Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC:FN47: BADER VS OVINCE St. PREUX

• 16-08-2014 3:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,449 ✭✭✭

Sorry if I'm doin' this wrong but there was no thread :D:D

All fighters make weight in the scheduled bouts which are;

Main Card
    LH: Ryan Bader Vs Ovince St. Preux
    LW: Gray Maynard Vs Ross Pearson
    MW: Brad Tavares Vs Tim Boetsch
    WW: Seth Bacynski Vs Alan Jouban
    HW: Shawn Jordan Vs Jack May
    FeW: Tiago Tavares Vs Robbie Peralta

Pre-Lim Card
    FlW: Jussier Formiga Vs Zack Makovsky
    WBW: Sara McMann Vs Lauren Murphy
    MW: Tom Watson Vs Sam Alvey
    BW: Nolan Ticman Vs Frankie Saenz

Fight Night from Bangor,Maine;

Somewhat arseways rundown of selected bouts :D:D;

OSP on a 5 fight win streak (4 finishes,1 TD) faces TUF8 winner Ryan Bader coming off 2 decision victories (5-3 since the title eliminator loss Vs Jon Jones). This should be a cracker OSP has been on a role and Bader would be a great name to bring him futher up the ranks (currently 10th).

Abel Trujillo was expected to face Ross Pearson but pulled out through injury so Pearson now faces TUF season 5 competitor and former LW #1 contender Gray Maynard in the Co-main event. Everybody gets robbed going to decision against Diego Sanchez as far as I'm concerned Ross Pearson was no different although I also think a loss was coming against Melvin Guillard if it weren't for the illegal knee. Great fight lined up Gray hasn't been the same since the Edgar fights so there could be a turnaround here but I personally don't believe so.

Tim Boetsch, everyone should checkout his comeback win if they haven't seen it Vs Okami (shame he never got a bonus for it) faces TUF11 competitor Brad Tavares who last time out lost to Yoel Romero who of course competes on that UFC178 card where there might be some Irish interest in :D.

Shawn Jordan former Strikeforce competitor coming off 2 losses will surely need a win against pretty much unknown Jack May(lost on UFC debut)to keep his UFC career intact.

Robbie Peralta and Tiago Tavares could prove a right scrap on the pre-lims both holding similar records Tavares with the more losses(5) but perhaps the bigger names on his C.V. (Stout,Fisher,Gamburyan).

Sara McMann a headline fighter at UFC170 straight to the Pre-Lims if she beat Rousey was an 8-0 fighter faces an 8-0 fighter Lauren Murphy who won the Invicta championship with 6 finishes in that run interesting fight indeed.

Tom "Kong" Watson coming off 2 decision losses is surely one for the scap heap should he lose against Sam Alvey who is 4-0 in other promotions.

Sorry if this didn't come off well but either way thread started off ye go lads :D:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,960 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Big fan of Bader since TUF, really want him to be good enough to hang with the top 5 but don't think he ever will be. I hope Pearson gets the win just for the shambles of his last fight but maynard is a tough fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

I used to be a fan of Bader but don't think he has progressed enough as a fighter and always think his movement looks really awkward... very sluggish and robotic or something. Pendred moves in the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

bader going nowhere in fairness in the div and no doubt he'll try and
    sit on ovp for most of this, not sure what hes ranked (5-10) but I dont see
    him breaking top 5 yet probably wont drop much either with not a lot
    of quality outside top five, should be employed for a few more years
    i wish he let his hands go for this one though but he just plays
    it safe these days and osp can take and dish out plenty standing so
    another session of lay and pray awaits imo
    hope to fek it doesnt go five

want pearson to win above anyone if only for the shambles of decison last time
    maynard seems to be on the decline, fancy pearson to get the better of this
    standing if he can keep it that way
    think pearson could finish maynard myself

think tavares, whos as tough at they come might take boetsch but wouldnt
    be confident either way, maybe some might think boetsch is overpriced at 2/1

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,466 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Someone at BT Sports is having a brain-fart. Pre-lims supposed to be on since 1am but I'm looking at people in the crowd at a cricket game dancing somewhere in the Carribean.

It's not all bad, occasional dancing bikini shots are keeping me interested :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

That last fight was a good fight with bad fighters. Deserved 2-1 win to Tom Watson. Alvey looked like a smiley moron walking out.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Dominating performance there by Tavares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

Should be a few finishes tonight.

I'd expect Pearson to win, OSP, Boetsch. On the fence for the other fights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,449 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Only tunin' in now good timin' me thinks but have I missed much?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Nah prelims werent up to much, nothing outstanding on the main card so far either.

Axwell wrote: »
    Nah prelims werent up to much, nothing outstanding on the main card so far either.

Until Jouban it seems great performance welcome to the UFC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭IanMc666

Tim Boetsch just made that card.

Very watchable card tonight, good pace and plenty of finishes.

Just goes to show you can't just judge a card before it happens.

IanMc666 wrote: »
    Tim Boetsch just made that card.

Unreal such a ridiculous man can be one of those fighters who looks dreadful tbh but can pull that sh1t off unbelievable!! Being the hometown guy he deserved a Dublinlike reception after that, silly Bangor!

For a first time visit, they are being fairly quiet alright. Maybe that's just me. But sometimes the crowd can nearly save fights. They just seem to be fairly tame. But for Boetsch to go from being dominated to end a fight like that.. That's pretty class.

Looking forward to Pearson avenging his highway robbery next.

Hope Pearson gets the win myself very odd first round but I'd say Gray took it.

Kinda had Gray myself in the 1st. Looks like we got our wish though. Delighted!

Yes we did oh wow! he had him sussed it seems very similar to Nate Diazs finish of him, Gray could be dusted

As I thought, Maynard's chin is gone. Real shame but he should hang it up at 35 and 3 straight ko losses in a row

Jesus Christ St Preux's coach is more hyped than he is.. "BREAK HIS ARMMMMMMMMMMM"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭He Who Dares Wins

Thiago Tavares looks so strong at 145.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭p to the e

Nice to see Tom Watson get a win again. His opponent Sam Alvey didn't get up to much to start with and just took whatever Watson threw at him. Don't suppose anyone saw that Alvey wore a thong to the weigh ins. The spirit of Denis Hallman lives on.

I really thought that Lauren Murphy should have gotten the nod over Sara McCann. McCann had a few take downs but did very little with them. Murphy constantly worked off her back delivering elbows and punches. Also, can't believe I'm mentioning someone wearing a thong again but, go on the Sara!

Thiago Tavares was an absolute gorilla tossing a game Robbie Peralta all over the place. I couldn't believe the strength of him. I'll be honest first thing I thought is that no way that is natural strength. Next thing I know is that he has tested positive for drostanalone in the past. If all is well he could be an absolute beast at this weight division. If......

Pearson is on a great run at LW (we're not even going to begin discounting his fight against Sanchez as anything but a win). Would love to see him get a rematch against Edson Barboza after he lost a split decision to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Dermighty

OSP really went downhill after the first two rounds. I could have seen him out striking Bader to a decision.