Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traffic Jam/Lane Jumpers

• 21-08-2014 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭

Having read and contributed to Cyclists Breaking Red Lights thread, another common sight that really annoys me is that of clowns, who cannot face being stuck in a line of traffic, and feel the need to go as far up the queue as they can before bullying their way in. It's worse when drivers actually let them in, therefore, holding up those behind for longer.

The thing that is mostly the case is that the small minded fools that decide to cut in end up being stuck in another line of traffic, while a number of those they cut in in front of end up passing them in another lane. I really don't see the point of such practice, and sadly, there is no law to put a stop to it. Even if it was against the law, it would never be properly enforced.

I see such practice most mornings on my short commute to and from work, especially on slip roads coming off the M50. I most certainly never let these people in. The only problem is that they probably end up holding those up wishing to continue on straight in another lane while they try to force their way in, and must wait until someone lets them in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

I do it all the time.

Split lanes, use bus lanes and the occasional hard shoulder.

The joys of having a motorbike :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Trebor176

I'll make an exception for motorcyclists ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Never bothers me. I cycle :) (but not on the m50)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Tzardine wrote: »
    I do it all the time.

Split lanes, use bus lanes and the occasional hard shoulder.

The joys of having a motorbike :P

I saw my cousin driving like that recently , the mad cnut was on the foot path too.Granted he was in an unmarked police car with lights flashing and sirens going.

Where did he steal it from ?:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

Trebor176 wrote: »
    Having read and contributed to Cyclists Breaking Red Lights thread, another common sight that really annoys me is that of clowns, who cannot face being stuck in a line of traffic, and feel the need to go as far up the queue as they can before bullying their way in. It's worse when drivers actually let them in, therefore, holding up those behind for longer.

The thing that is mostly the case is that the small minded fools that decide to cut in end up being stuck in another line of traffic, while a number of those they cut in in front of end up passing them in another lane. I really don't see the point of such practice, and sadly, there is no law to put a stop to it. Even if it was against the law, it would never be properly enforced.

I see such practice most mornings on my short commute to and from work, especially on slip roads coming off the M50. I most certainly never let these people in. The only problem is that they probably end up holding those up wishing to continue on straight in another lane while they try to force their way in, and must wait until someone lets them in.

Worse are the clowns who deliberately get in the wrong lane and take dangerous/illegal turns to get home 5 mins early. Their sense if self importance and entitlement is beyond ignorant. "Ah sure, queuing is for everyone else but me"

Honestly all I can do is beep, as to do nothing means they carry on in their own little bubble blissfully as ignorant as ever. At least I've tried to call them out on their bull**** and let them know it's not on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Worse are the clowns who deliberately get in the wrong lane and take dangerous/illegal turns to get home 5 mins early. Their sense if self importance and entitlement is beyond ignorant. "Ah sure, queuing is for everyone else but me"

Honestly all I can do is beep, as to do nothing means they carry on in their own little bubble blissfully as ignorant as ever. At least I've tried to call them out on their bull**** and let them know it's not on

Part of the whole "not being 4rsed queuing" thing is also a gift of deafness/lack of caring about people beeping. It's a complete package of cnut some people are born with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

On rare occasion its probably someone who's lost and was in the wrong lane, a genuine error.

If its a civic, golf or bmw however its 90% chance of a prick. I block them n*gras out like a bad memory.

Played chicken with a douchebag on the north quays who was trying to push in, unfortunately for him I was in a damaged car that was soon getting replaced due to der reich-departmenten nct. And therefore was never going to lose.

Not going to rant, but when all was over and the dust had settled I was still in front. lol. long-conned that ngra.

ahh, fond memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

All's forgiven if they have licence plates from a different county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Trebor176

These pr1cks were out in force on the M50 northbound slip on to the Naas Road this evening. It wasn't helped by a dozy moron/moron/a**ehole that let three or four of these in. I don't know who are worse: The lane jumpers, or the idiots that let them in. It really makes my blood boil.

Last week, the northbound on ramp from Ballymount on to the M50 was backed up. An a**ehole in a taxi decided to squeeze his way down the inside, across hatch markings, into a merging lane, and back in to our lane just to pass a measly few cars. Following this were several other tossers that decided if the ignorant taxi man could do it, it was alright for them to do so. Madness!

It's completely small-mindedness that people feel the need to inconvenience others by cutting in, causing a further delay, and also blocking a lane just so they can wait to be let in. And, most times, they never get very far in the end. I really wish this was a traffic offence, and that penalty points could be issued. Sadly, there would be nowhere near enough Gardaí to enforce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Part of the whole "not being 4rsed queuing" thing is also a gift of deafness/lack of caring about people beeping. It's a complete package of cnut some people are born with.

