Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What have ye caught in your Larsen/Ladder traps

• 19-08-2014 8:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭

Heres what was waiting for me yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

Boiled-egg wrote: »

He looks happy to see ya,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭duckman!!

Boiled-egg wrote: »
    Here ya go, bit easier to see it

Did ya have the gun with ya??

318973.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭philmire

Ha ha never heard of a song fox befor :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Backfire

You are the 2nd person ever to even say they caught a fox using a larsen trap, nevermind prove it.

Fair play to you!

The only other time I have seen it with my 2 eyes (i had to go see, I didn't believe it being told over the phone) is by my gun club chairman, who caught 2 fox cubs, one in each of the trapping compartments of his larsen cage. That was 3 years ago I'd say. They were small cubs though. No sign of the mother vixen. I can't remember if he had any extra bait such as meat in the sides, other than the call bird in the center.

I have no picture to show but caught 2 more magpies myself today. That makes it 99 magpies for my count exactly. So 1 more and I hit the big 100.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭sniper83

Caught this eejet back in april in one, two days later he was in it again!!!
    I put one of my springers after him the second time I let him out, cant get within a 100yrds of the cute fecker now.

pheasant_zps1e688b51.jpg

Also caught a fox in one back in January. As old as the hills he was, gave himself up fierce easy for a finish.:D

fox_zpscb526d92.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Backfire

Ok so it looks like the catching of foxes using Larsen traps is more common than I thought :)

Well I have never caught one using a Larsen trap, only got them using a fox cage which is designed for the job. But it must be some joy to walk to your Larsen cage to see a fox in it :)

I'll be checking my cage in about an hour or so, have it in a neighbours yard, up on the roof of an old small water well pump house, under a huge ash tree. Caught 11 magpies so far there. I don't for certain if there is any left, thought I saw one fly away from the big ash tree yesterday but couldn't be certain.

I will edit this post if I catch anything.

EDIT: yup, had 1 magpie caught. Thats 12 magpies caught in that yard and brings my total to 100 magpies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Best I ever seen was a picture of a full grown pig in a fox trap! It was on THL forum, bloody hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

sniper83 wrote: »
    Caught this eejet back in april in one, two days later he was in it again!!!
    I put one of my springers after him the second time I let him out, cant get within a 100yrds of the cute fecker now.

pheasant_zps1e688b51.jpg
    Come November the fcuker will be nowhere to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭thehound

got fox in my larsen trap one each year for last two years trap was set in same place each time