Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mushrooms

• 12-08-2014 7:59am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭

I haven't seen so many in the fields in 30 years. Some as big as plates. Anyone else seen as many ?
    One thing I noticed is that they didnt grow on the silage fields. I wonder could I freeze them or try and dry them out to keep ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Yeah have a load of them here. I'm sick of them gave a lot away.
    Only growing in one field, often wonder is it a certain type of soil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,582 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Yeah have a load of them here. I'm sick of them gave a lot away.
    Only growing in one field, often wonder is it a certain type of soil

Someone once said that the N kills them off :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

Reggie. wrote: »
    Someone once said that the N kills them off :confused:

I thought that too but there's a heap of mushrooms popping up in a field that got n at the end of may :confused:

rushvalley wrote: »
    I thought that too but there's a heap of mushrooms popping up in a field that got n at the end of may :confused:

So much for that theory so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Yeah I'm After putting out a fair bit of it and still plenty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

was a couple in the car park field in tullamore...was :P

ganmo wrote: »
    was a couple in the car park field in tullamore...was :P

Ya animal :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

rushvalley wrote: »

35 units every three weeks will put stop to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 alex64

Haven't seen mushrooms in years on our land. Was saying it to someone on Sunday, what the fek happened to them. Walking through the fields this morning I noticed its now full of them! Must be something to do with the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭downwiththatsor

Found some this evening myself on grazing ground, must be the dry warm ground conditions relatively speaking, surprised i didnt find any last year as it was an excellent summer.
    10cm soil temps at Valentia are 2 degrees above the mean and seem to have been consistently higher each month since April this year.

http://www.met.ie/climate/monthly-data.asp?Num=2275

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

The Cuban wrote: »
    I haven't seen so many in the fields in 30 years. Some as big as plates. Anyone else seen as many ?
    One thing I noticed is that they didnt grow on the silage fields. I wonder could I freeze them or try and dry them out to keep ?

Don't freeze them, they just turn into rubber. You can make soup and freeze that.

Drying them is the best way. Dry them out to point that you can almost snap them like a cracker, then fire them into a box and into a cupboard. Then as you want to use them, take them out and pop them in boiling water for a few seconds. They'll pop back up to their original size and they'll taste almost as good as fresh.

My Mam strings them over the aga for about a week to dry them out but you can do it in the oven aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭einn32

We have been eating them every morning. Bit of salt then under the grill. Just make sure they are safe to eat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Yum yum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,121 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Haven't seen them in South Galway in years. Used to be sick of them as kids we ate so many and now I'm craving them. We have this field that used to be very boggy alongside a salt water inlet from Galway bay and it used to be full of mushrooms, neighbours and passersby used to take buckets from it but something changed and it dried out and turned into a good field in recent years by itself, haven't seen one since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Mick55

einn32 wrote: »
    We have been eating them every morning. Bit of salt then under the grill. Just make sure they are safe to eat!

Lovely, pull the stalk out and put a pinch of salt into the bowl of the mushroom and put it on the hob of the range for a few mins. Delicious!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

any one make mushroom ketchup

used to make bottles of it yonks ago

Yum yum

Damn you frazzled :D

jt65 wrote: »

Never even heard of that stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I remember that....lovely stuff.
    You'd be getting lots of them when you'd start making that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Big enough for ya's?? :p

Zr105 wrote: »
    Big enough for ya's?? :p

Now your talking :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Cuban

Got another bucket of them this morning. Its the year that doesn't stop giving. Ive already put a massive tub of mushroom soup in the freezer. Bring on the winter:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,485 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

See a few after growing under fence where i sprayed with round up and grazon

whelan2 wrote: »
    See a few after growing under fence where i sprayed with round up and grazon

Noticed a field yesterday that was sprayed off for reseeding and still the ragworth was growing in it. What do you need to kill that stuff.....a nuke

Pull it

whelan2 wrote: »
    Pull it

Horrible stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭downwiththatsor

I am hoping the colder nights will trigger more mushrooms as they seem to be less plentiful the last few days. I think the cold night 2 weeks ago triggered them, fingers crossed, they are delicious and a great excuse for a good walk :D

how is this made?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭54and56

Looking to go mushroom picking with the kids this weekend in south County Dublin or Wicklow.