I'm married to the worlds most impatient man, and sit mortified in the passenger seat while he commits this "crime" on a regular basis.

May I apologise now to all who find his behaviour unforgivable - he is a Cnut in this regard , agreed. But he does have some other redeeming qualities and should not be totally written off as a human being. And yes he drives a white van. Again...I'm so sorry. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Pwindedd wrote: »
    I'm married to the worlds most impatient man, and sit mortified in the passenger seat while he commits this "crime" on a regular basis.

May I apologise now to all who find his behaviour unforgivable - he is a Cnut in this regard , agreed. But he does have some other redeeming qualities and should not be totally written off as a human being. And yes he drives a white van. Again...I'm so sorry. :o

Bolt yer knickers shut. He deserves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's easy enough to see if it's someone who is in the wrong lane by mistake, I always let them in but for people who try to bully their way in it ain't happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Jhcx

If dublin has though me one thing is no one is nice(with the exception of a few) therefore i have to bully myself in. In saying that i cant understand why we all have to sit in a line one behind the other if there is a perfectly good lane beside us empty why not fly up it and merger at the top like the rest of the world does. god help any of ye if ye started driving in london. There they are thought to pull out in front of cars blocking off one side of the road so that the other side force ably has to stop to let them out. Dont think i'll be doing it any time soon myself. but im very sure if it was thought like that to us we'd have no objections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

A lot of commuters fail to realise that bus lanes (in most cases) can be driven in after 7 pm. It is not unusual to see a line of traffic in one lane, and the outer lane almost entirely clear because many drivers are ignorant of the rules, or fail to read the signs, or alternatively for some bizarre reason, love queuing.

Perhaps the OP and those who agree with him would find their blood pressure lowered if they concentrated on the efficiency of their own driving, rather than that of others.

In general, personally, I will also let someone in to traffic even if they are taking the piss, as I dislike fuss, drama, road rage, and unneccessary conflict and in general believe we should work to reduce such things in society.

porsche959 wrote: »
    A lot of commuters fail to realise that bus lanes (in most cases) can be driven in after 7 pm. .

Sssssh. Don't tell people man.

The bus lanes will fill up too. I like having them to myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

I drove down the bus lane on the north quays in Dublin at 10:30 one morning and got blown out of it by a taximan :confused:

That part of the bus lane is a free for all between 10am and midday

Does nobody read the signs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I come into the City along the quays before 7am in the morning.
    Amazing how many people queue up in the outside lane when the bus lane is practically empty.
    I love undertaking dozens of cars while the Sheep sit stationary in their cars beside me.
    I sometimes shout 'Baaaa' at them as I speed by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Coming up from Lucan village (chapel hill) and bearing left there is a bus lane going along the lucan road facing the vets and gunshop on right hand side with st edmonsbury wall ? on left, The times for use are 07.00 till 09.30 and thats it, Yet anytime I have gone along there later on in the day I am the only one using it, I feel lonely why is this ?

The same coming into Dublin after the red cow interchange,bus lane on left is open from 7pm, the looks you get driving Down it are delightfull :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Taxi drivers and Dublin Bus drivers do this ALL the time on North Stephens green to turn on to Dawson St. If I was in a car I'd be royally pissed off. Taxi driversdrive the entire way up the other lane, that is for heading towards the shopping centre, and then just indicate at the top. Like someone else said, if people didn't keep letting them in they wouldn't do it as much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

mikemac1 wrote: »
    I drove down the bus lane on the north quays in Dublin at 10:30 one morning and got blown out of it by a taximan :confused:

Or maybe it was for another reason...? Not that I'm defending the road knowledge of taxi drivers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 janedoe75

Trebor176 wrote: »
    These pr1cks were out in force on the M50 northbound slip on to the Naas Road this evening. It wasn't helped by a dozy moron/moron/a**ehole that let three or four of these in. I don't know who are worse: The lane jumpers, or the idiots that let them in. It really makes my blood boil.

Last week, the northbound on ramp from Ballymount on to the M50 was backed up. An a**ehole in a taxi decided to squeeze his way down the inside, across hatch markings, into a merging lane, and back in to our lane just to pass a measly few cars. Following this were several other tossers that decided if the ignorant taxi man could do it, it was alright for them to do so. Madness!

It's completely small-mindedness that people feel the need to inconvenience others by cutting in, causing a further delay, and also blocking a lane just so they can wait to be let in. And, most times, they never get very far in the end. I really wish this was a traffic offence, and that penalty points could be issued. Sadly, there would be nowhere near enough Gardaí to enforce it.

This,

I work in ballymount and live in laois so its onto m50 and straight off it again for N7. The amount of clowns flying up the lane for the city centre and then bullying their way into the N7 lane makes my blood boil. Anyone claming that it should be used as a merging lane is full of sh*t.

