Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

springer advice please

• 22-08-2014 11:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭

Well lads
    Just after getting a 11month old springer bitch.just wondering do ye let your working dogs into the house n spend time inside with family or does it soften them, and any advice for me on what I should do next training wise,she's retriving and hunting but she seems lacking confidence.
    Help please
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

You must bond with her or she will stop hunting, she is still a young dog. She doesn't know you and it will take time for her to trust her. Bring her in the house, pet her and make her your friend. It wont make her soft. That is total bull**** from lads who have ****e dogs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Clinty

As above I wouldn't be trying to train just yet I'd spend time with the dog bonding get it to like and trust you and if that means letting it in the house here and there then so be it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭nigelm485

Cheers lads. Any tips on helping her retrieve from water shes very nervous of the stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Nightforce 65X55

nigelm485 wrote: »
    Cheers lads. Any tips on helping her retrieve from water shes very nervous of the stuff

Youll have to build up the Dogs confidence in water , put your Wellies on and walk her in shallow water , say half way up your Boots, Throw a dummy in the water and walk out and retrieve it , with the Dog on a lead beside you . When you retrieve it make a fuss over the dog and praise her . After a couple of throws, let her off the lead and let her retrieve it , by then she will know there is no danger in that water and should at least make an attempt. Once she gets it , there will be no stopping her , Spaniels usually love the Water....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

Take your time if you rush the dog you'll ruin it,
    Build up the dogs confidence and trust and she be flying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭skipking

when i started to train my first dog an older man told me that during the winter, you can teach your dog to sit and stay,
    while bonding with him/her in your house. he said if the dog won't obey you in the house he won't do it in the field.
    best of luck with new dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

Spend as much time as u can wit d dog.let it no its part of Ur family now. Just walk him n take it handy for the first while not much training. If u or a friend hav a dog that's good in water walk him with them.also if uv any streams/drains u can walk in wit d dog try them.my oldest springer is inside a lot at home but will do anything for me & is a top class dog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭useurowname

To get him used to water pick a nice day, a day you wouldn't mind a dip yourself, pick a nice spot with a gentle slope where the water doesn't get deep, last thing he wants is to find himself out of his depth. Personally I'd let him in himself(remember you are 5 feet taller than him, you going in might not assure him) perhaps throw a ball or whatever you play with him with in a wee bit and let him paddle around, don' be discouraged if he doesnt pick it from the water it might take a few trips before he'll put his face in.
    It's important to bond with the dog of course, he's a baby after all, just stay objective, kids can get over fond off the dog and make it difficult for you when the more tedious command training has to start and he just wants to play.
    Best of luck with him.