Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No NCT

• 18-08-2014 10:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

Just wondering if any of you know what the usual procedure is where you are stopped with no NCT? I did do a search but the results are either old or different scenarios.

Basically, I got pulled over in my sister's car and soon found out that she hasn't gotten her NCT renewed in 2 years. The Guard told me I had to produce the NCT certificate to the station within 10 days. I won't be able to do that because it doesn't exist.

Is this a mandatory court fine? Does anyone know how those cases normally go? I read a lot of people saying they are almost always thrown out. Is that true?

Also if you're only planning on replying with some high-horse bulls**t about how not having NCT is illegal then keep it to yourself. I know I should have checked the NCT. Right now I'm looking for information or constructive advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

You'll get 5 points and a fine of €1000. Get her to book the nct and get a date and go into the station and see if that'll do the garda. I won't sugar coat it, it probably won't but you just might get the garda after he's had a ride and be in an extra happy mood.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

ken wrote: »
    You'll get 5 points and a fine of €1000. Get her to book the nct and get a date and go into the station and see if that'll do the garda. I won't sugar coat it, it probably won't but you just might get the garda after he's had a ride and be in an extra happy mood.

And it's a mandatory court appearance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Looking at the RSA Website, it looks like 5 points and a court fine.
    Not sure how rigorously this is enforced.

http://www.rsa.ie/Documents/Licensed%20Drivers/Penalty%20Points%20Chart1.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Also when you go to the station bring your insurance cert and licence. People have previously not been asked for these at the road side but still ended up summonsed for not producing them within 10 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,019 ✭✭✭carlmango11

Jaysus €1,000. Ok thanks guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Garda could have seized the car at the time so let you off a little.

"Could have" being the key point. From my experience they seem to care more about the tax and insurance and from people I've been talking to today it seems uncommon to actually be done for no NCT. Most people seem to have just been told to get it done.

Anyway for anyone in the same boat in the future: I went to the Garda station and the guy I spoke to was actually very surprised at what happened. But he said as long as I get it NCT'd by the court date the judge will just throw the case out. Excellent use of resources I must say!

Thanks again for the info guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,902 ✭✭✭✭ted1

what condition is the car in? would the guard have felt it was unroadworthy or was he just in a mood.

ted1 wrote: »
    what condition is the car in? would the guard have felt it was unroadworthy or was he just in a mood.

It's in perfect shape. Well, it'll probably need some work for the NCT because the standards are so high but it drives fine, looks like a regular car etc. It's not a Honda Civic with a foot-high spoiler anyway :pac:

Even the Guard I spoke with today seemed to think he was being unreasonable. Although in fairness it's not just out by a few months. It was 2 years out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 121212

Hi guys,

Just wondering if any of you know what the usual procedure is where you are stopped with no NCT? I did do a search but the results are either old or different scenarios.

Basically, I got pulled over in my sister's car and soon found out that she hasn't gotten her NCT renewed in 2 years. The Guard told me I had to produce the NCT certificate to the station within 10 days. I won't be able to do that because it doesn't exist.

Is this a mandatory court fine? Does anyone know how those cases normally go? I read a lot of people saying they are almost always thrown out. Is that true?

Also if you're only planning on replying with some high-horse bulls**t about how not having NCT is illegal then keep it to yourself. I know I should have checked the NCT. Right now I'm looking for information or constructive advice.

same thing happened to me about a year ago. Mandatory court appearance with 5 penalty points. also got a 100euro fine. Just go in apologetic, possibly with an excuse, car off road, you were out of country. Failing that I'd try and get it done asap if possible and be able to show that you made some effort. Either way the points are more than likely coming and you may want to minimse fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Well, it'll probably need some work for the NCT because the standards are so high but it drives fine

I have an old car, and lately I have found that the standards are not 'so high'.

For suspensions and brakes, if you fail then the car is dangerous.
    You will pass all but illegal tyres, although sometimes with an advisory warning.

I dont like the NCT because they shake and abuse the car, but as for the results, i find them reasonable.

With exception one time my car failed as it was too lean, not a safety issue, but probably saved the engine from unnecessary ware. (not really their concern)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭gtansey44

Does anyone know what the protocol is regarding renewing an NCT when the NCT has lapsed for 18 months...

Will it be back dated?... meaning I will have to pay two NCT fees

Can I declare off the road and then go get it NCT'd

Any help will be much appreciated.

Regards G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

You must have caught the garda on a bad day.

I was recently stopped NCT out a good while and tax just out. I got a fine for the tax and told to get the NCT done. I also had to produce insurance to the local garda station.

He explained the car can be seized if the nct is out by 6 months. Luckily he gave me a slap on the wrist.

As others have said get it nct'd and explain that you weren't aware the nct was out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

gtansey44 wrote: »
    Does anyone know what the protocol is regarding renewing an NCT when the NCT has lapsed for 18 months...

Will it be back dated?... meaning I will have to pay two NCT fees

Can I declare off the road and then go get it NCT'd

Any help will be much appreciated.

Regards G.
    The NCT is not retrospective so you don't need to pay for missed dates nor will it be backdated.
    All you need to do is book and pass the test. The cert will be valid until the next due date which in your case is 6 months away. However if you can leave the test until within 30 days of the coming due date your cert will be valid for another year or 2 depending on the age of the car.
    There is no need to declare the car off the road since that is irrelevant to the NCT.

Bear in mind that driving without a required NCT is illegal even if you are only going for a test so you'd need to have the car trailered there or risk the law.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

slimjimmc wrote: »
    The NCT is not retrospective so you don't need to pay for missed dates nor will it be backdated.
    All you need to do is book and pass the test. The cert will be valid until the next due date which in your case is 6 months away. However if you can leave the test until within 30 days of the coming due date your cert will be valid for another year or 2 depending on the age of the car.
    There is no need to declare the car off the road since that is irrelevant to the NCT.

Bear in mind that driving without a required NCT is illegal even if you are only going for a test so you'd need to have the car trailered there or risk the law.

It's changed in the last month and any test is now valid from the date it is done for two years (less than ten year old car) or one year (older than ten)

The nct is out 15 months I haven't been driving due to knee surgery and the insurance lapsed by just over 2 weeks. So it is a new policy and they need the nct cert to insure again.

Have been stopped several times, guards never once mentioned the nct.

I went ahead and booked it, only a 6 day wait (28th Aug). It will fail but having all faults rectified in the 28 days I should be issued with a cert from the 28th of Aug for a year?

http://www.ncts.ie/bookings.html ?

Doesn't say that here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭brian_t

Stheno wrote: »
    It's changed in the last month and any test is now valid from the date it is done for two years

You can still test your vehicle up to 90 days in advance of the due date.

brian_t wrote: »
    You can still test your vehicle up to 90 days in advance of the due date.

Yes, but e.g. my NCT is due in January. Whereas before I would have to wait until October to test it early, I can bring it in tomorrow and if it passes get a cert for a year from tomorrow.

That's what's changed.

Only just read that now. Asked a number of friends, none of them seemed to know. So it should be fine, thank you for your help

gtansey44 wrote: »
    Only just read that now. Asked a number of friends, none of them seemed to know. So it should be fine, thank you for your help

It's only changed recently

Just checked the registration date and its the 29th of May 2000.

So I will receive an NCT certificate until the 29th of May 2015 if I get the cert in the coming weeks?

Much obliged...