Having said that, the N7 in general is like the wacky races at the minute - lanes mean absolutely nothing, it is a free for all. I cant understand how there arent more accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

but it's not always a bus lane that people are overtaking and butting in from.
    two lanes, one for left only into a car park. next lane straight on.
    many, it seems don't want to queue for the car park as us plebs do.

unfair for those 'important' souls to push their way in rather than wait like others.

i've been lost in places a couple of times and definitely been in the wrong lane, but i wouldn't have the breass neck nor the arrogance to push my way into a queue.

and the excuse of impatience doesn't cut it either. it's why a lot of accidents occur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

First world problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

First world problems.

No actually New Delhi is even worse, where not only have you got lane jumpers, you have elephants sacred cows and millions of people coming from every angle.and the noise omg the noise, it's a world problem except in Leitrim ...

I head down Pearse St every evening onto Tara Street and turn left onto the Quays.

There's two ways to drive this.

The outside left lane is the only lane you can legally turn onto the quays from, so in theory one should be in this lane the whole way down Pearse Street - this would probably take me about 20minutes.

Instead, I buzz up Pearse Street in the right hand lane, make my way into the middle lane about half way up Tara Street and then either dink into the left lane at the last minute in front of a dozy ditherer, or pull left onto the Quays from the middle lane.

Sometimes I get beeped at - I don't care - I save a minimum of 15minutes every day, or an hour and a quarter every week that I get to spend on some quality time at home as opposed to sitting in traffic.

Of course if everyone drove like me the system would break down, but the roads are full of nervous ninnies and bad drivers and people like me with the balls to be decisive can thrive in such an environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Of course if everyone drove like me the system would break down, but the roads are full of nervous ninnies and bad drivers and people like me with the balls to be decisive can thrive in such an environment.
    I love the cognitive dissonance there where you separate "bad" drivers from "ballsy" ones.

You're a bad driver. Period. There's no way to pretty it up to make yourself feel good about it.

Remember the next time some bastard cuts in front of you, that he is you, and you are him.

seamus wrote: »
    I love the cognitive dissonance there where you separate "bad" drivers from "ballsy" ones.

You're a bad driver. Period. There's no way to pretty it up to make yourself feel good about it.

Remember the next time some bastard cuts in front of you, that he is you, and you are him.

I never let anyone in front of me.

even worse then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

I love it when they do this!!

Taxi drivers truly take the biscuit sometimes!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

porsche959 wrote: »
    A lot of commuters fail to realise that bus lanes (in most cases) can be driven in after 7 pm. It is not unusual to see a line of traffic in one lane, and the outer lane almost entirely clear because many drivers are ignorant of the rules, or fail to read the signs, or alternatively for some bizarre reason, love queuing.

Perhaps the OP and those who agree with him would find their blood pressure lowered if they concentrated on the efficiency of their own driving, rather than that of others.

In general, personally, I will also let someone in to traffic even if they are taking the piss, as I dislike fuss, drama, road rage, and unneccessary conflict and in general believe we should work to reduce such things in society.

You won't mind me jumping in front of you the next time you are queuing at the till for your groceries then...

I don't let tossers push in when ive queued properly...

seamus wrote: »

You're a bad driver.

There's only a few things in this life that I'm 100% confident that I'm really good at.

Cooking
    Making love to a beautiful woman.
    And driving.

Passed my test at 17.
    Over 20 years driving without incident.

I'm not being arrogant, but I'm too good to be sitting queuing up with the rest of the plebs.

There's only a few things in this life that I'm 100% confident that I'm really good at.

Cooking
    And driving.

Passed my test at 17.

I'm not being arrogant, but I'm too good to be sitting queuing up with the rest of the plebs.

you forgot modest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Never do it, can see how it irritates others but if someone does it to me I let them in. Sorry if that písses you off but I dont think the roads are the appropriate place to display irritability, point-making or punishment. Also consider that occasionally, someone might actually be in the wrong lane - I think it's happened to us all. I've been let in when this happens, without having to barge my way in, and stuck on the flashers after to say cheers. No biggy. My OH religiously leaves these people out in the cold, closing the gap to a couple of inches as she defies them with a steely determination and grumbles about their antics. Sigh.... It takes a couple of seconds to let someone in, prevent traffic building behind them, and we can all be on our merry way. But, you know...if it makes you feel better...

I come into the City along the quays before 7am in the morning.
    Amazing how many people queue up in the outside lane when the bus lane is practically empty.
    I love undertaking dozens of cars while the Sheep sit stationary in their cars beside me.
    I sometimes shout 'Baaaa' at them as I speed by.

