... then neither would a stable society, of which the marriage family is a bed-rock. Writers such as Theodore Dalrymple have chronicled their own professional experiences in the UK's inner cities where the state's reforms have made marriage both rare and disadvantageous. The amount of ruined families and inter-generational welfare dependency would suggest that without the glue that marriage provides, then life (to paraphrase) becomes nasty, brutal and short.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭xElDeeX

I think for a lot of people life already goes on as if there is no marriage. They have relationships, kids, jobs, social lives and are members of the community without marriage being part of that equation.
    It's not that it's irrelevant for everyone but it is now something that can be taken or left by many in a way that would not have been possible even twenty years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

It'd have to be replaced with some sort of legal contract to secure next-of-kin rights, child guardianship, inheritance etc. So marriage basically

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I think the main purpose of marriage now is to give you pension rights,
    rights of inheritance, maybe certain tax credits ,
    eg if you are married you have a claim on the family home,
    whether you are on the deeds or not,
    and it may give rights to children if you have them.
    And maybe benefits in terms of insurance policys .

IF you ignore those rights, then there,s no logical reason to get married .
    some married people have no children and live in rental accomodation.

if you want to ignore religion, just get married in a registry office.

Marriage is a legal contract,
    thats why you need to go to court to formally end it.
    And even after getting divorce you may be obliged to pay financial support to your partner ,for years or decades if your income is higher than yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭solomafioso

"we got to get the government in on this sh*t.."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

There would be no mother-in-law jokes.

Fcuk that for craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Manach wrote: »
    ... then neither would a stable society,

And this really makes the conservative opposition on extending marriage to same gender couples in a deeply ironic position. I mean on the one hand they claim marriage creates a stable society. On the other they want to reinforce instability by excluding same gender couples from the institution.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

If it never existed I'm sure the church would have come with some other way extort/control people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

There would be no mother-in-law jokes.

Fcuk that for craic.

Fcuk you mother-in-laws crack.

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

... then neither would a stable society, of which the marriage family is a bed-rock. Writers such as Theodore Dalrymple have chronicled their own professional experiences in the UK's inner cities where the state's reforms have made marriage both rare and disadvantageous. The amount of ruined families and inter-generational welfare dependency would suggest that without the glue that marriage provides, then life (to paraphrase) becomes nasty, brutal and short.

Wut?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

If it never existed I'm sure the church would have come with some other way extort/control people

The first recorded evidence of marriage ceremonies uniting one woman and one man dates from about 2350 B.C., in Mesopotamia. Over the next several hundred years, marriage evolved into a widespread institution embraced by the ancient Hebrews, Greeks, and Romans. But back then, marriage had little to do with love or with religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Can I still have 4 girlfriends?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

The real question is why we can't marry more than one person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

So marriage is the bestest thing ever then, except for the icky gays. Cos ew and stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

biko wrote: »
    Can I still have 4 girlfriends?

only if they're made out of mahogany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

And this really makes the conservative opposition on extending marriage to same gender couples in a deeply ironic position. I mean on the one hand they claim marriage creates a stable society. On the other they want to reinforce instability by excluding same gender couples from the institution.

Because there's no babies involved that were introduced to the family by their approved methods in same sex relationships ;)

They want families but only families that fit their very narrow definition of what a family should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭The Purveyor of Truth

Drive by the school yard and call all the kids bastards.

Not everyday but enough that it would have to be brought up at a local community meeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

If there were no marriage then what Mr. Cheese and I did last night would be very dirty indeed! :eek: But we're a boring old married couple so it's not.

What did ye do?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

That's between meself, himself and 176 of my closest Facebook friends.

Did it involve chocolate mousse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

catallus wrote: »
    Did it involve chocolate mousse?

...or a normal moose?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Beans on Toast and internet porn.