Have I got my timing wrong? If not can anyone recommend (or PM) some suggested locations?

Cheers.

there was a flush at the start of aug.
    I hope you're aware taking mushrooms off land without permission is theft, we used to have awful problems with ppl picking mushrooms, so much that anytime i see any now they get a kick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Most lads (if you ask first) won't mind at all - make sure you know your mushrooms though-

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I hope you're aware taking mushrooms off land without permission is theft, we used to have awful problems with ppl picking mushrooms, so much that anytime i see any now they get a kick

People or mushrooms? :D

I was thinking of heading to public locations i.e. parks and forests not privately owned farms unless I was invited/given permission first.

When I was a kid my dad was a train driver and would arrive home very early in the morning after driving the mail train to tell us he'd spotted mushrooms popping up in X and Y locations which we'd head straight out to and harvest. I recall the lovely smell and taste of freshly fried mushrooms and mushroom soup, yumm.

We'd collect so many that we'd stop at our relations houses to drop off bags of mushrooms.

Would love to share a similar experience with my own kids.

Markcheese wrote: »
    Most lads (if you ask first) won't mind at all - make sure you know your mushrooms though-

I agree, providing you're polite and respect their land by closing gates and not disturbing animals etc I'm sure most farmers would facilitate you where possible. I come from a farming family (one generation removed) and find farming people very hospitable.

I'm doing my research on species and will absolutely obey the golden rule that if you're not 100% certain what the mushroom don't eat it.

Hopefully I'll find somewhere to put my research and social skills to work!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭Bellview

I just bought some land this year .. so new to area. On Sunday I saw a person in the field with a bag wandering around. This did not bother me too much until I saw them drop the trousers for either a no1 or no2. At this I went f&ck this and decided I should get the meet the kind person. On meeting them I asked was landowner ok with them walking in the field... the response from them was a question to me if I was a garda & that they always pick mushrooms there for years... I don't want to fall out with neighbours but I don't understand why they just can't ask & keep their trousers on them while in the field...

another man has rented the land from me but he is only taking silage off it... a big bull might stop some of this messing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Bellview wrote: »
    I just bought some land this year .. so new to area. On Sunday I saw a person in the field with a bag wandering around. This did not bother me too much until I saw them drop the trousers for either a no1 or no2. At this I went f&ck this and decided I should get the meet the kind person. On meeting them I asked was landowner ok with them walking in the field... the response from them was a question to me if I was a garda & that they always pick mushrooms there for years... I don't want to fall out with neighbours but I don't understand why they just can't ask & keep their trousers on them while in the field...

another man has rented the land from me but he is only taking silage off it... a big bull might stop some of this messing
    Why did you ask them if the landowner was ok with it when you are the land owner? You should have taken the bag off them and told them to go out wherever they came in and stay out. However you wouldn't want to have ate the mushrooms :D

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Why did you ask them if the landowner was ok with it when you are the land owner? You should have taken the bag off them and told them to go out wherever they came in and stay out. However you wouldn't want to have ate the mushrooms :D

I'm guessing he was playing devils advocate to measure their response

Sam Kade wrote: »

you let them catch a hold of an easy lie straight off the bat to see if you can trust anything else out of their mouth

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Bellview wrote: »

Had a similar experience with lads out hunting when I moved to where we are now. (although I am not from there, some of my family were for a long while)

Asked em to leave, didnt want the dogs there around the sheep. Was told by a big old fat lad "we have been coming here for years" Said I didn't care, want ye gone... Small bit of a 'discussion' ;)
    But they got the hint anyways...

Turns out one lad was very local, and another lad, his sister is married right next door to me...

So maybe twas prudent not to fall out with em, until you know who they are at least first ;)