:D You'll get penalty points for that :P

Cooking
    And driving.

Passed my test at 17.

Ah but thou trollst.

Knave who dwells in the cave of the family castle.
    Sinning to lithographs of young boys and causing mischief.
    A curse on your filthy hand.

janedoe75 wrote: »
    you forgot modest.

and dashingly handsome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

I head down Pearse St every evening onto Tara Street and turn left onto the Quays.

There's two ways to drive this.

The outside left lane is the only lane you can legally turn onto the quays from, so in theory one should be in this lane the whole way down Pearse Street - this would probably take me about 20minutes.

Instead, I buzz up Pearse Street in the right hand lane, make my way into the middle lane about half way up Tara Street and then either dink into the left lane at the last minute in front of a dozy ditherer, or pull left onto the Quays from the middle lane.

Sometimes I get beeped at - I don't care - I save a minimum of 15minutes every day, or an hour and a quarter every week that I get to spend on some quality time at home as opposed to sitting in traffic.

Go Barely. Respect. You're the man!

Ah but thou trollst.

Knave who dwells in the cave of the family castle.
    Sinning to lithographs of young boys and causing mischief.
    A curse on your filthy hand.

Yes, it does seem a bit trolley and some of it is of course tongue in cheek, but I genuinely do drive Perase Street like this every day. I even sometimes feel a little bit guilty, especially when some fecker blasts me out of it with their horn for cutting in front of them - but I can live with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Jhcx wrote: »
    If dublin has though me one thing is no one is nice(with the exception of a few) therefore i have to bully myself in. In saying that i cant understand why we all have to sit in a line one behind the other if there is a perfectly good lane beside us empty why not fly up it and merger at the top like the rest of the world does. god help any of ye if ye started driving in london. There they are thought to pull out in front of cars blocking off one side of the road so that the other side force ably has to stop to let them out. Dont think i'll be doing it any time soon myself. but im very sure if it was thought like that to us we'd have no objections.

In fairness, I dont think it's anything to do with people being from Dublin. You would find this kind of behaviour in any city. I have noticed that reasonable people fall into general árseholery mode when they get behind a wheel. Small things enrage them. They become picky and pedantic and impatient. Wont give an inch....and then try to claim that learners cause most of the accidents. I dont know why, but I am sure there would be plenty of material there for a scientific study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

If there are safe, legal means to progress then I feel almost compelled to do it.

As an N11/M50 commuter I:

- use the ridiculous amount of long off/on ramps to jump static traffic on the M50
    - Use Kilmacanogue village & the 'avoca cafe' ramp to move past more static cars.

Heading south, I will join the 'Bray north' lane, moving right just before the exit (broken white lines).

Don't use the hard shoulder & don't speed, just use what's there to the fullest.

Yes, it does seem a bit trolley and some of it is of course tongue in cheek, but I genuinely do drive Perase Street like this every day. I even sometimes feel a little bit guilty, especially when some fecker blasts me out of it with their horn for cutting in front of them - but I can live with it.

Then you nuke the whales and sell drugs to the kids before loading your convertible up with hoes and sticking it to the saps on the quays. Freeeeebird yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭pcardin

Taximen can only read meter. Signs are too complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Never do it, can see how it irritates others but if someone does it to me I let them in. Sorry if that písses you off but I dont think the roads are the appropriate place to display irritability, point-making or punishment. Also consider that occasionally, someone might actually be in the wrong lane - I think it's happened to us all. I've been let in when this happens, without having to barge my way in, and stuck on the flashers after to say cheers. No biggy. My OH religiously leaves these people out in the cold, closing the gap to a couple of inches as she defies them with a steely determination and grumbles about their antics. Sigh.... It takes a couple of seconds to let someone in, prevent traffic building behind them, and we can all be on our merry way. But, you know...if it makes you feel better...

You do realise when you let the skippers in your directly responsible for the queue behind you getting longer? ..so in effect you are worse than the queue jumper and are making things worse for everybody behind you to get a brief sense of gratitude from the prick thats squeezed in ahead of everbody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

pcardin wrote: »
    Taximen can only read meter. Signs are too complicated.

This isnt true..ive seen taxi men reading the daily star.. apologise..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭mac.in

Ignorance and idiocy. Just be sorry for that. Pat your own back. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭crannglas

They do it all time on N7. Bugs the hell out of me. They slide down the slip road past green isle and push their way back onto N7 causing the people who actually left on time to be stuck in larger traffic. New lands cross already a death trap as is. Not just doing that to N7. They are then causing traffic outside our road and won't let us out of our apartment gates

You would think they would learn every morning there will be traffic jam then by green isle because of them and would have made sense to stay on N7.