Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2008 Astra - gearbox issue

• 09-08-2014 7:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭

Hi Folks, looking for a bit of advise from more knowledgeable people than myself. I have a 2008 Opel Astra, 61k miles on the clock, 1.3 diesel. I brought the car for a service a few weeks ago and was told the gearbox is in trouble and would need to be replaced as some stage. Then yesterday when i was driving it slipped out of gear twice on me. It doesnt sound very good in first or second gear now.

I havent driven it since and am looking into my options. First of all, 6 years seems very early for the gearbox to go. Does anyone know of similar issues with Astras or am i the unlucky one?

I phoned the Naas Gearbox Centre and was quoted just short of 1,400 euro for a new gearbox. I nearly dropped the phone. So thats my second query - can anyone advise on the possibility of a second hand gearbox or is this a non runner?

Having to look at my options, I'm very reluctant to start putting big money into a car that is 7 years old in a few months. Any advice would be much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

They say that over the phone because they just want a clean swap out.
    Keep researching local mechanics (ring) and see if someone has a lead on recon box or will have a go themselves.
    Ring the breaker in the sticky and see if they have a box they will stand over. Better to have a mechanic source it, they know better what to ask for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Guest0000

A second hand 6spd box will cost you in the region of 500euros, which most of the time comes with a warranty of some sort,
    To go with a recon box will be more expensive, using aftermarket bearings, which depend on who's opinion your listen to, is definitely no better than a genuine second hand gearbox......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Thanks for the help folks. Have been looking into it and looks like its going to be about 550 euro for a second hand gearbox, if i can find one. I phoned 3 breakers yards who sold the gearbox i am looking for within the last few weeks. Seems like I'm not the only one having issues with an Astra gearbox.

Anyway, for the craic said I'd ring an Opel main dealer and see what they say. Told me they could do a reconditioned gearbox for me for 3,600 euro! They're some crowd alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

Thats interesting. It seems theres more than one manufacturer having gearbox problems. Toyota seem to be having a lot of gearbox failures of late. Cost cutting perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,532 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

shedweller wrote: »
    Thats interesting. It seems theres more than one manufacturer having gearbox problems. Toyota seem to be having a lot of gearbox failures of late. Cost cutting perhaps?
    What gearbox failures of late would these be that Toyota are supposedly having?

JohnBoy26 wrote: »
    What gearbox failures of late would these be that Toyota are supposedly having?
    Not me personally but some of my workmates got the auris and within a few months the gearboxes needed new bearings and gears. The lad doing the work apparently said 3/4 of his boxes he works on are toyota. I know its a lot of "yer man said" but these lads i work with are feeling very stung with their supposedly reliable toyotas. I was looking at a newer toyota too but changed my mind having heard this and researched it online.
    Have a look yourself if you dont believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Guest0000

shedweller wrote: »
    Not me personally but some of my workmates got the auris and within a few months the gearboxes needed new bearings and gears. The lad doing the work apparently said 3/4 of his boxes he works on are toyota. I know its a lot of "yer man said" but these lads i work with are feeling very stung with their supposedly reliable toyotas. I was looking at a newer toyota too but changed my mind having heard this and researched it online.
    Have a look yourself if you dont believe me.

indeed, both the corrolla and auris cars, with the 1.4d4d engines are the some f the most troublesome gearboxes, with secondhand units selling for 1000 euros, with recondition boxes making upwards of 1500euros....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Moved the Astra on today and picked a new car.

The gearbox in the Astra turned into a nightmare. Bearings and 2 gears had to be replaced, mechanic said it was on the verge of coming through the casing. Anyway, he fixed it up for me for just short of 1,200 euro and advised me to move the car on. He tried all over the country for a second hand gearbox but couldnt locate one. Hens teeth was the phrase used.

Seems like there is a major issue with these gearboxes going bad. Big disappointment for me as i liked the Astra but have to say i'm mighty relived to have it off my hands now.

Deisegodeo wrote: »
    Moved the Astra on today and picked a new car.

The gearbox in the Astra turned into a nightmare. Bearings and 2 gears had to be replaced, mechanic said it was on the verge of coming through the casing. Anyway, he fixed it up for me for just short of 1,200 euro and advised me to move the car on. He tried all over the country for a second hand gearbox but couldnt locate one. Hens teeth was the phrase used.

Seems like there is a major issue with these gearboxes going bad. Big disappointment for me as i liked the Astra but have to say i'm mighty relived to have it off my hands now.
    Well now i'd like to hear what opel (and toyota) have to say about this. And i'd like to hear what opel have to say about their ecu's failing.
    Poor show by all involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭PukkaStukka

I had a Grande Punto diesel 1.3 with a 6 speed box and it too was made of cheese. The engine was the same as the OP'S Astra but I don't know about the box. In mine, the diff in it started howling like a werewolf and a secondhand box couldn't be sourced for love nor money anywhere, even from the UK. By pure fluke, a neighbour who is Italian made contact with someone in Italy and got me a Fiat repair kit consisting of a few bearing and other sundries. I got a guy in Ballycoolin to pull the box out, fit the kit and fit a new clutch. The whole thing got done all in for under a €1000 which was cheap in grand scheme of things. The 6 speed gearbox fitted to the 1.9 diesel Grand Punto is definitely shared with Opel and these too have a proud track record of chewing their bearings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

I had a Grande Punto diesel 1.3 with a 6 speed box and it too was made of cheese. The engine was the same as the OP'S Astra but I don't know about the box. In mine, the diff in it started howling like a werewolf and a secondhand box couldn't be sourced for love nor money anywhere, even from the UK. By pure fluke, a neighbour who is Italian made contact with someone in Italy and got me a Fiat repair kit consisting of a few bearing and other sundries. I got a guy in Ballycoolin to pull the box out, fit the kit and fit a new clutch. The whole thing got done all in for under a €1000 which was cheap in grand scheme of things. The 6 speed gearbox fitted to the 1.9 diesel Grand Punto is definitely shared with Opel and these too have a proud track record of chewing their bearings.

The 1.3 6 speed box(m20) and the 1.9 6 speed box(m32) are exactly the same apart from the m20 has a smaller input shaft. Both boxes suffer from premature failure with the telltale sign been excessive movement in the gearstick when accelerating.